We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip to Rotterdam” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Rotterdam-Schiedam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Rotterdam-Schiedam to your Saves list
Novotel Rotterdam-Schiedam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hargalaan 2, 3118 JA Schiedam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
UP TO 30% - EARLY BOOKING
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Schiedam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dover, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Trip to Rotterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

As I was visiting clients in Delft this hotel was an ideal location just of the Rotterdam ring road. The staff were very helpful and the rooms clean and tidy and as usual the hotel room was to the high Accor standard.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IdeVries, General Manager at Novotel Rotterdam-Schiedam, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    126
    40
    5
    2
See reviews for
60
49
25
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel often for work and continue to go there purely because of its location which is just off the highway.

Overall this hotel does not feel like a 4 star. Although it is quite modern inside, it feels a bit cheap. The rooms in particular are fairly small and very basic, with minimalistic, cheap-looking built-in furniture. There is one switch for all lights in the bedroom which means you are either in brightly lit up room or pitch black which is rather annoying and surprising for a supposed 4 star hotel. The bed is quite hard and there are only two, fairly flat pillows. I have never had a good night's sleep in these beds unfortunately. For these reasons the rooms do not feel very comfortable.

The breakfast is fine but could do with fresh juices instead of from concentrate and eggs are either scrambled or hard boiled.

Restaurant menu is ok but overpriced for what you get. The staff is not as attentive as they should be fir 4 stars. I once ordered a vegetable fritata and asked to not include potatoes which they did but then they served it with a side of fries which is not on the menu and were obviously unwanted...since I asked for no potatoes...

There is a small gym which has modern machines and a tv, but can get crowded!

I would not recommend this hotel for couples or for people who will be spending time in the hotel room.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IdeVries, General Manager at Novotel Rotterdam-Schiedam, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Google Translation
Het spijt ons dat Novotel Schiedam niet aan uw verwachtingen heeft voldaan. Het is door mede door uw feedback dat wij blijven werken aan onze kwaliteit en onze service. Ik hoop toch in de toekomst u wederom als gast te mogen verwelkomen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paderborn, Germany
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Hotel is nice and offers free parking which is a must for Nederlands. A great place to stay close to Rotterdam. Free WiFi is also included.
Breakfast was very good and hotel also offered an internal yard that could be enjoyed during breakfast or by the children that might accompany you. Few children games like a games console was also available.
Room was basic but capable of accommodating up to 3 or 4 people with the extra couch.
Bathroom offered all working basic necessities.
I recommend the hotel and I will stay there again on my next trip to Rotterdam.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IdeVries, General Manager at Novotel Rotterdam-Schiedam, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
The staff would like tot hank you for your kind praise of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaerbeek, Belgium
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

The hotel is conveniently located very close to the motorway but at the same time very quiet. Would not recommend it if you are not driving as it is few kilometers away from Rotterdam city center.
It seems that we were not the only one to take advantage of the weekend offer as there was many families: 59€ for night with breakfast included for all (that's up to 2 adults + 2 kids). Very good value for money although the swimming pool was closed for repair.

Room Tip: Ask for garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IdeVries, General Manager at Novotel Rotterdam-Schiedam, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Google Translation
Hartelijk dank voor uw positieve feedback. Ondertussen kan ik u melden dat het zwembad vanaf dit jaar heerlijk verwarmd is. Hopelijk kunnen wij u wederom als gast ontvangen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Really like this place. Spotlessly clean, functional, well designed room. Great public areas. Beautiful bar - very professional and friendly bar staff. Outside eating area overlooking a small swimming pool and childrens playground - very pleasant.

Reception staff were superb. Very efficient, polite and friendly - warm welcome received and they took an interest in the children which was a nice touch.

Very quiet extremely clean room. Bed mattress was perfect and so comfortable.

Well deserved 4 start rating in my opinion. Only downside - had dinner in the restaurant which was expensive and very average quality Not good value. Breakfast was okay as a selection but the hot food was low standard in my opinion - watery powdered egg, ovecooked baked beans etc.

Food aside - everything else about the hotel was lovely. Great bar - spent a lot of money in there but made friends with the staff and locals so it was a great experience.

Thank you Novotel. Will be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IdeVries, General Manager at Novotel Rotterdam-Schiedam, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
May I offer my sincere thanks for your kind comments about your stay at Novotel Schiedam. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

This hotel looks quite old from the outside, but inside it is very modern & tastefully decorated. It is about 7 mins walk from station, & four stops from Rotterdam Central. We arrived about 10am, hoping to drop our luggage off, but staff gave us a room straightaway for no extra charge. We also had a late checkout - 12 midday, all included. Room was fine, beds comfortable. Breakfast was ample. There was also an outdoor pool & playground which is. Great for young children. Staff also happily printed documents off for us free of charge too. Would stay again if in area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IdeVries, General Manager at Novotel Rotterdam-Schiedam, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
All of us at Novotel Schiedam would like to offer you our sincere thanks for your delightful review. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with is.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Rotterdam-Schiedam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Rotterdam-Schiedam

Address: Hargalaan 2, 3118 JA Schiedam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Schiedam
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Schiedam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Rotterdam-Schiedam 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Rotterdam Schiedam is a 4 star hotel located within minutes of the port, Europoort and the centre of Rotterdam. This attractive hotel is ideal for either a business stay or a relaxing weekend away in Rotterdam. Free parking is available for our guests at the hotel and our well equipped rooms feature WiFi and airconditioning. The Novotel Rotterdam Schiedam has a charming restaurant and bar, a spacious garden with outdoor pool and a terrace. The hotel is entirely " non smoking ". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Novotel Rotterdam-Schiedam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Rotterdam
Accor Rotterdam Schiedam
Rotterdam Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Rotterdam-Schiedam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.