We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise in the Rain Forest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chachagua Rainforest Hotel & Hacienda

Save Saved
You added Chachagua Rainforest Hotel & Hacienda to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chachagua Rainforest Hotel & Hacienda
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 476-4005, Chachagua 1017, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel Bosques de Chachagua)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Chachagua
Livermore, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Paradise in the Rain Forest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The individual bungalows are very nice and the sounds of the rain forest are magical at night. The staff are very friendly and helpful. It is a good value for the price. Make sure if you drive that you have a SUV since the last few miles are driving over a heavy duty gravel road. We took advantage of the horse back riding as well for an extra fee on property which was good.

Room Tip: It is worth the extra few dollars to get the luxury bungalow with the jetted hot tub in the room tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
natguide, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Chachagua Rainforest Hotel & Hacienda, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Your words keep us looking for the excellence!
Our staff, the grounds, and nature, combined with you, make the difference.
Thank you very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    150
    49
    11
    6
    2
See reviews for
59
106
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
daegu, south korea
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I went here for our honeymoon with the insane Living Social deal. We had a private cottage facing the rainforest. The porch had a hammock, couch, chair and bar. It was fantastic. Christian, our guide, took us on a private tour of the rainforest and grounds. When m husband wasn't feeling well, he made some tea for us, then drove us into town to the pharmacy. The food was to die for. Bloody Marys were fresh from the garden. The staff knew I was interested in seeing a sloth, so when there were some in the trees, they came and got me to show me. The insects were minimal, we didn't have any problems with them. Monkeys woke us up and when it rained, (it did everyday), the toucans would hang out on our porch. Insanely great time!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a private cabin. It's totally worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
natguide, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Chachagua Rainforest Hotel & Hacienda, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you so much for your review!
More than a resort, Chachagua Rainforest Hotel & Hacienda is your home away home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Found this secret hide-away through Living Social and went with another couple. We all had such a great time. Peaceful surroundings, great staff, including the on-site naturalist who took us on a night hike. The restaurant staff were charming and did their best at fulling our every need even with a slight language barrier. Rented a 4x4 (thank gosh) from Vamoos (who were also great) and off we went. Beautiful drive from airport. We went Memorial wknd which is part of their rainy season and even though we did experience some HARD rain, it didn't interfere with any plans.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
natguide, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Chachagua Rainforest Hotel & Hacienda, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Lovely words!
We hope to see back really soon, to show what we do the best: Smile and provide the best experience ever!
Thank you a lot!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

My wife and I visited this hotel with two other couples. We got a little nervous when we first turned off the main road and had to navigate the 2 miles of bumps to get to our hotel. Once we entered the gate the attitude of the group went from hesitance to instant praise for the beauty.

Carol checked us in greeting us with cool towels and fresh fruit drinks. She was so kind and really made us feel like we were entering her home and genuinely concerned that we were comfortable and welcome. Throughout the stay she continued to give us the same level of treatment and even helped us call local businesses to set up reservations for tours.

We spent three nights here and I think all six of us fell in love with the grounds. There are great hikes on the property that take you into a beautiful rain forest setting. They even provide you with free boots to ensure you don't get to muddy.

The food was very good in the restaurant and we especially appreciated the service that Brian provided to us.

I would agree that this is not for the traveler that wants a cold "Chain Hotel" type of experience as it does feel more like a family you are joining. The accommodations are beautiful with wood floors and great wooden furniture, but the bathroom floor is slated to the ground (which we found enjoyable" but might be interesting if you are petrified of bugs.

We have stayed at other much more expensive locations in La Fortuna and this will be the one place we will always come back to!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
natguide, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Chachagua Rainforest Hotel & Hacienda, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
You are absolutely right.
We are not a cold chain hotel. We are your home away home!
Every day our staff give their best in order to get you totally happy, because, if you are happy, we are happier!
Thanks for taking a minute of your precious time to review us.
We can't wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Got a LivingSocial deal to visit Chachagua Hacienda and have been pleased by the entire experience. Grounds are immaculately kept, cute creek runs through the venue, wonderful food. On CR Independence Day, had an amazing meal. Every morning, my husband and I have gone to check on the chickens and hogs. One of the hogs gave birth to piglets while we were here. Have also made friends with the puppies -- we named one of the "bumpy" for his bump on his head.
MUST KNOW: If driving from San Jose, you will travel through the cloud forest. Not sure if this is year round, but at least while we were here the cloud forest gets thick as early as early-mid afternoon. Can be a treacherous drive, even for locals as we saw one flip their car over. Definitely don't recommend driving here at night from SJO. Because our flight is so early we are cutting our stay one night short and moving into Alajuela. Otherwise, great stay.

MUST DO's of the area: Naranjo Coffee Tour, Arenal 1968 hike and Baldi Springs.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
natguide, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Chachagua Rainforest Hotel & Hacienda, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you very much!
We are far enough of noisy towns just to make sure that our guest will get what they come to see here: nature as it's best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

WOW, a friend of mine told me about the this hotel and boy she was right! Once you find the place (2 miles of very bumpy, back roads) you feel like you reached heaven. It's very lush with tons of flowers and green. You can stay here for a few days and not leave. There are plenty of areas to hike around, goats, ducks, puppies, pigs (which make methane gas that they cook with). You can take a night hike(or day) with the on staff naturalist. We were upgraded to a nicer cabin which was appreciated. Many of the American guests we talked to were very friendly.
Our cabin was nice and spacious. I was worried that we might need ac, but it was fine.
Where else can you take a shower and see tanagers outside your window? The staff overall was fine but felt that they needed someone in the dining room who spoke better English since I have food allergies. You need to get used to the island time for dining. Dinner is served at least 30 min later than posted, so don't show up on time. Also, because we stayed in a slightly slower period, we were served buffets for dinner. Salads were good, desserts not, main courses ok. Early am boxed breakfasts were adequate.

Room Tip: Spend a few more dollars to get a cabin that has a porch and hammock, well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
natguide, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Chachagua Rainforest Hotel & Hacienda, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Yes, we are HEAVEN.
And you are the angels who make this place so special.
Thank you very much for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abq
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

If you want to see the rainforest up close, be surrounded by friendly and knowledgeable people who know the area, have your own delightful cabin, and be centrally located in Costa Rica, this is the place for you. (If you want a Marriott, with a homogenized experience you could get anywhere, go there- but then why go to beautiful Costa Rica?).
You get a great Costa RIcan experience, with all the luxury anyone should ever need. Great food, incredible scenery, great property to wander around. Costa Rica is an outdoors place, and Chachagua Rainforest Hotel let's you enjoy that. The pool fills itself with clear natural water. The grounds tame the Rainforest enough to see what people can do with nature, without destroying it. Yep, the occasional bug will wander by, but any slight inconvenience is more than made up by the immaculate cleanliness the staff provide even in the mud of the rainy season (no air conditioning needed, just turn on the overhead fan over the bed to enjoy a great sleep). If you are picky, and want a classic indoors American experience, you won't get it here- which is what makes the place fabulous. Take day trips, and even overnight trips to other areas of CR- Chachagua is a great "base of operations- and after a few days, feels like coming to one's new Costa Rican home.

Room Tip: Definitely get a bungalow- a great personal experience, having your own place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chachagua Rainforest Hotel & Hacienda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chachagua Rainforest Hotel & Hacienda

Address: PO Box 476-4005, Chachagua 1017, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel Bosques de Chachagua)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Chachagua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Chachagua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chachagua Rainforest Hotel & Hacienda 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A place to surpass your expectations of a positive interaction with the rain forest, pampered by the friendliest local staff and with fantastic organic food production highlighted with extraordinary cuisine. Rest and relax or experience all you want. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Chachagua Rainforest Hotel & Hacienda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chachagua Rainforest Hotel And Hacienda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chachagua Rainforest Hotel & Hacienda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.