We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Stay & Pivotal info from hosts to guide our trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tintern Old Rectory B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Tintern Old Rectory B&B to your Saves list
Tintern Old Rectory B&B
Main Road, Tintern NP16 6SG, Wales   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
ONLINE BOOKING
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Tintern
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Michigan
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Delightful Stay & Pivotal info from hosts to guide our trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

May 11-12. Our first foray into Wales, after the magic of Stonehenge, began with a stay in Tintern at the Old Rectory B&B. Reviews gave us a good feeling and it turned out right. Parked on the river climbed the stone steps, thru the beautiful garden (see pic of dew-drenched Bleeding Hearts) and warmly welcomed by Anika and later Ian. Traveling in a threesome we had a terrific family suite with 2 bedrooms and a shared private bath. Very cozy and nice parlor as well as breakfast room downstairs for guests. Huge long manor house tub and lots of hot water to soak in. Talks with Anika and Ian about everything truly influenced our travel plans in the best of ways. We stayed an extra day toured local history sites, the abbey, & ate at 2 top restaurants they recommended - the Wye Valley Hotel (Beef & Yorkshire Pudding!!) and , especially good, the Anchor Tavern right at Tintern Abbey. Called up the Wordsworth poem on our mobile and read it aloud while sitting in the Tavern looking over at the abbey ruins. You just gotta do it to get that Wordsworth jolt of "spontaneous outpouring of genuine emotion". It's so much more than the sappy sentimental emotion that Romantic Period poetry has been turned into. The best, besides our political discussions about UK & USA, was Ian's breakfast. Truly the best of our whole 15 day trip. Smoked salmon omelets AND killer fried potatoes + best Bkfst meat in the valley AND organic bread. Anika had so many juice choices, I hated to make her recite them but the last one was my choice. Warm couple. warm house. Talks there influenced us to venture further and do more in Wales by heading up to Betws-y-Coed and to climb Mt Snowdon (assisted by train) - WOW! what an experience. Crazy if you don't stay at the Rectory B&B and get to know Anika & Ian. They love what they're doing and are quintessential hosts sharing the hospitality duties in all ways. JUST A NOTE - I know we are not supposed to disparage other reviewers personally but generally can I say I feel puzzled and a bit frustrated when other reviewers, having no tolerance for pets, choose to stay at a pet-friendly property and then degrade it or giving it a "1" overall, based on scores of "3&4". If I research a place which clearly has dogs and allows them to stay, and I choose to stay anyway, is it fair or honorable to dis the property as a result of my intolerance? Damp dog smell can result from a really good bath they've just had. I open my window and air things out. Ian and Anika's place was clean. The dogs did not have the run of the house and reluctantly Anika brought them into the guest parlor because my wife missed our dogs and wanted to meet them. It makes me sad to witness careless unfairness and illogic in our reviews when the owners' livelihood is influenced by our report's honesty and accuracy. Pardon me if I offend anyone for pointing this out in this case of a well-kept pet-friendly lodging. I do trust that most folks reading the plethora of positive reviews know how to "sort things out" as the British so politely say. Plan to stay at Tintern a few days. As Ian will point out, there is a great deal to explore here historically, culturally and in the scenery. It's not just a "pass through" like we were treating it.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    69
    5
    5
    9
See reviews for
31
171
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Marshall, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

This is our second review of the Old Rectory (first visited in 2009) and our second stay was even better than our first one. When planning our UK trip, we decided that even with an early morning landing at Heathrow and a 120 mile drive to Tintern, the Wye Valley and Ian and Anika's B&B had to be our first destination. Their warm welcome and hospitality made it all worthwhile.

Ian and Anika are tremendous hosts...they are very eager to help with recommendations and ensuring that your stay there is very memorable. We had a comfortable ensuite room overlooking the valley and the breakfasts were indeed awesome! We truly can't wait to return there again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Anika and Ian make you feel welcome as soon as you walk through the front door. We stayed in May this year and the view of The Wye Valley was magnificent from our bedroom and the breakfast room. Our family room was very spacious and comfortable with a kingsize bed and a double bed in an adjoining room. We would highly recommend The Old Rectory and there were definitely no doggy smells!. Breakfast was excellent and plentiful, we even ate Kate Humble's eggs from her nearby farm. Thank you Anika and Ian.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendocino, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We had a wonderful stay! Anica and Ian are interesting people with whom we had several pleasant conversations. Anika was very hospitable and congenial. Our dinner consisted of Hake and beef both superbly prepared. Breakfast which was cold smoked fish was especially yummy. I recommend the Old Rectory highly.

John R.
Mendocino California

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

My wife and I stayed in The Old Rectory in May this year and were made to feel most welcome by our wonderful hosts. The house is delightful. Our room beautifully decorated, bright and airy with views of the Wye river which curiously reverses direction with the tide. Breakfast was wholesome and generous. Incidentally, contrary to the comments of a previous reviewer, we did not encounter any smell of dog. I am not a dog lover and I am particularly sensitive to doggy smells. During our stay there was none. Would I recommend The Old Rectory ? - certainly I would. Will we stay there again?. If ever we are touring in that region we will make a point of organising our trip to include a stopover at The Old Rectory. Regards.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We loved our stay at The Old Rectory. The hosts Ian and Anika went out of their way to make our stay pleasant; we requested halal food and they catered superbly for us.

The B&B is wonderfully decorated, very much in the spirit of the time it was originally built. We felt as if we were living in a house from the 19th century but with modern facilties!

This kind of experience only comes from people who really care for their guests much beyond their duty,
Thankyou Ian and Anika,

Mehvish & Jawad

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

We booked this B&B because it had good feedback; accepted our two dogs and has a very good food pub a few doors down.
I can recommend Tintern Old Rectory on all counts in particular the local pub has very good food, lets our dogs sleep while we eat and has great beer! Kind Regards.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tintern Old Rectory B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tintern Old Rectory B&B

Address: Main Road, Tintern NP16 6SG, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Tintern
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Tintern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming, gracious 4 star Bed & Breakfast overlooking the River Wye, on the main road in Tintern Village. Exquisite river views, old-world charm, warm hospitality, lovely en-suite rooms, sitting room, wood fires, croquet & garden areas. Set in the Wye Valley ‘Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty’, nearby magical Tintern Abbey, enjoy beautiful, tranquil scenery, legendary walking trails.Delicious, locally sourced breakfasts a specialty, freshly made bread, organic eggs, milk & produce, great bacon, sausage, lovely kippers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Tintern Old Rectory B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tintern Old Rectory B&B Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tintern Old Rectory B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.