We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Indimenticabile!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante il Borgo

Ristorante il Borgo
Piazza A. Gentili, 62026 San Ginesio, Italy
+39 (0)733 653135
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 13 restaurants in San Ginesio
Restaurant details
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Indimenticabile!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

It is 11 years since I ate there and I still remember their cotoletto di porco and the fettucine ai tartuffi. Heavenly food, lovely place, and gracious hosts! Bravi tutti!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    14
    14
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
“Excellent typical resturant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

We had 2 dinners at the il Borgo restaurant and it was fantastic!!!
We were a group of 8 adults, and each of us found excellent dishes of his flavor.
The food was very well done, excellent ingredients, and perfect preparation.
Especially we recommend the antipasti dishes and the veal which were fabulous!
Also, the staff was very kind and informative and helped very much with the order and gave us great tips about traveling the area!
very recommended place to eat!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good meal but not as good we expected from the reviews”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

We had dinner at Il Borgo last week and while it was a perfectly acceptable meal, we had expected something much more memorable. We shared large plates of anti pasta, fresh ingredients, but not much you could go wrong with really. The pasta dishes again were fine but easily reproduced at home. The atmosphere was lacking - the TV was blaring and as we sat underneath it, we struggled to hear ourselves talk. The wine menu was limited to a choice of 2 red and 2 white which for many restaurants offering simple home cooked food this wouldn't have been a surprise, but we were expecting a more 'special' experience. So all in all it was good, but not great. At €20 a head it was good enough value for money.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Good local food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

This used to be the dining room of the Pensione. Never ventured in whilst stayingthere. It was unfrequented and didn't seem to promise much in the way of good food. All has changed. The pensione is now the trying to be swanky and boutique-y, Albergo Centrale and the restaurant is a good place to eat.
There used to be only one restaurant in San G (Terra Nostra) but now there are two and hail hail !
The food is good, carefully cooked local stuff. The plating is trying a bit too hard but that doesn't take away from the taste. The pasta with Duck Ragu was excellent.
There are three dining rooms. Ask for the front. It's more fun.
All in all - recommended.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante il Borgo also viewed

San Ginesio, Province of Macerata
 
San Ginesio, Province of Macerata
San Ginesio, Province of Macerata
 

Been to Ristorante il Borgo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante il Borgo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.