We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful paradise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Keyonna Beach

Save Saved
You added Keyonna Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Keyonna Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Johnson's Point, Turners Beach, Antigua   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Turners Beach
Saint Charles, Missouri, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful paradise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

The staff at Keyonna Beach was amazing. I can name so many: Akil, Francine, Makeisha, Shenette, the guy whose name started with a J, Davinna, and so many more I can't remember. There was not one mediocre or bad staff person! We went in May, just after the busy season, and the beach was nearly empty! Our room opened onto the beach, Turner's Beach, and it was beautiful and peaceful. Our room was basic, but who cares when you want to be on your porch overlooking the beach, or on the beach in a Bali bed. If you are expecting a 5 star luxury hotel, then this is not for you. However, Keyonna Beach is wonderful in customer service. The chef and food are top-notch, and the drinks are good, too. I recommend the Keyonna Surprise. We would definitely come back, as soon as we possibly can!

Room Tip: The standard rooms are small, but ask for a sea-view room and you won't care!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    88
    33
    8
    5
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
122
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

The hotel is very pleasant but it seems to have lacked any investment as there were lots of minor problems you wouldn’t expect to find – even in a 3* hotel.

We had a beachfront cottage beside the pool, which meant that we had a good view of Turners Beach with 40 metres of rough grass between us and the sand, and a Cuban frog underneath the cottage which continual croaked (it sounded like a duck in distress!) and which kept us awake for two nights during our holiday. Several lights were not working and neither was the phone but when we spoke to the hotel manager she quickly resolved this for us; she also found a small writing desk to put in our room, an extra chair and some seat covers. We also found the thin fitted undersheets on the bed were too big/deep so the sheets move around the night.

The cottage roofs are made of thin metal so we were often woken in the night with a thunderstorm or the rain from a tropical downpour hitting the tin roof. We would usually wake early in the morning due to the thin cotton screens covering the front windows. The wooden slats that cover the side windows do not stop much light and would not prevent anyone looking in. When we were not woken by the light or the rain then we were woken by one of the two hotel dogs barking. On three occasions we had no water for a wash or a shower while the pool-man spent 2 hours cleaning the pool.

The paths around the hotel consisted of interspersed concrete slabs in between overgrown grass/weeds or sand and there was a lot of stagnant water from the frequent rain showers which attracted the mosquitos, so we were constantly bitten. The pool area was also surrounded by slabs and grass, and two of the three day beds around the pool have no mattresses. Initially there were no sunbeds by the pool but when we asked for two so we could sunbathe these arrived very quickly. There was a limited amount of sunbeds on the beach, with a mixture of day beds, wooden sunbeds and metal ones with plastic runners. Many of the loungers and chairs on the beach and also in the hotel have cushions missing and the hotel could really do with making an investment in some new/additional sunbeds and seat covers.

The open-air bar and restaurant is very personal and although the food choice was very limited the quality was always very good; that is when they hadn’t run out of something (which seemed to happen on a regular basis). The Staff are very friendly but service was often slow. There is no dress code so it’s very relaxed. We attended the Manager’s Cocktail Party each Thursday but the Manager was nowhere to be seen. Watch out for the varnish/wood stain they use on the furniture in the restaurant as we found several shirts ended up with annoying stains off the tables and chairs. We could sometimes get the free internet access in our room but this was mainly available from the restaurant/bar area.

Although everything is very basic the hotel does have a few positives. The main benefit is that there is a fabulous beach and because the hotel has so few rooms the beach was never crowded and the pool was usually empty. Unlike other 4* and 5* hotels we’ve been to in the Caribbean this hotel is set on a very long secluded sandy beach which is protected by a reef so it was always calm and the sea was very warm. The hotel stretched for about ½-mile along the beach and apart from a catamaran which moored for an hour some days the beach was exceptionally quiet.

We had a large wooden veranda and, apart from the Gardner cutting the grass with a noisy strimmer for 3 whole days, sitting outside our cottage was normally very quiet – there was not any loud music or annoying entertainment and there were not any crowds of people; in fact there were very few people at all and this is the one big benefits the hotel has going for it, together with the beach.

Overall we had a nice holiday in a great location but we paid a very high price for a basic 3* hotel.

On returning to the airport at the end of our holiday we had pre-booked the Outbound Lounge and I would definitely recommend this if you are travelling with British Airways. Our bags were taken from the taxi while were shown to a private lounge to relax. When the flight was ready to board we were taken by car to the steps of the plane!

Room Tip: Because Room 34 is right beside the pool you tend to have exclusive access!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I am hesitant to write this review as we would like to keep Keyonna as our own little secret! We have stayed at many resorts on Antigua, now we won't stay anywhere except Keyonna Beach Resort. We were there 5/12 - 5/19. I was told we would have a cottage, but we were given room 14 instead. It was right next to the kitchen. I was NOT happy! Long story short, we ended up having the best room in the hotel. Step off your porch right into the sand! Close to everything and it wasn't noisy at all. The hotel was probably 60% full. Everything we read about Keyonna before going didn't promise a lot from the hotel other than peace and quiet. Keyonna WAY over produces everything they can to make their guests comfortable. It was THE best vacation we have ever had on Antigua in about 40 trips there.
In order to make up for the room and not cottage, they arranged for lunch and a massage at their sister hotel Cocos! We didn't go because we really didn't want to leave the beach for that long. We really appreciated the offer/arrangements though!
Hubby and I were there celebrating our 25th wedding anniv and Keyonna really made our vacation very special and memorable. One of the staff, Shennetha, went way out of her way for us! She got together with Diamond Intl and made arrangements for them to come to the hotel and give me a BEAUTIFUL Tanzinate necklace for our anniv. OMG, I was shocked!
Housekeeping forgot to make up our room when we were out on Adventure Antigua Eco tour for a day.No big deal, I went to the lobby to grab some towels and bottled water. They would not let me wait or carry the items. They came to the room with bar service to stock our fridge and staff to take care of the towels. The next day they surprised us while we were hanging on our Bali bed.They came out with 2 shrimp cocktails and ice cold champagne to make up for forgetting to clean our room the day before. We have never stayed at a more wonderful hotel any where in the world!
The food was perfect, even very picky eater hubby ate everything at every meal. The rooms very romantic especially when they made bed-art out of the towels and flowers, the staff, well I can't say enough good things about ALL of them! Staff can make or break a vacation, they made ours perfect! The dogs on the beach were a calming influence to us. If they barked at night, you knew someone was walking around the resort that shouldn't be. Best security system ever! If the dogs were around at meals and folks didn't want them around, the staff would just point and the dogs would leave. The beach is perfect! Want to say a very special "THANK YOU" to a few people who really made our vacation special: Javin, Shennetha and Victoria!

Room Tip: Room 14 was excellent and close to everything and very quiet. Next time though we would like to try...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We travel to an island every December and this is the first time we went back to a previous location. This place has everything we want in a vacation: sun, beach, privacy, relaxation, good food and good drinks.

Everything we said about the resort last year still stands so read my previous entry with the following changes:

The bungalow's are awesome. They make walking to the beach and dining area about 100 yards further but they really make you feel like you are completely alone in paradise. There is a new pool but we didn't get to take advantage of it as they were still getting it ready. When we left it was perfectly blue and looked great.

However I do feel a little let down on the food. In 2011 it was amazing but in 2012 it felt like they were trying too hard. Everything was good but it never really felt appropriate. I would have liked to see some local fish and local dishes.

Absolutely still amazed with the service. Couldn't have asked for anything better!

Room Tip: Get a bungalow unless you have difficulty walking around 100 yards through sand for dinning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeyonnaBeach, Owner at Keyonna Beach, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Thank you for your confidence in us and for visiting us again in 2012 following your visit in 2011. I think a third visit in 2013 may be in order as we continue to make improvements in our facilities and cuisine.

You will definitely enjoy our local beef roti and curry, Antigua fungi and fish, and jerk chicken, along with the more international dishes like roasted duck, seafood fettucine and sushi dishes. We also have a weekly session to learn how to make our local cocktails to impress your friends at home. We still have your cottage available for this December! We look forward to hearing from you on your reservation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed in Keyonna beach for 10 nights in April and had the most wonderful time. The beach is incredible, the sea is calm and crystal clear, and the staff are on the whole friendly, helpful and go the extra mile.

We had a bit of poor weather on our arrival which put a bit of a dampener on the first few days of our holiday. However we tried not to let this affect us and we ended up taking a bus trip to the Capital St Johns. The staff were very helpful and explained exactly what we needed to do to get there and we were filled with confidence.

The resort as a whole has such an incredibly relaxed atmosphere. Everyone is laid back and you can't help but just go with it. Some of the staff just always went the extra mile to put a smile on your face, to be as helpful as possible. Shenneth, Dwayna, Francine, Miketia and Victoria just to name a few!

The food was simply incredible. We had such a wide variety to offer us every evening and we thoroughly enjoyed all of the fresh fish that was cooked to perfection. Sometimes the service was a little slow but I think that it is a good thing to get out of the midday sun and just take your time to relax with lunch.

Our room was very nice. We had a beachfront cottage that had all the facilities you needed, however it is very basic. Don't go to Keyonna if you are looking for modern luxuries such as TV's, radios etc as they do not feature in the rooms.

Alongside the many positives there are a few negatives. We believe that the sun loungers (that are sat next to the double day beds on the beach) are just old and tatty and need updating, along with the towels that you are given to sit on the beach. We also felt sometimes that we simply had to fight for the sun loungers as there were just not enough to go round, so would be nice if there was enough for everyone should they require it.

There were also stray dogs on the beach and while many guests took a liking to them, should you have a fear of dogs there was not much you could do other than really try and not let them get to you. As far as I'm concerned they shouldn't be allowed in the resort (the beach is public so there is no control available) as it didn't make me feel very comfortable walking around late at night. However Javin did make a conscious effort to remove the dog from the seating area when I made it clear to him that it was not welcome.

We felt that the future plans for Keyonna (to build a few more cottages and to extend the dining area) sound exciting and a great plan for the future, however we would hate for the intimate feel of the resort to be lost. We loved the fact that it is small, couples only and sometimes we were the only ones on the beach. And we would love for it to stay a small boutique hotel.

All in all it was a fantastic holiday. Simply heaven. But there is still room for improvement which we have every faith that they will be able to do!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeyonnaBeach, Owner at Keyonna Beach, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and we are glad that you had a wonderful time. We seek to offer simplicity and charm and a chance to get away from the stresses and distractions of life. We have both bali beds for every room and a few sunloungers available for use by all of our guests but for those who prefer the sunloungers we will seek to provide additional ones.

We do not encourage the dogs, however, a number of guests do actually feed and play with them and therefore further attract them. We will continue our quest to ensure that the dogs are provided a suitable and safe location.

We have plans to undertake our regular upgrades to make continuous improvements. We are a small, intimate hotel and intend to maintain that style which is much loved by our new and repeat guests.

We hope to see you again and look forward to even more positive feedback on our improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed 5 days here beginning of April. Had the best time. This place is complete paradise. The beach was lovely. The staff was pheonominal. The hotel was very clean and well kept grounds. Food was delicious. Over all we could not ask for a better vacation. If you are looking to get away from it all then this is the place to go, thats for sure.
One thing that stood out the most, one day we were going to go on a walking tour by the staff member, well she had hurt her foot, so Tanisha, whom was getting off of work said she would take us. She spent 2 hours after her work day to take us on a tour, telling us about different fruits and stuff. Letting us try several different things. She went around asking everyone for a jelly, which is a young coconut with water in it. She finally got a guy to climb tree to get us one, so we could have it the next morning. The staff always went above and beyond to make sure your requests were met and you were enjoying your stay.
Loved loved it, will be going back. Thanks Keyonna for making my 5 year anniversary memorable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay at Keyonna. The food and drinks were delicious, the staff was great, and the beach was beautiful. What more can you need!

The beach that Keyonna is on is pretty quiet which is our preference. This is not the place to go if you're looking for a Sandals-type experience. This is the place for people who want to relax and spend time together. We were only there for 5 days but it felt like much longer because we felt so at ease and were able to forget about our demanding jobs and all the stresses back at home.

The room was nice and clean. Although we were in the main building and initially thought it might be noisy--it wasn't and it was nice to walk right out on to the beach. But next time I'd like to try out one of the private cottages.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Keyonna Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keyonna Beach

Address: Johnson's Point, Turners Beach, Antigua
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Mary Parish > Turners Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Turners Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Keyonna Beach 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located on a long stretch of less travelled, secluded white sand beach lapped by gentle waters, this intimate Antigua beach hotel is situated no more than forty steps from the calm waters of the South West sunset lit coast.Simply styled rooms with traditional Caribbean four poster beds all with verandas where you can enjoy the cool ambience.Overlooking the crystal blue waters of the Caribbean Sea with stunning views of nearby Montserrat, Keyonna Beach, a couples only Antigua hotel, is located in Johnson's Point, closely situated to other seafront restaurants and attractions. This small all inclusive Antigua hotel is the perfect base to explore the sights and sounds of the island while enjoying intimate romantic Antigua accommodation on the south coast, 30 minutes drive from V.C. Bird International Airport, 20 minutes drive from the capital of St John's and 5 minutes drive from the Jolly Harbour Marina with shopping mall, banks, pharmacy and supermarket.Our Beach Restaurant provides a multi-tiered, wooden terrace, perfect for casual secluded beachfront dining. The hotel provides daily table service at all meals including breakfast , lunch a la carte and dinner with daily changing menus. After dining, relax on thick cushioned loungers and Bali beds.Enjoy a highly personalized, intimate atmosphere, with fabulous views at Keyonna Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Keyonna Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keyonna Beach Hotel Johnson`s Point
Keyonna Beach Antigua

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Keyonna Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.