We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just beyond the edge of Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fogo Island Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Fogo Island Inn to your Saves list
Fogo Island Inn
210 Main Road, Joe Batt's Arm, Newfoundland and Labrador A0G 2X0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Valentine's Day
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Joe Batt's Arm
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Just beyond the edge of Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

A group of ten of us trekked from many corners on North America to experience first hand this destination legend that despite its early age is already the subject of much literary folklore. Without a doubt, Zita Cobb and her dedicated team not only lived up to all the hype but made us all feel like family...not just relatives of the Inn and its outstanding staff, but of the amazing residents of Joe Batt's Arm, Tilting, Fogo and nearby communities and settlements. From the moment Allan and Claire picked us up at Gander airport to the tearful good byes, the Inn was a slice of heaven that you can be fortunate enough to visit more than once and while you are still young enough to enjoy it over and over. Thankfully this heaven is truly just the beginning and not the end.

We picked berries, hiked to artists studios, photographed caribous, frequented craft shops, indulged in home made ice creams, fine dined, spun yarns and made new friends. We had fresh baked bread and pastries, coffee, tea and orange juice left outside our doors each morning. We were hosted by the Foley's for a traditional Newfoundland shed party. We were entertained by Alan Doyle and his cast of comedic friends. For heavens sake, we even had our boots cleaned and returned to our rooms like new to go back in our luggage.

One of the most rewarding parts of our adventure was we all played a small part in fulfilling the mission of the Shorefast Foundation..a formidable mission to stimulate and nurture the economy of a community devastated by the downturn in the fishery. We witnessed first hand the commitment to preserving the culture, traditions, trades, values and heritage of rural Newfoundland. And perhaps best of all, we got to do it all with friends and new friends at a truly magical location situated just a little beyond the edge of amazing.

See you in March when the ice pack begins to flow.

Bravo.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeper C, General Manager at Fogo Island Inn, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear Brendan,
Thank you for your kind words.
You certainly experienced Fogo Island in a beyond amazing way. It's so rewarding to hear that you feel like you're part of the family at the Inn and in the community. The Inn and community are a special place and we look forward to having you come back home in another of the seven seasons. See you in March!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    5
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
21
74
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We have been watching from the sidelines as the Fogo Island Inn came into existence after years of planning by Zita Cobb and her team. We had high expectations as we had heard a lot about this place, and it does cost a pretty penny. When we pulled up the driveway to the Inn, it was even better than I expected.

When we were shown to our room (3rd floor, with bath and wood stove) - it literally took my breath away. Floor to ceiling windows with views of the waves crashing onto the rocks below.

There has been so much love and attention paid to every detail in this hotel and the staff were so lovely. We felt well looked after, like we were visiting a relative. We couldn't believe how amazing the food was at the restaurant - especially the homemade blueberry sausage and toutons for breakfast and the local fish for dinner. In the morning, they leave a sunrise basket at the door with fresh scones and thermoses of coffee and tea.

I know I'm gushing but I can't say enough good things about this place. I'm planning to go back next year.

Room Tip: Get a room on the 3rd or 4th floors for the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeper C, General Manager at Fogo Island Inn, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear Amrita,
Thank you for your comments! And so glad to hear your visit exceeded your expectations. The design is thoughtful in so many ways, and I'm pleased to know you felt well looked after and that you were amazed by the food. We look forward to welcoming you back next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

This summer we were lucky enough to stay in the Fogo Island Inn, and I have to say, it was the experience of a lifetime. When you check into a hotel, you expect good service, good food, comfortable and clean environment – and of course the Inn delivered on all of those things, but it is in a class of it’s own. So a 5 rating on trip advisor just doesn’t do justice.

From the moment I entered the front door, I felt like I was a guest in a friend’s home – scratch that – a friend’s mansion. They made it clear that it was my experience, and anything I wanted was okay with them. They had a shuttle bus which took us to local spots and brought us back – no charge, because that’s what friends do. I asked the chef to arrange a 5 course tasting menu for me for dinner rather than eating off the menu. Not only was that okay with him, but each course was so unique to Fogo Island, it was obvious he’d given it a great deal of thought. It was fabulous.

And the room, wow! The floor to ceiling view of the Atlantic was breathtaking, every detail was thought through: the ultra modern ensuite, the cozy quilts, a fireplace in our room, and white noise piped into every room. It was incredible!

We we’re lucky enough to be there when an iceberg could be seen off the coast. The inn arranged for their guests to be taken out by boat for a closer view – a once in a lifetime experience.

It’s really not a just a hotel - - it’s a retreat!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeper C, General Manager at Fogo Island Inn, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear Debbie L,
Thanks for taking the time to share your experience. We're honoured that you feel your visit was in a class of it's own. Glad you felt part of the family at the Inn and that the Chef's tasting menu was fabulous. We'd like to take credit for the iceberg, but will leave that to mother nature. To ensure this isn't a once in a lifetime visit, come back and visit in another season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTL
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The Inn sits gracefully amongst the natural beauty with its contemporary design which is pleasing to the eye from every angle. If you have an appreciation for beautiful surroundings, casual elegance and down to earth hospitality, this place will certainly delight you. The rooms are breathtaking, stylishly designed with extreme attention to detail. A modern take on traditional keeps the Inn true to its Newfoundland roots. The friendly staff members were all wonderful and eager to please. I sincerely felt a connection to each and every one of them who were thrilled to share their island, their traditions and the beautiful accommodations. They provided a made-to-measure itinerary specially designed for us based on our interests with down time to explore on our own. The dining room is an invitation to delight the senses, deliciously prepared meals; true works of art are served while glancing out at the magnificent scenery. This place is magical, it leaves you wanting more, if you’re a creative type, you will find inspiration, if you are looking to escape the hustle and bustle you will disconnect, if you seek adventure it offers that as well. Highly recommended. Thank you all for a great holiday and hope to see you all agin some day.

Room Tip: They all face the water, you can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeper C, General Manager at Fogo Island Inn, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear deedeeMtl,

Thank you for your review. It's true that many guests don't want to leave... We're so glad you highly recommend the Inn as a place to be inspired, a place for adventure and a place to disconnect. and pleased to know our family was eager to please. Come back and visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

My friend and I stayed @ Fogo Island Inn in late June or early July for 2 nights. It was a wonderful experience ....a new concept in holiday and accomodation. We loved the casual elegance of the Inn and the outgoing friendship of the staff who shared our joy at being there. We were offered and took advantage of the tour of the Inn which added to our familiarization and appreciation of the facility. The beds, bedding and furnishings were very comfortable.

Room Tip: I thought all the rooms were were well situated but there may have been a room that had the view ob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This breathtaking Inn is world class and the setting is absolutely unique with amazing views from every part of the property. The hotel’s architecture is perfectly blended into its environment and each detail has received the necessary reflection. Every aspect and nuance was simply magnificent from the warm scones and coffee delivered to our room in the morning to the perfectly mixed martinis we sipped in the bar while listening to local musicians. The peace and tranquility was an experience difficult to equal anywhere else in the world. The service was wonderful and the entire Fogo Island Inn team was attentive and friendly and they made us feel like we were guests in their home. I highly recommend visiting Fogo Island and staying at the Fogo Island Inn.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

When my wife and I first heard of the inn and explored going there we were turned off by the logistics of traveling there from NYC. We are both really glad we decided to go. Fantastic experience from start to finish. Staff are extraordinary and made sure we were happy. Both the hotel and the island are beautiful. Had a couple great hikes and bike rides. Everyone we ran into on the island were extremely welcoming. Would definitely recommend for a long weekend away from NYC. Can't wait to go back in the winter to see it covered in snow.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fogo Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fogo Island Inn

Address: 210 Main Road, Joe Batt's Arm, Newfoundland and Labrador A0G 2X0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Fogo Island > Joe Batt's Arm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Joe Batt's Arm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fogo Island Inn sits on an Island, off an Island, off one of the four corners of the Earth. Every one of our 29 one-of-a-kind guest suites has dramatic floor-to-ceiling windows that open onto the wildest and most powerful ocean on the planet, located less than 100 feet from your organic natural-fibre dream bed. Most suites have a wood burning fireplace stove; all are furnished with quiet luxuries and handmade furniture and quilts - a stimulating relief from the numbing uniformity of modern times. Built on the principles of sustainability and respect for nature and culture, the award-winning Inn belongs to the community. And all surpluses from the operation are reinvested in the community to help secure a long-lasting resilience for Fogo Island, Newfoundland.Accolades: Travel + Leisure Global Vision Award, Culture, 2013.EnRoute Magazine Canada's Best New Restaurants, 2013.TIAC National Cultural Tourism Award, 2013. Tatler Travel Style with Soul Award, 2013.Architectural Digest Ten Daring New Buildings Around the World, 2013.Travel + Leisure It List, 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith so you can book your Fogo Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fogo Island Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.