We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brockie's Lodge Hotel

Brockie's Lodge Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Brockie's Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
Brockie's Lodge Hotel
Kiltarlity, Kiltarlity IV4 7HW, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Kiltarlity B&B and Inns
Beauly, United Kingdom
1 review
“excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

called in here purely because they have a new chef,who makes the biggest Yorkshire puddings ive ever seen ,i have to say the food was out of this world and the service could not be faulted,it was a Saturday evening and the place was heaving,even old colin had a smile on his face(you have to take him with a pinch of salt apparently) the waiting staff were fantastic,and after bumping into the chef in the hallway(David) he explained the magic behind his huge yorkies,we will certainly be back,and will tell all our friends brockies is the place to go,where ever this chef left to come here,must be cursing because his food was excellent,we will return soon.

Room Tip: didn't stay at hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    14
    7
    9
    8
See reviews for
19
21
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

After a not so warm welcome by a staff member, a brief chance to mention we had a reservation for 7pm and a previous phone call to the hotel we were promptly advised to "get a menu" & sit in the bar because they were "very busy" and our table was probably not ready yet. There was also an ignorant comment made about the fact we called the hotel for a taxi number prior to arrival - what do they expect, we are tourist's!
We decided to let it go and went into the bar for a drink. On the second attempt of trying to be served we were greeted by an elderly male member of staff, who in the process of being disreapectful to another colleague said to us 'what do you want?' in a very unfriendly manner might I add. It was at this point we decided we were not going to stand for the rediculous customer service and excuses of being "too busy", which might I add was a complete exaggeration.
I thought customer service was paramount whilst working in hospitality - obviously doesn't apply to some people.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robbie S, Owner at Brockie's Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
First of all I should say how sorry we are that your experience of Brockies was not as we would have hoped for. However, I feel I have to make a few comments starting with your interpretation of "too busy" as this was an unusual night with a completely unexpected influx of customers exasperating a situation where we were short of staff due to illness and holidays and had only two waiting staff available, one of whom is a trainee with only three weeks experience. On the night we served in excess of eighty meals with no other unfavourable comment. For two people to do this I would say is good going.
I, personally, took the call regarding the taxi and arranged for the party to be picked up but on calling back to inform them this had been done I got no reply having said previously I would call back. Had I been able to make contact I had intended to inform the customer of the situation at the hotel and that there may be a short wait for their table. Taxi driver also got no reply.
This review should be read in conjunction with previous "Don't go here" as they are quite obviously written by the same people.
While there can be no excuse for any rudeness I am certain that if customers had stayed they would have thoroughly enjoyed their meal as did all the other diners on the night.
James P - Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kiltarlity hotels

Nikkix7
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

We went in here today to book a table for night, for four people at 7pm. When we went in we was rudely spoken to. We arrived in the evening a bit early for our table to be told that they was really busy, we went to get a drink, where the bar man said do yous want something or not, we was all completely mortified and decidied to leave. We heard the way the waiting staff was talking to other tables and was again mortified. Don't go here if you are looking for a relaxing atmoshphere and a few drinks with friends. We was just visting the area and sadly this didn't make us feel very welcome!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arran
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

A very run down property . Public rooms ok but guests areas shabby . Carpets greasy with dirt in the Guests area . Our bedroom was over the kitchen which left the room smelling . The paper was grubby and that on the ceiling was split on the joint and the paper needed repainting . TV only had one channel and when asked we were told we were lucky but we could watch the TV in the bar if that was working . Shower door didn't close and sink leaked flooding the bathroom where the flooring didn't fit and rose in the middle . To end it all there were dirty clothes left in drawers from previous occupants . Food was OK but staff took 3 attempts to bring us our breakfast . In the end they brought everything on the wrong plates and another plate held stuff they couldn't remember where it was to go . Dreadful ! It's not cheap ! Don't waste your money there must be far better in the area .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We went on a Sunday and we had a choice of the traditional carvery or items off the set menu. The carvery was a very generous helping and mostly OK. However, the salmon linguine was terrible. It was a mountain of spaghetti (not linguine) which had been obviously cooked in the water from the carvery vegetables. There was an overpowering flavour of carrot in them and small fragments of broccoli and carrot in it. The sauce was overly sweet and was just dolloped at the side of the plate, rather than over the pasta. The salmon was covered in charred bits that looked like it had come out of a dirty frying pan.

The desserts were part of the carvery and they had not replenished the dish, so we were given the scrapings of the pudding which were tiny portions.

It wasn't too expensive, but there are far better places to go for lunch locally if you drive a little further afield.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darvel, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We didn't stay here, but ate here while "self-catering" near Beauly. Staff were good and very helpful to my very choosy vegetarian wife, Food was very good, well priced and good size portions, would recommend. "Reward Card" good idea for locals, unfortunately we live over 200 miles away so won't be visiting often enough to benefit from this, but will be back next time we visit the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

As this is in the beautiful highlands away from the city, it was good to have the restaurant downstairs. Though they don't stay open late, they kept open long enough for me to get something to eat after a long day of sightseeing when we didn't have time or opportunity to grab something before getting back. The people were all so friendly, except perhaps when we accidentally sat at the wrong table for breakfast...

The room had a funny smell, coming from the bathroom. Not sure if it was the sewer lines? It seemed to be clean, perhaps in need of some redecorating, but functional and our only complaint was the lack of wi-fi so we could plan our next days' adventures.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Brockie's Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brockie's Lodge Hotel

Address: Kiltarlity, Kiltarlity IV4 7HW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Kiltarlity
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Kiltarlity
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Brockie's Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brockie's Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.