We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I echo the good reviews” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Beach Studios

Save Saved
You added Sunset Beach Studios to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Sunset Beach Studios
L.G. Smith Blvd. 486, Malmok Beach, Aruba   |  
Hotel amenities
Syracuse NY
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“I echo the good reviews”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed in Ocean 1 which i recommend. We loved the location away from the crowds and near wonderful beaches. If you are looking for simple, all the amenities you need in a smaller place, this is for you. If you want more luxury than it isn't. Our room was comfortable (AC worked great when we needed it) and the kitchen well equipped. It did not have indoor seating area but we never needed it with the wonderful deck which was covered so we even had shelter during brief rain storms. Sunsets were gorgeous. We had a car because we like to explore, but the Beach Bus ran frequently and stopped right at Sunset. There are taxi's, too to bring you back from dinner out.

Room Tip: The front rooms were great. The large Ocean studio looked REALLY nice but we didn't see inside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    151
    41
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
26
137
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We recently stayed at the Sunset over Christmas and New Year. I had done a lot of research before I decided booking at the Sunset. Given that the holidays is the high season in the Caribean, prices at the Sunset were very reasonable. Reviews were overall very good and I have to say that we were not disappointed with what received both in terms of location, room and amenities. Our room offered everything we needed and was very clean. JP, Eve and staff were always accomodating and very pleasant hosts. The pool and hot tub offered a great way to relax while reading a book or having a drink. It is perfect for relaxation and enjoying a quiet holiday which exactly what we were looking for. I still have a vivid memory of the blue sky, lush vegetation and the sound of the wind which relaxes and easily put you to sleep. We rented a car for ease of travel but could have very well taken the bus which seems to runs fairly regularly. Overall, we were very pleased and would not hesitate to recommend it to those seeking a quiet holiday.

Room Tip: My tip: do a good research when looking for rooms. Do not rely on pictures on official websites. Ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

JP and Eve, the owners, were very friendly and helpful and went out of their way for us . On our last day, they let us check out late, keep our stuff in the office, hang out by the pool, and even shower in the laundry room before we left. The rooms are not fancy but very clean and comfortable and everyone has their own outdoor eating area. There are bbq grills in the courtyard for guest use too. The office has snorkel equipment, aqua socks, and body boards for rent for a fair price and will even let you borrow a cooler. We felt that they thought of everything we might need and were happy to help.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland, Maryland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

If you are looking for a quite getaway with clean rooms and friendly staff at a reasonable rate, Sunset Beach is the place to stay in Aruba. You don't have all the amenities you would in a high-rise hotel, but the peace and quite and friendly service more than makes up for that. The owners will go out of their way to accommodate you. Eve even drove us to a restaurant in her own car the first day we got there! Having a car is helpful, but for travels during the day, a bus stops right in front!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed 9 days in Ocean 2, 6 days in Garden 6 over the 2012 Christmas holidays. Hosts were great, JP always had time to talk with us, all their suggestions were perfect for us. We like quiet locations, away from resorts, and near snorkeling, this had all that at a great value. Ocean 2 was wonderful with views of the water, but wasn't available for the entire time (understandably more expensive than the garden units). Only minutes from several beaches and snorkel sites, high rise and low rise restaurants, and downtown, so you're away from it all, but close to it all. If we ever go back, there is no other place we would even consider.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MICHIGAN
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Pros: pretty sunset, nice palm trees, clean pool nice staff

Cons: you definately need a car, bring water shoes because there isn't a beach AT ALL in front of the place so you have to be mobile unless you stay by the small pool unable to see the water, the bed is so hard, this place hasn't been updated since the 80's, nobs were missing on the dressers (if not they were ready to fall off). Overpriced for these very run downed rooms.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolcottville, Indiana, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Sunset Beach was wonderful. JP, Eve and all the staff were great! Our studio was just perfect and the sunsets were awesome! The location is perfect for a quiet get-a-way but just minutes from the night life at the casinos! If you are planning a trip to Aruba, we would highly recommend staying at Sunset Beach - we stayed in Ocean 1 and would not change a thing about our stay!

Room Tip: Be sure to check out the Ocean front rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sunset Beach Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Beach Studios

Also Known As:
Sunset Beach Studios Hotel Malmok Beach
Sunset Beach Studios Hotel
Sunset Beach Studios Aruba/Malmok Beach
Address: L.G. Smith Blvd. 486, Malmok Beach, Aruba
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Malmok Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty lodging in Malmok Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunset Beach Studios combines Caribbean beauty and tranquility with Dutch hospitality and cleanliness. 10 studio style units and 1 Oceanview house (w/2, 3 or 4 bedrooms) are set around a flowering tropical garden with swimming pool and jacuzzi, each with its own patio area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sunset Beach Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Beach Studios, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.