We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kiltarlity Lodges

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kiltarlity
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kiltarlity Lodges
Save
You added Kiltarlity Lodges to your Saves list
nr Beauly, Kiltarlity IV4 7HR, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Lanark, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great holiday!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Arrived at the lodge to a warm welcome from the staff who were helpful and friendly. The lodge was beautiful and spotless! If you are looking for wide screen plasmas & games consoles DO NOT come here! However if you are looking for a comfortable well equipped base for an adventurous holiday this is a great place to come!
We booked a lodge with a hot tub which was amazing and just what we needed after long forrest walks with our pooches! The area around the lodge is beautiful and not far from Inverness if you need to shop. Cracking wee restaurant called the fiddler in drumnadrockit which is bout 20 mins away but you need to book! It was packed when we went.
All in all the holiday was excellent and we will go back to kiltarlity lodges next year hopefully with more people!
Thank you for a fab time!
Ignore the bad reviews, people always find something to complain about!

Room Tip: Book straight through kiltarlity lodges as it's cheaper and I'd recommend the hot tub lodges...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    18
    7
    5
    6
See reviews for
31
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

After we had confirmed our lodge, we received an informative email on directions, once we got to the road on which the lodges were on, the sign posts towards lodge were quite small to see during daytime but we managed to find it, the girls in reception were extremely nice and helpful and gave us any info we needed about the area and possible day trips, when showed to the lodge everything was explained about heating And what switch did what, the lodge was very clean And well presented as where the swimming pool and laundry room which where on the compound. Everything about our stay at the lodge was enjoyable And we have found our Scottish holiday home. Andrew and family (35, 30, 12,8,6 and dog)

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikkix7
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014


Just back from a weekend stay at Kiltarlity lodges. We arrived when reception was closed so we found our own way to the lodge, I knew this was going to be the case as I had phoned before hand to advise of a later check in. We went down to reception on Saturday, settled our electricity bill that they had put in for us. The lady on reception was polite, she asked if everything was ok with the lodge and if we needed any help. The lodge itself was immaculate and I could not fault this, however as other guests have said they are very dated. I think putting in proper sofas rather than the chairs would be a huge improvement. With a few simple changes such as changing the bedding, curtains, bleach stained bath mat these lodges could look a lot nicer. A mop would be handy in the lodge when you are going from hot tub to inside as water tends to end up everywhere. An outdoor light would also be an advantage when using the hot tub in the evening. One our friends fell as she didn't see the step as it was so dark. We also had the problem of trying to find the lodge in the dark. You most defiantly need a car when staying here, if eating out I don't advise the nearest restaurant Brockies lodge - where customer service does not exist! These lodges would be more suited to those who are looking to travel the surrounding area and looking for somewhere that is comfortable to rest at a reasonable cost.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie W, Manager at Kiltarlity Lodges, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
We were so sorry to hear that one of this lady's friends had a fall at the hot tub. We would like to thank you for bringing to our attention the fact that the lighting may be inadequate if guests are using the hot tubs after dark, as no other guests have mentioned this previously, and we are now considering how best to place some extra lighting to provide added illumination for the hot tubs.
We are sorry also that the furnishings in the lodge were not to this guest's taste, and hope that this did not detract too much from her enjoyment of her holiday. We are continually reviewing and upgrading the decor of the lodges, and are glad of any suggestions from guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

First tip, if you are following your sat nav, especially after dark, and less than a mile or so from destination, do not fork off right, stay on the main road (coming away from Inverness) and keep your eyes peeled for the (unlit) Kiltarlity Lodges sign. Not a big problem but after 9 hours driving (from Shrewsbury) the last thing I needed was 'hunt the lodge'.
Once found, we saw reception was closed (seen this reported on Tripadvisor) but saw a sign on the door saying 'Evans, lodge 6, door open, key on table, electricity in the meter'. Odd but in we went and within 30 mins of unpacking our New Year's break began and we were warm and home from home.
Awoke next day to see the site for the first time, very natural and untouched fair to say, didn't venture in to the unwelcoming games room, or pool or tennis courts, but with our own hot tub, very good, and our pleasant lodge we were happy enough and enjoyed our 3 day break in the Scottish Highlands, taking in an Inverness CT football match and enjoying the scenery of Loch Ness and the snow covered mountains.
All in all, very good - and would go again

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie W, Manager at Kiltarlity Lodges, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us at New Year.
We know that it is a problem that sat navs often direct people to the wrong place (because it has the same post code as we have). To make it easier for guests to find us, we have put up signs on the road, and hope that people will now follow the signs rather than the sat nav directions.
The park was certainly looking rather "natural" after the recent severe storms, with twigs and small branches having been blown off the trees and lying on the ground, but the clearing up process is now complete, and the park again looks pleasantly rural but tidy!
It would be nice if you could come back again at a time when the swimming-pool is open (April to October), I am sure you would all enjoy it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

This was my tenth stay at Kiltarlity Lodges,and again left feeling rejuvinated. The lodge was,as ever, immaculately clean and fresh on arrival.The kitchen had everything you would need and the bedrooms were very comfortable. The new sofas were an improvement. What i really appreciate is the fact that you never feel overlooked by the other guests. The Lodges are are an ideal place for exploring.and Beauly has a very good, butchers,bakers and greengrocers. the staff are very helpful and I would recommend it, as would Coal the dog who loves the walks!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie W, Manager at Kiltarlity Lodges, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us in October. We are happy that we now have so many guests who return year after year; I hope we shall see you again next year too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, England
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in early November with our 2 young children. The park is thoughtfully laid out in woodlands and really is a beautiful place to stay during the autumn. You can expect a very warm welcome on arrival. Everyone we spoke to was only to happy to help in terms of the actual park and also information regarding the local area. The lodges are very clean and well looked after. There are swings etc for younger children to play on and there is a good swimming pool which is also ideal for younger children as it is not too deep. The water is also warm! We have visited this part of Scotland several times in the past and these lodges make a great base from which to explore the area. The Black Isle, Nairn and the Cairngorm National Park are all places we have enjoyed visiting and within an hour or so drive of the lodges. We have stayed at many holiday parks in the last few years with our family and would definitely recommend this one!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunoon, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We have stayed here for three October holidays running and will be back next year. My kids of 3, 9 and 14 love it. We play man hunt and hide and seek, go swimming, visit the highland wildlife park, go horse riding, teach our children about plants, trees and if you visit in Autumn the toadstools and mushrooms are amazing. The bad reviews are due to people not checking what they are booking. If you need your children entertained by wide screen televisions and cheap holiday entertainment this is not the place for you.Great for relaxing, and enjoying the outdoors with your children. The lodges are comfortable and a great base for surrounding activities as I mentioned earlier. Staff are great and all cleaning products you will need are provided in lodge. Cannot recommend enough.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie W, Manager at Kiltarlity Lodges, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed your holiday again this year, and we would love to have you back again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kiltarlity Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiltarlity Lodges

Address: nr Beauly, Kiltarlity IV4 7HR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Kiltarlity
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Kiltarlity
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable self-catering lodges set in a woodland park near Loch Ness.The lodges sleep 4 to 6, in one double and one or two twin bedrooms, and feature- open-plan lounge/dining-room- colour Freesat television- well-equipped kitchen- shower-room (some lodges also have bath)- bed-linen and towels provided- some lodges are suitable for wheelchair/disabled access.- children and pets are welcome.The park features- heated indoor swimming-pool (open April to October)- tennis court- children's play area- games room (pool, table tennis etc.)- laundrette.The park is ideally placed for visiting the magnificent mountain scenery of Loch Ness and the Strathglass glens, and there is an abundance of wildlife, from red squirrels in the nearby woods to deer and golden eagles in the Glen Affric National Nature Reserve. You can take a boat trip to see the Moray Firth dolphins, or a cruise on Loch Ness to search for Nessie!For a more active holiday there is excellent fishing in lochs and rivers (salmon, brown trout), there are many golf courses nearby, as well as pony-trekking, and hill and forest walks.Or you can explore the heritage of the Highlands, visit castles and whisky distilleries, or join the locals at a ceilidh of traditional music.The park is also an ideal touring base from which to visit the Black Isle, Skye, Speyside or even John o' Groats.The park is 6 miles from Beauly, which has good train and bus connections, as does Inverness (14 miles), where there is also an aiport.We are open all year round, for short breaks or longer holidays. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kiltarlity Hotel Kiltarlity

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kiltarlity Lodges, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.