We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Honeymoon!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Keyonna Beach

Save Saved
You added Keyonna Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Keyonna Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Johnson's Point, Turners Beach, Antigua   |  
Hotel amenities
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Honeymoon!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

My wife and I went to Keyonna Beach for a week in November 2013 for our honeymoon. We had such an amazing time and the whole staff made our stay very special. By the end of the trip they knew the drinks we liked and made us feel at home. We really enjoyed that they always had the same staff. Our private cottage with infinity pool was perfect. The room was immaculate, had a/c, was cleaned every day, and was exactly what we wanted. We cannot give enough praise to the quality of the food during our stay. The menu was constantly changing so we were in for a surprise at every meal. Francine made our Honeymoon dinner very special with the flowers, candles, and service she provided. We definitely recommend Keyonna Beach to anyone looking for a quiet get away in need of relaxation. They have standard US electrical outlets in the rooms which was a nice surprise! We left the resort for a total of 4 hours to go to Shirley's Heights. We wish we would have stayed at the relaxing resort instead of heading to a tourist location. P.S. - the water is as beautiful as the picture portray, and the beach was never crowded. We felt like we were at a private beach.

Room Tip: Definitely splurge for the cottage with the infinity pool!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    31
    8
    5
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
106
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheriffhales
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

I am reluctant to write this review in the light of all the previous comments made about Keyonna, most of which are very favourable. However when expectations are high, the disappointment when they are not met, is all the greater. We booked our holiday in this hotel based upon the favourable comments made in the past but we were not impressed with the service we experienced on several key issues. I would like to say at the beginning that these were dealt with efficiently when our complaints were voiced, firstly by the Kuoni rep and secondly by the wife of the hotel's owner, both of whom acted swiftly and efficiently.

The initial impression upon our arrival was indifference on the part of the hotel's middle management. Because our flight was delayed as a knock on from October's Great Storm, the evening meal was in full swing and the duty manager made it clear that it would suit him if we ate first before being shown our rooms. We were hot, tired and in need of a change of clothing so this suggestion was insensitive and made, we suspected more in the interests of clearing the dining area than in the comfort of some inconveniently late arrivals. The security guard who was detailed to show us to our cottage did not, apparently include carrying suitcases among his duties and we were left to struggle over the irregularly placed concrete blocks laid over the beach. We are both techically OAPs. The track to the rear of the cottages was extremely poorly lit and very hazardous. Later, in the daylight, we also discovered it was being used as a toilet by the feral beach dogs. This was not cleared up until we ourselves did so.

The cottage was very comfortable and roomy but the toilet broke on first use and the shower handle was dangerously faulty and could not be used safely. Both were reported and the toilet was fixed very promptly. However the shower was a different matter. It took three days before it worked efficiently. Cleaning of our room was very hit and miss and the mini bar was not monitored, neither was the coffee replaced. There was no umbrella which, given the extremely wet weather at the time which caused extensive flooding, would have been a welcome courtesy. We asked frequently for one but it never arrived. Another useful addition would have been a torch since the route back in the dark from the dining area was so hazardous.

There was extensive maintenance being carried out in nearby cottages which was noisy and the gardeners added to this by strimming at times to suit themselves. The combined noise was unbearable on one particular occasion when we were trying to enjoy a siesta.

Service in the dining room at breakfast was irritatingly slow. On one occasion it took 45 minutes for a simple omelette to make its appearance. Lunch and dinner were much better and I would like to emphasise that this was by far the best All Inclusive deal we have ever had, and we have had many. Quality and presentation of meals was excellent, as was the bar service.

With the intervention of the owner's wife, things improved considerably and the second half of our holiday was all we had hoped for. We thought we had just been very unlucky until the day we left when we were made to realise that nothing had really improved. Our taxi was booked for 4pm but nobody arrived to collect our luggage. We sat at a deserted reception area and when the taxi arrived we just picked up our bags and walked out. No member of staff saw us off or waved goodbye. It was a sad end to a much looked forward to holiday. We have stayed in hotels around the world and this has never happened before. With so few guests at the time it was a courtesy which could have been made. Last impressions can be just as important as first.

I have never written a negative review of any of the many hotels and resorts we have stayed in. Things go wrong anywhere of course but at Keyonna it seemed to emanate from sloppy middle management who dealt with problems reactively rather than proactively. This is such a shame as the hotel has the potential to be excellent. I feel they rely too heavily on the beautiful location and the ambient peace and quiet to satisfy their guests. They failed to realise that broken showers, though irritating, are not as important as a lack of interest in the guests well-being. At no time at all in the initial few days did anyone approach us to check up that we were happy. Perhaps they should take some tips from hotels in Thailand, India, Sri Lanka and Kenya for example where customer satisfaction is of primary importance to the management.

Sorry Keyonna, not impressed!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeyonnaBeach, Owner at Keyonna Beach, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide detailed and valuable feedback on your stay. We are quite disheartened that your experience was disappointing. We particularly take pride in our staff and their interest in building relationships with our guests, as reflected in feedback from former guests. Our staff truly find interacting with our wide range of guests to be an interesting and inspiring experience, and many guests return not only to enjoy the location and facilities of the property but to enjoy the personal and friendly experience.

We express, in particular, the dismay of the owner’s wife as she personally sought to ensure your stay was outstanding following your admittedly poor arrival experience and the prevailing weather conditions which were bound to dampen any holiday. She visited every day and personally provided some of the items you requested including the umbrella. She also ensured that you were provided a complimentary upgrade to our best Cottage with plunge pool and personally provided fresh flowers to the room, and offered a complimentary massage and private dinner on the beach. We also were prepared to facilitate a change in property if you had so desired given your feelings, however you had expressed that you were quite happy to stay and in the days prior to leaving expressed your reluctance to leave and so we were of the impression that although starting on a poor note, we had redeemed your belief in what you had expected for your stay especially given our verbal communication and the above comments in your review regarding this being the “best All Inclusive deal we have ever had”.

Since your stay we have made some major changes to the management team which was unfortunately at the time of your stay in a state of transition, in order to ensure that in all circumstances the level of service is beyond expectations and does not rely on any individual, but is provided by every single member of the team. We are glad that the remainder of your stay was “all that you had hoped” and we too had hoped that this would have resulted in an overall positive impression.

We anticipate that with these changes Keyonna Beach will continue to meet and exceed the expectations of the majority of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

I stayed at Keyonna in the superior beachfront cottage in November and cannot rate this resort high enough. The staff, especially Jardin, Norris and Marquita were excellent, helpful and very friendly. The resort itself is very relaxed, peaceful and romantic. The food was of a 5* quality and for me, always served just the right amount portion size so that you were able to enjoy a starter, main course and dessert.

The beach is stunning and rustic with views of Montserrat island and St Kitts. If you have the budget I can highly recommend upgrading to the superior beach front superior cottage as they are very spacious with your own private plunge pool, day bed and loungers with access straight onto the beach. They also feature a mini bar, tea and coffee making facilities with mosquito nets and mosquito coils when sitting outside in the evening. After a day out at the stingray excursion (great experience on which transfers can be arranged from resort) we came back to petals and flowers on the bed with towel swans.

The evenings were peaceful and you never have to fight or pre-book a table like the larger resorts. Some evenings at dinner they have local musicians playing and singing which never overpowers the conversation.

This isn't just a resort for couples I saw 1 or 2 solo travelers as well as a large group of adults.

The cocktails are amazing and were available all day from the bar. Afternoon tea is also provided if you are feeling peckish between lunch and dinner.

Keyonna is very much a unique resort on the island and prides itself on having no televisions in the bedrooms. This is a real 'get away from it all' resort and if you are not fussed about activities and plenty to keep you occupied then this is the resort for you. Read a book on the beach and play chequers with a cocktail on the verrandah in the midday sun.

Room Tip: Beach front superior room, especially nos 42,43.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeyonnaBeach, Owner at Keyonna Beach, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you very much for your five star rating which we will relay to the rest of the staff. We are pleased that we were able to deliver in all areas for you, which is always the team's intention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We stayed at Keyonna Beach 3 weeks ago, to say it was great is an understatement. We had a superior beach front cottage with a plunge pool where you just stepped down onto the beach. Quiet & relaxed. Staff were very helpful, food was good. The Kuoni rep was first class. We enjoyed it so much that we have already booked to go back in April. If you want lots to do with night-life then it's not for you. if it's just a relaxing holiday, sun, sea and slumber then you could do no better.

Room Tip: Beach front cottages are great but if you have a bit more cash then the cottages with plunge pools a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeyonnaBeach, Owner at Keyonna Beach, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Penny

We thank you for your kind words and we are truly excited to have you come back so soon. We look forward to trying our best to make your stay in April even better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Keyonna Beach's appeal is that it's so secluded and beautiful. The beach and resort are flanked by a peninsula and a large bend in the island that makes it very private from the rest of the Island of Antigua. The staff are super nice and the food is beyond amazing.

It has a maximum of about 20 couples so it never feels crowded. The choice of excursions are also very appealing to the adventurous types, or you can just hang out on the beaches all day long.

We will definitely be going back for our 5th wedding annivesary!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeyonnaBeach, Owner at Keyonna Beach, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Andrew

Thank you for your taking the time to provide your feedback. We look forward to seeing you on your 5th anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

If you're looking for an intimate and personal resort off the beaten path - this is it! My husband and I honeymooned here for a week and Keyonna Beach was so much more than we were expecting. We didn't want a huge resort with lots of other people and the private outdoor showers sealed the deal for us.

The resort is located on the beach and our cottage had a romantic view of the sunset each night. The resort is somewhat rustic but heavenly. Our room was always clean and beautifully decorated with flowers from around the resort grounds. The electricity on the island is not reliable and the power went out for several hours each day. This wasn't a problem for us as we spent our time outside and the power was always restored in time for the air conditioning to cool our room for the night. You can also hear some road noise as the road is behind the resort but didn't take away from our vacation.

Breakfast and lunch are taken outside under beautifully shaded tables and dinner is served under a covered area (in case of rain!). Shirts and cover ups are required during meals but there is no dress code. Most couples dress up a bit for dinner but shorts and sundresses are acceptable. The food at Keyonna Beach is outstanding! I highly recommend the breakfast specials, the soups are delicious, and the dinners are incredible.

The staff is friendly and their service is exceptional. The staff makes you feel welcome and comfortable at all times. Francine, Shenneth, Victoria, and Javin are wonderful.

Although the resort does not offer amenities (snorkeling, diving, etc) there are some services that will pick you up by boat from the resort. We had planned to go on excursions but were so happy we didn't leave the resort all week.

Highly, highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeyonnaBeach, Owner at Keyonna Beach, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for your kind words which will be relayed to the rest of the team. Congratulations on your recent wedding and we look forward to you spending your next momentous occasion with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The approx. 1/2 mile long beach was beautiful, and facing west provided great sunsets. Inga and Francine were great help the first day when our bags did not make it out of Miami. Inga swung into action getting us the appropriate toiletries and necessary clothing for 24 hrs w/o luggage. Francine provided the warmth of the place and we felt right at home. Shenneth, Vicky, Jevin, Dwayna (sorry for any spelling errors) were just great-we asked what the best local fish was (red snapper) and we got it the next night. Meals were served overlooking the beach with nice ocean breezes. Food was fresh and very tasty, but the wine selection was weak, advertizing Maipe from Argentina we got Sutter Home from the US-not.!The rooms were very nice, but the shower pressure in #34 was a dribble most of the time (outdoors was nice but...). Overall the people make this place and we will be back (and hopefuuly the showers and toilets will be better)

Room Tip: Second floor of main bldg or spring for a cabin (#34) or a cabin to the right of the main bldg when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeyonnaBeach, Owner at Keyonna Beach, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for you feedback. We are working on the areas you highlighted and we hope that you will notice the improvements on your return. We will relay your kind words to the staff and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Keyonna Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keyonna Beach

Also Known As:
Keyonna Beach Hotel Johnson`s Point
Keyonna Beach Hotel
Keyonna Beach Antigua
Address: Johnson's Point, Turners Beach, Antigua
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Mary Parish > Turners Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Turners Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Keyonna Beach 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located on a long stretch of less travelled, secluded white sand beach lapped by gentle waters, this intimate Antigua beach hotel is situated no more than forty steps from the calm waters of the South West sunset lit coast.Simply styled rooms with traditional Caribbean four poster beds all with verandas where you can enjoy the cool ambience.Overlooking the crystal blue waters of the Caribbean Sea with stunning views of nearby Montserrat, Keyonna Beach, a couples only Antigua hotel, is located in Johnson's Point, closely situated to other seafront restaurants and attractions. This small all inclusive Antigua hotel is the perfect base to explore the sights and sounds of the island while enjoying intimate romantic Antigua accommodation on the south coast, 30 minutes drive from V.C. Bird International Airport, 20 minutes drive from the capital of St John's and 5 minutes drive from the Jolly Harbour Marina with shopping mall, banks, pharmacy and supermarket.Our Beach Restaurant provides a multi-tiered, wooden terrace, perfect for casual secluded beachfront dining. The hotel provides daily table service at all meals including breakfast , lunch a la carte and dinner with daily changing menus. After dining, relax on thick cushioned loungers and Bali beds.Enjoy a highly personalized, intimate atmosphere, with fabulous views at Keyonna Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Venere, HotelsClick, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Keyonna Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Keyonna Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.