We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“David makes the experience amazing! ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chachagua Rainforest Hotel & Hacienda

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Chachagua Rainforest Hotel & Hacienda to your Saves list
Chachagua Rainforest Hotel & Hacienda
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 476-4005, Chachagua 1017, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel Bosques de Chachagua)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chachagua
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“David makes the experience amazing! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

I took my younger sister here for her birthday and I have to say all the accommodations were truly amazing. We did the night hike am horseback tours and found them to be very fun and David to be informative with answers to all our questions. He was very generous and we appreciated the entire experience from everyone at the hotel. There are so many trails and adventures to be had here, so don't miss it!!! Best spot to stay in Costa Rica hands down.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    56
    17
    6
    2
See reviews for
62
125
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
honolulu
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

A beautiful hotel/lodge located in a private forest. There are 4 rooms with private baths to each building. Corner rooms had a picture window over the bed which brought light into the room. The bathroom had huge picture windows to view the forest while taking a shower. Nice toiletries were offered. Rooms had AC. The gardens contained trees and plants with beautiful flowers and there is a waterfall on the property as well as a stable. The pool is of good size and next to the building that contained the bar and restaurant. Best food during the trip! The service was excellent.

there was only 1 other family present during our stay so it was very quiet and private. Not sure if it was due to our stay during the wet season.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Our family have stayed in Chachagua from July 28 though August 1st. It was our first time in Costa Rica. We were very impressed with the jungle grounds of the hotel. Especially, our huge thanks to David Barboza, the tour giude in Chachagua hotel. He is one of the most pleasant, educated , and nicest tour giudes we had in Costa Rica. He guided us though the imazing night walk. Without him we would not be able to spot all those animals and insects. Also, my eight year old son have decided to take a horse ride lesson as well. Thanks to David, now my son loves to continue his horse riding lessons back home. We had absolutely wonderful experience!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We stayed at this hotel in July 2014. I found the staff friendly, but not all that accommodating. When we checked in, the resort was empty. They refused to move us to a king bed room because it would be a premium room and I didn't want to pay. Give me a break! Once we checked in, we had to carry our luggage down the hill, over the bridge, up a hill, up the stairs and around back, REALLY.... You would think at a premium resort like this one, they would have a vehicle to at least bring our luggage the could of thousand feet. Also, you really should have an SUV to get there. The last 10+ minutes of your drive is down a path (I can't call it a road), which will not allow travel above 10 miles an hour.

The food was 3 stars, the room was probably 4 stars, the staff was 3 stars. What saves this place is that it truly is in a spectacular location.

Room Tip: Good luck on that one. Make sure you request a room that does not overlook another room. Ours had a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San jose
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

This place is beautiful. It's in the middle of the rainforest, so insect repellant is a must. The staff is amazing, I really enjoyed coming here. I went on a horseback ride ( one of the on sight activities), the view was incredible. you get to see Costa Ricas back country. Very cool. But it is very far away from anything. Quiet, not a lot going on. just FYI, I'm younger so this wasn't my scene but great for families and couples.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We loved Chachagua Rainforest Hotel! We had a tough time finding it with the GPS (coordinates didn't work for us), but a friendly man on the main street helped us get there. I can't imagine getting there without 4-wheel drive, especially with the rain, as the road is quite bumpy. However, the property is absolutely beautiful, and the private cabina was lovely and comfortable.

We did want to visit La Fortuna and Arenal while in the area, so it was a bit inconvenient as far as driving the 20-30 minutes into town, but if you just want to stay on the property, there is lots to do- horseback riding, fishing, swimming, eating/drinking, hiking, etc. The woman at the front desk was helpful when we asked her questions, and she arranged a white water rafting experience for us, recommended restaurants in town, etc. Great for couples and those small families who don't need to stay in town. I would definitely visit again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

After almost 2 hours drive from San jose airport in a very nice road, we have more 10 minutes of bumpy rocky road but it was well worth it. The cabana and the entire hacienda are amazing, the open restaurant with all the delicious plates, the breakfast and the homemade bread and jelly with exotic fruits. The entire staff were exactly Pura Vida style, friendly and helpful. Amazing place. We were there in June 2011 and we cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Chachagua Rainforest Hotel & Hacienda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chachagua Rainforest Hotel & Hacienda

Address: PO Box 476-4005, Chachagua 1017, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel Bosques de Chachagua)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Chachagua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chachagua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chachagua Rainforest Hotel & Hacienda 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A place to surpass your expectations of a positive interaction with the rain forest, pampered by the friendliest local staff and with fantastic organic food production highlighted with extraordinary cuisine. Rest and relax or experience all you want. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Chachagua Rainforest Hotel & Hacienda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chachagua Rainforest Hotel And Hacienda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chachagua Rainforest Hotel & Hacienda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.