We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located good hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Rotterdam-Schiedam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Rotterdam-Schiedam to your Saves list
Novotel Rotterdam-Schiedam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hargalaan 2, 3118 JA Schiedam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
UP TO 30% - EARLY BOOKING
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Schiedam
Maidstone
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Well located good hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Having not been to Rotterdam for some years we chose this hotel as it was both near the Autoroute access (for driving from the UK) and close to Neiuwland Station on a NS commuter route into the city centre. The location was ideal especially as we obtained a 3 nights for 2 deal that included breakfast. The hotel seemed quite empty so Novotel were probably hoping to rustle-up extra trade. We opted for an executive room on an upgrade but it was not worth it as all you had added on to the standard room was a Nesspresso machine, mineral water (which we had to ask for each day!), and a fluffy robe. We also had to make a fuss to get the on-the-house drink that was promised. Despite that everything else worked and the staff were friendly and generally efficient. A word of warning if you intend to use Dutch Public Transport as we did. To ride the trams that pass the hotel door you need to buy an OV-Card (which is charged with electronic credits) in advance. We never did find somewhere to do this and the hotel could not help. To obtain a ticket to use the NS 'mainline' trains you need to use one of the ticket machines on the station as the Dutch seem to have withdrawn all human beings (bar drivers and conductors) on their trains and premises. The machines will only take Dutch Debit Cards (which I guess only the Dutch have!) or Euro coins - notes cannot be used as is the case with most ticket machines in other countries. No real problem for a €4 return into the city but buying two €20 tickets to Utrecht needed forethought and a kind hotel receptionist who provided the 20 x €2 coins needed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    127
    40
    5
    2
See reviews for
62
49
26
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Groningen, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Easy to reach, more than enough parking space, close to Rotterdam. Good hotel for business travellers, but would not use it for leasure trips. Dinner is - as in most hotels - expensive and not that good. Rooms are recently overhauled and very good. Prices are reaonable, good value for your money. Staff is very friendly.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

My third time of staying and always the same good standards.
Rooms are reasonably large and comfortable. I love the act that there is an inner door separating the room lobby from the bedrooms which practically eliminates the noise from the hallways. Beds are comfortable. Nice to have a kettle and choice of beverages.
Nice selection of chanels and languages on the TV.
Bathrooms are well lit with a decent hairdryer. Nice big shower with the all important adjustable head!
Food is very average I am afraid, and given the choice I would dine out. Breakfast is good, but not a vast selection if you are a fussy eater! Hot and cold options available.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

This is a nice hotel with great food and very close to Nieuwland Station and Vlietland Hospital. Just be aware that breakfast is 18 Euros and even though you must sign in for it, they will charge it to your room everyday just the same. Upon check out you will have to go through a book of sign-in sheets in order to prove which days you did not have breakfast! Also, if you are staying on long business trips, it can be a hassle with their accounting system trying to check out every week (if you are wanting to get ahead on your expenses). I had the situation where I paid for the second week, and the transaction went through, but according to the manager (some days later), a new hold/reserve on my card did not process for the upcoming week? But he mistakenly stated that I had not paid for the previous week at all....even though I had an invoice from the front desk showing that I had paid. They could not tell by looking at the computer. Anyway, I dont understand why I wasn't made aware of the hold/reserve not processing at the time I made the payment! And then, why was it such a big problem after the fact, seeing as I already had paid for two weeks (I am a here on a business trip, not a rock and roll tour). I wanted to give it 3 starts for the problems I had at the front desk, but I have a feeling it is the best place to stay in Schiedam.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Novotel Rotterdam-Schiedam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Rotterdam-Schiedam

Address: Hargalaan 2, 3118 JA Schiedam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Schiedam
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Schiedam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Rotterdam-Schiedam 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Rotterdam Schiedam is a 4 star hotel located within minutes of the port, Europoort and the centre of Rotterdam. This attractive hotel is ideal for either a business stay or a relaxing weekend away in Rotterdam. Free parking is available for our guests at the hotel and our well equipped rooms feature WiFi and airconditioning. The Novotel Rotterdam Schiedam has a charming restaurant and bar, a spacious garden with outdoor pool and a terrace. The hotel is entirely " non smoking ". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Novotel Rotterdam-Schiedam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Rotterdam
Accor Rotterdam Schiedam
Rotterdam Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Rotterdam-Schiedam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.