We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not your typical B&B!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ballycanal Self Catering

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Ballycanal Self Catering to your Saves list
Ballycanal Self Catering
2a Glenavy Road, Moira, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Moira B&B and Inns
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
621 reviews 621 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 125 cities Reviews in 125 cities
307 helpful votes 307 helpful votes
“Not your typical B&B!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed at the Ballycanal Manor on a friend's recommendation. We arrived at the B&B at 5 pm and the place looked deserted! Nobody was there to greet us and a note was left on the door with the keys under the mat. Not your typical B&B where the owners either live in the house or have someone greeting guest arriving at "normal" hours. I totally understand if we arrived before 6 am or after 10pm, but 5pm in the afternoon? We then proceeded to our rooms (2 couples) to change, shower and go out to dinner. The owners then showed up (around 630ish) and were nice enough to guide us to where we had reservation for dinner later that evening. Very nice younger couple with a couple of young kids.

On our return to the B&B (around 11pm) later that evening, we proceeded to the living room, had some drinks and watched a movie. Again, the place was deserted and felt a little creepy. And I say that because as we were enjoying the movie (around midnight), some man banged at the window real hard and totally scared the living hell out of the four of us. I then opened the front door and 5 people that were part of a wedding party walked in telling us that they were staying here and lost their keys!??? They tried to reach the owners (in vain since it was past midnight) and waited in the living room with us. We then felt "intruded" on as they were all real drunk from their evening and proceeded back to our rooms. We could barely get any sleep that night as all of them were just very loud and obnoxious. It is obviously not the owner's fault that they lost their keys and that those people had no manners, but nonetheless, you expect to be able to have a good night of sleep when you pay over $110/night for a B&B.

The next day, after a very good breakfast, the owners were in a hurry to head to church and were rushing us with the payment (around 10am, even though check out was at noon) even though they said; no rush! But it felt like that song; You don't have to go, but you cant stay here...kind of deal! We then paid our dues and left with a very sour taste in our mouth after spending a wonderful time in the south of Ireland, where the hospitality was at a different level!

So in recap, the rooms themselves were nice, the breakfast was very good and the owners were nice, but it just felt like they had no idea on how to run a B&B!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    3
    2
    4
    1
See reviews for
7
5
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful location with great views. Lovely, warm welcoming staff who will do anything for you. Lovely accommodation with comfortable beds and lovely seating areas. The perfect place for a family holiday. We will definitely be booking to come back again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
craigavon
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

My new daughter-in -law booked the Ballycanal guest house for the night of her wedding as they were getting married nearby, unfortunately two days before the wedding she received a phone call to say there was a double booking and the room was no longer available, luckily the Seagoe Hotel offered them the bridal suite at the same price Ballycanal were charging. Well done Seagoe, but never the less we feel Ballycanal were not very professional .

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bretagne, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Ballycanal manor is very well situaded. You are near the train station and you can go where you want. The owners Christina and Theresa are very nice and the place is lovely : the cottages and B and B too. You can have a very good cooked breakfast in the B and B if you want. I have a very good memory of my stay there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

I revisited this cottage after a wonderful experience this year. When my wife accidentally locked her keys in the car (and of course the cottage keys were in it too), she went way out of our way to help us get into the cottage, made several phone calls to the AA and rental car service, drove us to the park, etc. Cottage #3 is very bright and roomy, with great views and large and well-equipped kitchen. It is perfect for a family.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

I stayed here as we had a wedding in the area - the area itself is very small with not much happening there are a couple of nice shops but it really is kind of blink and you miss it! Not very many b&b s here so choose this one as it was 4 star - bit of a mistake. The curtains were not fitting properly actually hanging off in places and the carpet was just old and tired as were most of the fittings. The grout in the bathroom could do with a refresh as it just looks really bad. We stayed in the main house - very mousty so very glad that we just arrived showered and went to the wedding! I would rate this as a 2 star b&b.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

Stayed 2 nights in the Guest House and to be honest that was enough. It is OK but far from as luxurious as I had expected from their website.One of the curtains was hanging off the wall, the heating only seemed to come on for about 10 minutes twice a day at inappropriate times and the bath and shower gels were in dispensers - very tacky.

On the plus side the staff were nice and the breakfast wasn't too bad,there was a good well functioning shower and it was quiet in spite of being not far from a busy motorway.

The proximity to the railway station was great (Bangor-Portadown line with subsequent connections to Newry and Dublin).

Unfortunately if you don't have a car it is a good mile's walk into Moira village (worth visiting once!)There is a nice gift shop and bakery and a couple of interesting 'boutiques' but the fish and chips I had from the 'traditional' fish and chip takeaway were rather tasteless.There is also a Boots, a SuperValu and a Centra supermarket.

The Cottages, though a bit expensive, are better - large, bright, backing onto the river/canal where you can go for walks.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ballycanalmanor, Manager at Ballycanal Self Catering, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Dear Guest
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review we appreciate all comments from our guests.

I was however disappointed to hear you did not fully enjoy your stay with us in the guesthouse. It is unfortunate you did not bring any of your concerns to my attention whilst you were staying with us. If I was made aware of the above problems I would have happily resolved them there and then for you.

The timings of the heating can be adjusted quickly and very easily. I have in the past adjusted heat settings to suit individual preferences of guests.

Upon check-out of your room we noticed that a single curtain hook had broken which caused the tail end of the right hand side curtain to hang loose. The curtain was not like this upon check-in and it was fixed the day you checked out. I apologise that this was not spotted sooner, again had we known this had happened we would have immediately fixed it.

Moira village is an award winning village which is very popular as a day trip destination for residents throughout Northern Ireland. We have always found tourists very much enjoy the village especially during the summer when the flowers are in full bloom...the coffee shops are also a favourite with many visitors!

Our self catering cottages on average cost as little as £17 per person per night this includes heating and 20% vat. Previous guests of the cottages have both commented and reviewed our self catering cottages as 'excellent' value for money.

We greatly appreciate your positive comments regarding the quality of service you received and indeed the quality of breakfasts. All the team at Ballycanal work very hard to make our guests experience as enjoyable as possible and it really pleases us to hear all our hard work pays off. Many thanks for your custom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ballycanal Self Catering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballycanal Self Catering

Address: 2a Glenavy Road, Moira, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Moira
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Moira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4* Accommodation at a 5* Location. Our 4* NITB approved Guest Accommodation and Self Catering Cottages is excellently located at M1 Junction 9, Moira/Airport roundabout. We are situated 10 minutes by car to Lisburn and Craigavon, 20 minutes to Belfast International Airport, 30 minutes from Belfast Harbour, 40 minutes from Larne Ferry Terminal. In addition we are 3 minutes walk from Moira Train Station and15 minutes walk from Moira Village.Ballycanal Manor is ideally situated overlooking the Lagan Navigation Canal. The unique canal side location provides a perfect resource for peaceful walks, fishing and cycling. Our rooms are all ensuite with free Wi-Fi access, digital plasma T.V, Sky sports and movies, DVD player and tea/coffee making facilities. Guests can avail of complementary cool filtered water and use of a private guest lounge to enjoy family get-togethers and/or business meetings. Self Catering Cottages consist of five, two storey houses, built in a courtyard style and designed in a contemporary fashion providing bright and spacious living areas. The open plan living/dining and kitchen area have two sets of patio doors which lead to paved patio area with landscaped walled gardens, picnic areas with BBQ facilities and private car parking. Disabled cottage available. Room’s ensuite. Fully equipped kitchens. Awarded 4 Star NITB classification.Our accommodation is an alternative to hotel stays offering you freedom, peace and privacy, at a lower cost. Whether your stay is for business or pleasure, a warm and friendly welcome is promised. FREE Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ballycanal Self Catering reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ballycanal Self Catering, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.