We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good pub food and selection of local ciders...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Anchor Tintern

The Anchor Tintern
Tintern, Tintern NP16 6TE, Wales
01291 689582
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 15 Restaurants in Tintern
Price range: $8 - $23
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great location, good pub food and selection of local ciders...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Fairly busy spot but has the room and enough outdoor tables. Nice and clean inside. Great view of the abbey and good pub food (nothing fancy but the pork roast was better than normal) and good selection of local ciders. Severn ciders are quite good. I'd definitely come back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    98
    23
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lanark, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The view 'wins the day'”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

A definite tourist hotspot on a sunny bank-holiday weekend

Beautiful setting in the Wye Valley. Stunning view from the beer garden of the Abbey. A great place to stop and enjoy the scenery

Parking is limited and remember to bring your £3 payment (you can reclaim this)

Had food in the Anchor - average to good pub food that I'd rate 5 or 6 out of 10

Not a gastro pub, but good and wholesome

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We were starving when we got to Tintern, so before we went to the Abbey fancied a nice substantial lunch and The Anchor fulfilled! I had the crispiest freshly friend hake in batter with delicious chips and homemade mushy peas and tartare i've ever had and my husband had a wonderful beef bourginon type stew with mash - very snug and relaxing place to eat with lovely staff and great food. Or you can eat in the Garden Room which is more of a tea room with sandwiches, baked potatoes and lovely cakes! Great place to eat while visiting Tintern!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Very pleasant, we will return”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Went here on a Monday evening so it was quite quiet and sat in the bar area which was very pleasant. The menu was varied and there was something to suit all tastes. We had the Tria of Pork and Braised Beef, both were yummy. Service was good, (but it was quiet), nice local ales. There seemed to be different seating areas, bar, conservatory and restaurant. I would come back but from reading the other reviews would avoid busy times (Sunday lunch, bank holidays etc.)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“delicious food, reasonably priced.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We ate here twice it was so good- on the Friday evening we had 3 courses each, all of which was really delicious. Friendly staff, very good service and reasonably priced. It was so good, we went back the next day and had lunch- which was again, delicious and good value. highly recommend it!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Anchor Tintern also viewed

Tintern, Monmouthshire
Tintern, Monmouthshire
 
Tintern, Monmouthshire
 

Been to The Anchor Tintern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Anchor Tintern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.