We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Worth the Drive!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lighthouse Picnics

Lighthouse Picnics
Lighthouse Road, Ferryland, Newfoundland and Labrador A0A 2H0 , Canada
709-363-7456
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 4 attractions in Ferryland
Type: Lighthouses
Attraction Details
Doha
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Well Worth the Drive!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We drove down from St.John's and we were glad we did. It was a stunning drive. When we got there the lighthouse restaurant was closed, but we had our own little pic nic. If you're driving down, stop at Tim Horton's to get your coffee in the city. There is surprisingly no Tim's around here. Great little hike out to the lighthouse. An amazing little spot, check it out!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Breathtaking!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

This is what travel in Canada is all about. Easy drive to Ferryland from St. John's, then a casual walk leading back in time to this resplendent lighthouse. The aged building is charming, the people warm and welcoming and the food fresh and tasty. Enjoying it all from a blanket on the hillside, complete with the forever view across the Atlantic, the icing on the cake. There is no better way to spend an afternoon. And the gingerbread dessert...wow!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Simply Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Each summer cannot go by without a visit to this best kept secret in Newfoundland. I hope it doesn't stay too much of a secret and it deserves every tourists and local persons attention. The walk is heavenly and good good for the soul. The food is so fresh, so tasty, and the portions just right. The staff are beyond friendly. The views are absolutely stunning. It's worth the 45 minute drive from St. John's. You will not be disappointed!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

The lighthouse picnic in Ferryland was one of the highlights of our Newfoundland trip. The food was absolutely divine, the weather was gorgeous, the people were friendly, and the view was unbeatable (we even saw whales!) If you are planning on visiting Ferryland or nearby areas, do yourself a favour and reserve a picnic (yes, resereve - we went mid-July and our B&B host told us they were now booked into mid-August. No biggie, as there is no cost to reserve a spot! Just give your name). While a bit pricey (I think ours was about $24.00 each), it is absolutely, without a doubt, worth it (all local food, prepared fresh at the lighthouse. Where else can you get that!?)

Bring your camera, a book, and give yourself a few hours (yes, hours!) to enjoy this breathtaking spot. You won't be disappointed!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Delightfully, delicious experience!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

I had attempted to visit a couple of times last year and didn't make it due to the weather not co-operating but this summer I finally arrived at the Ferryland Lighthouse Picnic and it was amazing!! The meal was very fresh and pleasantly presented for a price of $25. My friend and I both had the seafood sandwich which was very tasty. We had pasta salad and the freshest lemonade ever. I had orange cranberry scone for dessert and friend had cheesecake muffin, both were delish!! We relaxed on our blanket and enjoyed the view of the whales and fishing boat passing by as we savoured every morsel of our wonderful meal!! After lunch we walked around the area, then toured the lighthouse and made our way back to the car. It was a very relaxing afternoon. I would certainly recommend the Lighthouse Picnic. You won't be disappointed!!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lighthouse Picnics also viewed

Ferryland, Newfoundland
Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada
 
Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada
Twillingate, Newfoundland
 

Been to Lighthouse Picnics? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lighthouse Picnics, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Lighthouse Picnics to your Saves list