We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely friendly guest house with a great room.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moira Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Moira Guest House to your Saves list
Moira Guest House
65 Main Street, Moira BT67 0LQ , Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Moira B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Letterkenny, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A lovely friendly guest house with a great room.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

We ( a family of 3) stayed at this guest house in August 2013. We were greeted by a lovely friendly gentleman who insisted on bringing us a pot of tea and biscuits to our room. Our room was very spacious and clean. The staff couldn't have been any more helpful. Breakfast was very tasty and nothing was too much trouble to them. I would advise anyone to stay here if looking a guest house close to m1.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
13
4
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ledbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed in room 6 and room 4. Beautiful, clean rooms, that are well cared for. Well stocked tea trays with tea, hot chocolate, coffee and a selection of chocolate biscuit treats were a welcome sight after a lot of travelling. The staff where all very friendly and helpful and made our stay very comfortable. Nothing is too much trouble for them. There was a varied choice of breakfast on offer but for me it had to be the delicious Ulster fry. It is true what they say on their website lol. The entrance into their private carpark really isn't for the faint hearted! It is a very tight squeeze indeed but once through the archway it is spacious and convenient to unload your luggage. I'd like to say thankyou very much to all the staff and keep up the good work.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Book this as I was at a wedding at nearby edenmore country club. Excellent value for money compared to the above, staff were so helpful and friendly with a relaxed atmosphere, rooms were great as was the whole experience. Would recommend to anybody.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

All round great service, comfortable bed, nice cooked breakfast with all the extras like cereal and juice. The family room we had was very spacious. Fantastic friendly hosts who could not do enough to make sure we had everything we needed.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

My parents stayed in Moria Guest House for four nights in mid Aug. They had a very warm welcome from Tim who was a fantastic host throughout there stay. There room was very clean and comfortable and the breakfast was great. Without they would stay here again.
Thanks Rob

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Forks, North Dakota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I waited too long to book a hotel in Belfast and the last minute availability was very pricey! This was a very nice surprise! I'd travelled through Moira before and it is a quaint village with a cute variety of shops, cafe's and restaurants. I'd never thought of staying there as opposed to Belfast. The guesthouse is very easy to spot on the only main road in Moira, it is a convenient location just off the main motorway.

The best parts: the room was huge, clean and modern looking without being overly modern. It was clean and comfy. The staff were wonderfully helpful and welcoming. It was fully booked that night however it was hard to too as it was very quiet. Wifi was readily available in our room as well as in a lounge at the front of the house.

Not expecting: The car park disaster. I like having a car park available, it makes life easier when traveling with a car! The description did state there was a free car park available, and there was. However I didn't count on it being a Georgian property with the typical Georgian 'coach house' bridged drive way. It was a stressful few minutes of trying to navigate the very narrow tunnel to get to a slight bend and through a slightly larger tunnel to the back parking area! The car fit, however it was VERY tight getting through mostly due to the awkward angle you're forced to use from pulling off the street. That said, the car park is very secure and locked at night...a bonus in any area! Later we left for a drive and opted not to park back there again instead of using one of the available public parking spots in front of the house.

Breakfast was great and the options were plentiful. The coffee was amazing and the breakfast room had nice modern touches including fresh flowers at each table. Another nice touch was a few sweets on our coffee/tea tray in our room!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mold, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

From the outset the welcome is courteous and attentive. Tim, who met me at the door, even brought up a menu for the pub (Pretty Mary's) across the road when I indicated that I might like to eat there.
I love these old Georgian town houses. The Moira Guesthouse is suitably modernised and much more pleasing to stay in than the plasterboard and plastic modern alternatives. No horrible stuffy double glazing or air conditioning.
'Guesthouse' is the correct description, not quite a hotel, nevertheless a step up from a B&B, with 10 rooms, it's own reception, dining room and guest lounge.
My en-suite room (no.5) was clean and comfortable. The dining room would benefit from a little 'freshen up', but the breakfast was great.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moira Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moira Guest House

Address: 65 Main Street, Moira BT67 0LQ , Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Moira
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Moira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This fully refurbished Georgian Property is in the heart of the historic village of Moira, Lisburn and is within walking distance of restaurants, boutique shops and award winning bars. 10 excellent En suite rooms with Powerful showers, Free Wi-Fi and a breakfast to remember..Moira Village is an excellent base to explore Northern Ireland and is just 15 minutes from Belfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Moira Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moira Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.