We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Polynesian Treasure!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fenua Mata'i'oa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Haapiti
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fenua Mata'i'oa
Save
You added Fenua Mata'i'oa to your Saves list
Village Tiahura | PK 25.5 C/Mer, Haapiti 98729, French Polynesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Haapiti
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dubai
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Authentic Polynesian Treasure!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

It is casual & romantic luxury.

The environment is private and privileged. Given the fact that French Polynesia is in the tropical zone, the landscape of this property stayed as natural as possible. From the local plants and trees, even the flowers and fruits come from its garden.

The interior design is understated and elegant, yet comfortable. As you enter the living room/seating area, you'll be amazed of the beauty of using traditional materials. It is open and bright. The living space is surrounded by garden and pontoon.

We stayed in Princess Lokelani. At the first glance, you'll be drawn into the authentic character of the design of the suite - Lots of wooden elements that characterize a true polynesian lodging. This suite has a terrace with a direct access to the lagoon. Most of the time, we stayed outdoor, lounging on the sun beds enjoying the peaceful and serene atmosphere.

The manner of service is unpretentious, friendly, forward, and empowered. Thanks to Eileen & her staff.

Definitely recommended!

Room Tip: Choose Princess Lokelani which has the direct access to the lagoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    12
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
63
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Indescribable!!! Eileen has created a heaven on earth. Now that the 'cutting-edge' resorts are all doing the same thing - she has stayed true to her passion and created her own heaven on earth. The tropical gardens, wooden statues, stone shrines, antiques and collectables, colourful flowers and polynesian lodgings create a haven where you can literally feel yourself changing, calming and slowing to its natural rhythm. Her husband Serge creates the most stunning individualised meals for you, which you can have in total privacy surrounded by a myriad of flowers looking out over the azure lagoon. Fish, duck and deserts better than Paris could provide. It is so private .... it is perfection!!! Thank you Eileen & Serge - we can't wait to come back and see you SOON! We do not want to leave xxx

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greentown, Indiana
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Well, as many have said before me, this place is jam-packed in every corner and crevice with BEAUTIFUL objects de art, plants, and flowers. Truly, we really enjoyed our time here overall!!!!! We stayed in the Princess Lokelani room for four nights. It's truly beautiful, and the room charge is reflective of that fact. It (the fee) is also on par with the major resorts (38,000 CFP per night). As such, I feel a higher standard applies here, as opposed to most of the other pensions on the island, which are MUCH cheaper. If you ask for major cash, the AC should cool the room. Ours did not. The room is not very well closed off, and the winds just blow right in between the roof and the walls- BIG gap. The AC is present and working, but does NOT cool the room at all. If that's important to you, take note.

Also, the in-room safe worked, but was very finicky. My significant other had to play with it for about 3 minutes, every time we returned to the room, just to gain entry. The safe is not bolted down at all. The doors to the deck are made of thin plexiglass, which is broken almost all the way in half, in at least three places. This contributed to the major hot drafts as well. Also, there is a small garden that separates the actual room, and the bathroom. It is truly gorgeous (both the garden, and the bathroom). The restroom does NOT have an AC unit at all, as it is not attached to the main room. The bathroom was very warm.

The website states that there's a gate at the road that you have to have a code for. It's open all the time; no code needed. Also, the gate to the actual hotel is unlocked 100% of the time. That, along with the previously metioned broken plexiglass in the room, and safe issues, did not make us feel very secure.

The in room wi-fi was down during our stay. Eileen got us onto her personal wi-fi service for a very reasonable fee, but we were not so excited that we were unable to use our laptops/ tablets IN the actual room (ie- we had to go to the main house to get a signal).

Overall, this is a gorgeous property. There are numerous friendly cats around, which we enjoyed, but if you're allergic, beware. The snorkeling directly in front of the hotel is non-existent. No coral at all, just a bunch of sea cucumbers. We parked our car in front, with noone around within 100 ft., and yet there was a dent in the front passenger side fender when we came out the next morning. No clue what/ who caused it. Good thing we purchased the
insurance. I do not believe this is the hotels fault, just a heads up.

We did not eat here, as it was not in our budget (8900 CFP per person, per dinner), and all of the offerings were seafood (I would rather swim with the fishies- just a personal preference). Can't give an opinion on the food. Sorry.

Oh, and we were asked to vacate our room at 9am the day we were scheduled to check-out. Check-out is 11am. We had nowhere to go, and were not even packed up. We had just come to the main house to use the internet. Just thought that was odd is all.........

Beautiful property........ you will like it. Eileen is a beautiful and gracious hostess.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We have stayed in the hotel for 5 nights in the beginning of January.
This place is absolutely amazing. It cannot be described with words, it must be seen. Every single corner- the gardens, the restaurant, the paintings, the rooms carry its own atmosphere. And at the same time all together is in prefect harmony.
But what it makes this hotel really unique are Eileen, Serge and rest of the staff. They actually and truly care about their guests and that makes you feel special, relaxed and part of this paradise. I can write pages and pages about the hotel and the service, but this is not the purpose of this review. I will just advise you to have dinner in the restaurant and you will be amazed. And one more thing – the cocktails are unbelievable. None of the other resorts on Moorea, including Sofitel and Intercontinental and cannot even come near to the taste and the presentation of these cocktails.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This was our final hotel for 3 nights on our ‘polynesia adventure’ of 14 nights.
In Yorkshire, UK, we have a charming and delightful restaurant that we visit most weekends after an hour drive, and this was the French polynesian version of our most favourite place, we couldn’t believe our luck. We couldn’t stop smiling for at least an hour after we arrived.
Eileen is front of house, with husband, Serge, in charge of the cooking and the food preparation.
We were warmly met on arrival with a beautiful hand made flower crown and necklace along with complimentary cocktail and canapés.
Our room, Princess Lokelani, is a double fronted bungalow. The bedroom (with 4 poster bed complete with drapes) is connected to the bathroom with a garden area complete with rocking chair. The suite has a private terrace with sun loungers and parasol with a beautiful view across the ocean. The bathroom is large, complete with double sinks, corner bath with rainshower over, the most beautiful vanilla scented complimentary hair/shower products. There is a hairdryer and plenty of white fluffy towels, replaced on a daily basis. There is a cable tv, dvd player, mini bar, safe and plenty of wardrobe space.
Décor in the numerous areas of the lounge/bar is amazing, a total treasure trove, with lots and lots of objects d’art. It is clear Eileen and Serge have an extremely artistic flair and the hotel is obviously a labour of love. It is enchanting and charming, a truly romantic place.
Your table for breakfast and dinner is adorned with petals and your food is presented with passion and creative flair, very tasty.
Now and again we had difficulty with communication but certainly Eileen’s command of English was greater than ours of French.
We took the half board option including breakfast and three course dinner. The food was wonderful and Eileen’s home made papaya chutney served with sesame coated tuna was amazing. One of the best dishes on our island hopping trip.
Dinner was usually taken at 7 and we had finished by 8, as the hotel was quiet whilst we were there, six guests at the most. After dinner it was fairly difficult to obtain a cocktail from the bar as the other guests had retired to their rooms for the evening and we often had to look for someone to serve a cocktail. When we did get service we felt we were an inconvenience. We did find that in all four properties visited, other guests had retired for the evening fairly early, and this would not suit everyone.
Would we return? With charming accommodation, beautifully cooked and presented food, why would we not? On our final night we were presented with a glass of champagne and a selection of toiletries from the beautiful island of Moorea.
This hotel is a much better choice than the chain hotels, with personal service and plenty of character.
Well done, Eileen and Serge, and the team for creating something beautiful and magical. A special thank you to Sindy, Mateata and Maheata who looked after us at breakfast and dinner and decorated our table and room beautifully. An extremely romantic place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FenuaMoorea, Gérant at Fenua Mata'i'oa, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments. You were right to note that the bar service in the evening could be later . I think so and I 'll make sure that now the bar will be operational in the evening. But believe me, it was not an inconvenience for us to serve you cocktails in the evening and it really bothers me that you have had this feeling. Anyway, I'll make note to all staff . Your point is interesting and will improve the service. While it is true that in Polynesia, 8 pm is late hour .... we must take into account the fact that our visitors might want to better enjoy their evenings and especially not having the feeling that there is an inconvenient . We are here to serve you and we must to answer all your requests. Thank you again for choosing the Fenua Mata'i'oa for your stay in Moorea. It was a great pleasure for us to welcome you and we are pleased to have contributed to the success of your stay in Polynesia. Eileen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

The best hotel in Moorea. Eileen will welcome you like you wouldn't believe and Serge is the best cook we had during our 3-week stay in Polynesia. The Princess Lokelani suite is the best if you're lucky enough to get it. The hotel is wonderful, location is the best on the island. Don't think too much, skip the big resorts and go there, you can not find better.

Room Tip: The Princess Lokelani suite if you are lucky enough to get it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

This is a really unique place. Great for a romantic couples stay. Its a small property, in the back of a neighborhood, on the water. I think they have about 7 rooms. You enter through the gate and are immediately surrounded in the trees and garden. We were here for one night before heading to the four seasons in Bora Bora. The location on the water is beautiful. We didnt stay long but really enjoyed our one night here and dinner and drinks.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fenua Mata'i'oa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fenua Mata'i'oa

Address: Village Tiahura | PK 25.5 C/Mer, Haapiti 98729, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Moorea > Haapiti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Haapiti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at edge of a turquoise lagoon, in a garden tropical paradise, hotel Fenua Mata'i'oa is an unique place in Polynesia. Luxury and original suites, a fairy tale decor for a dream holiday ..... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fenua Mata'I'oa Moorea/Haapiti

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fenua Mata'i'oa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.