We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a Must when in Costa Rica” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chachagua Rainforest Hotel & Hacienda

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Chachagua Rainforest Hotel & Hacienda to your Saves list
Chachagua Rainforest Hotel & Hacienda
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 476-4005, Chachagua 1017, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel Bosques de Chachagua)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chachagua
Certificate of Excellence 2014
sonoma county
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“a Must when in Costa Rica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The grounds are beautiful. Extremely well kept. The lodgings however were the main attraction for me. A large, comfortable, covered front porch led to a roomy bungalow. Two over head fans provided plenty of comfort from the heat. a well appointed bathroom with a shower large enough for a crowd. My cabina had a safe big enough for my laptop although I understand not all do. The management is also installing AC but I didn't have it and didn't feel the need for it. Others I talked to had AC. You just have to ask. The meals were plentiful and delicious and a welcome respite from the standard buffet. The employees were, to person, kind and gracious. There is a good nature trail on the property also. Two thumbs way up.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    57
    17
    6
    2
See reviews for
66
127
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Voorhees, New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We are a couple in 30's and no kids, and stayed there from 12/31 to 1/4. We loved the hotel because the place was absolutely beautiful and staffs were friendly & nice, rooms were clean and food was fresh & delicious. Overall, we loved it and wish to visit there again and stay longer.

Here are some suggetions.

If you are a couple, you'd better stay in either a bungalow or a deluxe bungalow, because rainforest rooms are connected to next room(s) with not thick enough wall so you can hear your neighbors from morning to night. We stayed in a rainforest room 1st and 2nd night and switched to a bungalow. It was very different! It had large deck with a some furniture as you can see in their web. A bathroom was more spacious and a shower itself was better. You'll still hear your neighbors but it won't bother you a lot.
(I have to say that if you go to their web site and see the 3 pictures in "accomodations" page, the left one is not for a rainforest room, it is a bungalow.)

If you are a vegetarian, there won't be enoght choice as much as no-vegetarians have in their buffet. During our stay, we ate in the restaurant 3 times- the 1st, 3rd and 4th night. It was buffet at the 1st & 3rd night, and it was a la carte at the last night. So they seem to serve a buffet and a la carte every other day. They had chicken, pork and beef, soup, salad, rice, potato and desert in buffet and they had more varieties in a menu, so we were happy with both buffet and a la caete. I saw some people asked a waiter a menu when we had a buffet, so I believe you can do it if you don't want to go for a buffet.

If you can speak Spanish, I'd recomend you to rent a car. We don't speak Spanish so we had to call a taxi every time we wanted to do something. It costed us a lot. The expense for a taxi was kind of a pain in the neck, but this hotel had own taxi drivers(I guess they were a dad and his son), we felt safe.

You should get up earler and take a walk. I saw a sloth, a toucan and many other beautiful birds!

My experience here was really good remembrance. I hope this inspires you.

Room Tip: a bungalow or a deluxe bungalow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

If you are looking for a quiet, relaxing stay in the rainforest this is it! The private bungalows are well appointed and comfortable. We were a bit concerned about not having A/C, but with the open windows heat was never a problem. The grounds are beautiful, with many different bird species and at least one sloth! The hotel arranged several excursions for us: to the Arenal Volcano, hanging bridges, hot springs and waterfall. The food was quite good-not gourmet but definitely fresh. Overall, the Chachagua Rainforest Hotel offers a unique and memorable experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed five days the first week of December 2012 and had one of our best experiences. If you want to relax, this is the place. If you want to get away to a place without commercialism and experience nature, this is it. The cabins are especially comfortable, with an open covered deck. The best are those facing the rainforest (#114 and 115 are in the isolated corner where the toucans hang out). The food is good, especially the sea bass. They need a little more variety, perhaps a nightly special. But, for the most part, the food was good to excellent for the most part. Christian is an expert on the rainforest and nature, be sure to connect with him for help in finding and knowing about the nature in the rainforest. My wife loved the rushing creek (you have to ford the creek to get to the cabins). You're only a short drive to the Arenal volcano and a great walk through a deep rainforest where the howler monkeys roam. We also saw anteaters, a sloth (in the resort forest) and many tropical birds.

Room Tip: Ask for a cabin facing the rainforest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ct
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

The bungalows and grounds here are really very special! We especially loved the design of the bungalows with the living area outside of the bedrooms! Bathrooms were spacious and first class. The hammocks and rockers quickly became our favorite resting spots! Overall the bungalows were enchanting! On the room I have only one quibble and would be so easy to fix. The mattress pads are so thin that I thought there wasn't one! I could feel the tufting of the mattress---not particularly pleasant :( but so easy to fix.

The grounds are spectacular and the rubber boots and umbrellas provided by the hotel are a necessity for hiking the property---thank you!

I wish I could say something good about the food but I honestly cannot. Breakfast ham was inedible, eggs dry. Your best bet is to ask for pancakes----they will make them fresh. I am sorry to say that dinner buffet was equally poor. I am not exceptionally fussy about food and I love Latin food. They need to do some serious work in this department. You really are too remotely located to want to leave the hotel for meals. Other than food quality this was a dreamy hideaway!

Room Tip: 203 was a nice location next to the babbling brook! However very loud music from the bar marred our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, North Carolina
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

It's the rain forest so what do you expect? The staff is very accommodating and the rooms are very unique: rain shower heads, windows that open ALL the way, double entry doors, and very comfortable beds. To reach the hotel you must travel 2 KM from the main highway down a very rough road. It's also a long but beautiful walk from the reception area if your vehicle cannot take it through the stream separating the reception from rooms and bar/restaurant. The pool is inviting but you're in a rain forest! Saw a worker in the organic garden adjacent to the dining room -- he was spreading fertilizer in time release form and then covering it with dirt. Hmmm. Food in the dining room is very good and the produce is grown on site -- best fried fish (tilapia?) I've had in a long time as it was very lightly breaded and fried to a greasless perfection. Flan was also delightful. Coffee preparation is uniquely Coasta Rican-- the drip method uses a cloth tube resembling a sock in which coffee is placed and boiling water is poured over. The kitchen and prep area are open so you can watch the ladies at work.

Room Tip: If you get a room in the 200 building, you are within range of the WiFi. If you are in sectons 300...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

This was our second visit to this resort (our first was 15 years ago). And while little has changed in the way of wildlife and super friendly staff, so much has changed in terms of its respect of the environment and the local community.

But first let's start with the basics. This is a very comfortable resort with lovely bungalows made from local tropical exotic woods, large beds, an open-air shower and a large covered porch. The rooms have also been renovated recently and a new restaurant and kitchen have been built. The food was very good and the menu was varied and relatively inexpensive for Costa Rica. Staff were polite, friendly and professional. Please keep in mind that this is a Spanish-speaking country and be patient with staff if their English isn't what you're used to at home. Better still, make an effort to learn a few words in Spanish.

Second, this is a great place for bird watching and for learning about the "jungle" and its plants and inhabitants. We saw many new species of birds on our guided hike with the resident naturalist who speaks very good English and knows all about the rainforest and the many creatures and plants that inhabit it. He is super friendly and always available to help identify a bird or a flower. He is so keen on sharing his knowledge and love of the environment.

In addition, the new owners have put a great deal of effort into making this resort eco-friendly in many ways. They grow most of their own fruits and vegetables and raise their own pigs and chickens. And it's all organic farming.
The new swimming pool uses no chemicals; the water is fresh from the mountain streams and in filtered for purity.
A new methane gas system using waste from the pigs produces all the gas needed for cooking. Soon they will add a larger faciltiy to generate most of the electricity for the hotel. They have even introduced this inexpensive system for producing gas and protecting the environment to the local community.

They are also working with the community to educate locals on the benefits of farming on a smaller scale that is less destructive to the fragile rainforest environment and on the benefits of tourism if the environment is preserved.
To back this up, the hotel employs mostly local residents to support the local economy.

HIkes around the large former farm property with the resident naturalist are educational and enjoyable. Umbrellas and rubber boots are provided.

Although it is probably best to have your own car in order to enjoy the nearby thermal baths and Arenal volcano, an airport pickup can be arranged by the hotel. At $140, however, it is probably cheaper to rent your own car and you'll have more flexibilty to enjoy the local sites. The trip from the airport in San Jose takes about 2 hours. Allow extra time to get lost and to stop at sites along the way. And don't worry about the rough road into the hotel. Just drive slowly and take your time. It's not that bad.

This is a great place to relax and enjoy nature for couples or families.

Room Tip: The bungalows near the stream are most private and the soothing sounds of the running water are rela...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Chachagua Rainforest Hotel & Hacienda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chachagua Rainforest Hotel & Hacienda

Address: PO Box 476-4005, Chachagua 1017, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel Bosques de Chachagua)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Chachagua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chachagua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chachagua Rainforest Hotel & Hacienda 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A place to surpass your expectations of a positive interaction with the rain forest, pampered by the friendliest local staff and with fantastic organic food production highlighted with extraordinary cuisine. Rest and relax or experience all you want. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Chachagua Rainforest Hotel & Hacienda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chachagua Rainforest Hotel And Hacienda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chachagua Rainforest Hotel & Hacienda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.