We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice coffee” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Anchor Tintern

The Anchor Tintern
Tintern, Tintern NP16 6TE, Wales
01291 689582
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 15 Restaurants in Tintern
Price range: $8 - $23
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Bournemouth
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Nice coffee”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Nice setting next to the abbey ruins. Service a bit slow and they do need to clear tables. But you get money off if you present the car parking ticket.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    98
    23
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“A Pleasurable Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Helpful staff and delicious food. Characterful venue. We ate there both evenings. Would thoroughly recommend it.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Best burger, ever,”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

We ate here on a very busy bank holiday Monday. We struggled to find a table and ended up in the bar near the kitchen. The queue for the bar snaked past us all the way to the door. It wasn't a great spot, but after ordering, our food arrived in about 10 minutes and we were suitably distracted. We both ordered the burger, and what a burger it was. The best ever in my mind, juicy and tasty. It wasn't cheap, but at £9.95, it was a good value, delicious and filling meal.

I have read a few grumbles about the fact that you need to pay to park at Tintern. If you park in the Angel car park you can redeem your ticket against food and drinks bought there. It's a good deal, as lets face it you pay to park everywhere. Parking at the Angel is the same cost as the other car parks. If you want free parking, park by the river and walk to the abbey. You can choose where to park and what you're willing to pay. The parking arrangements should not detract from the good food and service at the Anchor.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Holy burgery!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Burger fans only need read on. Veges beware.

We stopped here on our way home from a weekend away. Went there for lunch today in fact, and was so impressed with the food that I felt moved to write a review straight away. It's lovely day today, so at 12.30 the pub was heaving, inside and out, but we managed to find a table next to the enormous horse powered apple crusher (sadly no longer in operation). The pub was well decorated and being attended to by an army of waiting staff, which was just as well. The queue of people waiting to place their orders nearly reached the door at one point. However, they seemed to have a good system which was working well for them, as our drinks and food both found their way to our table in reasonable time.

Now I'm slightly predictable and usually go for the burger, and stuck to form here, going for the Anchor Burger from the top of the lunch menu. I was not disappointed. Neither was my wife and she's not the biggest fan of the humble burger. It was awesome. I don't know what they added to it (other than the capers which were still whole and delicious) but whatever it was, it worked marvellously. It was cooked to perfection, juicy and tasty in every mouthful, which was bound to include some crispy bacon, tomato relish and fresh sliced tomato, lettuce and a hint of the Boursin which had been spread lightly on the top of the focaccia bun. All together a winning combination, and head and shoulders above the burger from Jamie Oliver's restaurant in Bath. I would go back to Tintern just for the burger - stuff the magnificent and striking abbey in whose shadow the Anchor is nestled.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fine lunch, great service on a busy weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

After spending a couple hours on a windy Saturday morning Easter weekend seeing Tintern Abbey's majestic ruins, we walked over to the Anchor ready for a hearty lunch. Happy to find it open midday. Could have been seated quickly in the new garden room but preferred to wait a bit (maybe 10 min) for a table in the older building. We had been here once before in 2003, when it was a pub with a small restaurant and recalled having some great ale and cider (restaurant wasn't open at the time), so definitely looked forward to dining this visit. Partner had a fine mushroom-ale beef pie with plenty of veggies on side while I had an 8oz burger with Boursin cheese and bacon, everything delicious. Great cider on draught. Friendly server who filled us in on all the renovations. Terrific place for lunch, dinner, or just a fine ale. Hope to return before another 10 years!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Anchor Tintern also viewed

Tintern, Monmouthshire
Tintern, Monmouthshire
 
Tintern, Monmouthshire
 

Been to The Anchor Tintern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Anchor Tintern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.