We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A culinary delight...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Horn of Plenty

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Horn of Plenty to your Saves list
Horn of Plenty
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gulworthy | Nr Tavistock, Devon, Gulworthy PL19 8JD, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
DBB just £149 per room!
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gulworthy
Calstock, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A culinary delight...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We recently attended a Seafood Evening at the Horn of Plenty. Scott Paton, the head chef, was a delight to meet and Scotts youthful, enthusiatic and comprehensive approach to the demonstration was ever so inspiring. The Horn of Plenty is the perfect venue to experience such culinary expertise with it's glorious restaurant views over the Tamar Valley and attentive waiting staff.

We will most certainly return.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    47
    18
    6
    1
See reviews for
39
255
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Horrabridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

We spent a lovely evening with friends, sampling their wedding menu. Staff were attentive, knowledgeably and friendly. Food was stunning and wine was also very good, we have promised ourselves to return as soon as possible. Wonderful setting for a wedding or a weekend get away destination.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plymouth
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Having recently visited the Horn of Plenty or the first time this year, I was please to see that its exceptional standards remained the norm.
For those yet to visit, you will not be disappointed. The Hotel itself is beautifully appointed overlooking a stunning wooded valley, with Cornwall in the distance.
The principle delight of a visit to the Horn of Plenty is that nothing is too much trouble for the staff who without fail, are friendly and attentive.
The restaurant matches the overall high quality of the Hotel and on this visit, delivered as it has previously.
Dinner was in the region of £50 per head and for the quality of the overall experience, defiantly good value. I think those who complain about portion size or cost don’t necessarily appreciate that this is a fine dining restaurant with two AA rosettes, in a stunning location.
From the moment we arrived at the Horn of Plenty, everything from the friendly service to the elegant surroundings was perfect, making an unbeatable dining experience in this part of the world.

This was not our first visit and without doubt, will not be our last.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Delightful place for a country wedding. Quite a cosy, welcoming feel... Thinking it's the country home of our hosts. Food was great. Service was wonderful. Thoroughly enjoyed the Cornish ceilidh. Loved the common rooms - the drawing room where guests can chill for a ceilidh break. The library was provided as a place for my children to have a rest.

It is no wonder that this place is well-known all over the West of England.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Recently ate at the Horn. First time back since new ownership. Place the same as usual, lovely house and setting. Dinner menu at £49 for 3 courses, not cheap. Food was cooked to a reasonably good standard, but, the portions were very small. My companions starter arrived and we thought it was a free appetiser until my order was placed on the table. My main was duck breast, of which I was served 3 thin slices (1/3 of a duck breast) with two pieces of cardboard potato, veg and a teaspoon of jus. At £25-30 a main that is not acceptable in my opinion.
Service was good as usual, let down by overpricing i'm afraid. Maybe the kitchen was low on duck that evening!! have to say overall a bit average.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed here this weekend and had a lovely time. The service was excellent throughout our stay, attentive but not overbearing. We were fortunate to have our room upgraded and the room was really good and tastefully furnished. Dinner and breakfast both of a very high standard, and definately a highlight of our stay. Lovely romantic atmosphere and an ideal spot for a bit or rest, relaxation and luxury. Hope to return when we have our next celebration! Only negative was that the room was slightly too warm.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

This is the second time that we have spent our wedding anniversary at the Horn of Plenty and it didn't disappointment. The staff were attentive whilst not being too stuffy. The rooms are all individual and give a lovely boutique feel and were upgraded which was a nice extra. The attention to detail is never lacking, making this a perfect stay for any occasion. The only slight criticism on this particular stay was the length of time it took to be served our food for dinner. We appreciate that it was a Saturday night and quite busy but we waited forty five minutes from being seated for our starter to arrive........Not ideal but everything else was fab. Would recommend to all family and friends.

Room Tip: Rooms in main house are preferable to annex/cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Horn of Plenty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horn of Plenty

Address: Gulworthy | Nr Tavistock, Devon, Gulworthy PL19 8JD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Gulworthy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gulworthy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Horn of Plenty 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded "Small Hotel of the Year" in the 2014 Devon Tourism awards, The Horn of Plenty has been thrilling guests for over 40 years with some of the South West's very best food, drink and accommodation. This small Country House Hotel and Restaurant stands high on a hill, overlooking 5 acres of beautiful gardens and wild orchards, and beyond that, the breathtaking scenery of the Tamar Valley. 16 Stylishly furnished en-suite bedrooms offer outstanding comfort and luxury. Most have balconies overlooking the valley. The restaurant was awarded double gold in the 2014 "Taste of the West" awards, and "Best Fine Dining Restaurant in Devon" for 2012. It has 2 AA rosettes for outstanding food, with local provenance high on the agenda. Service is everything you'd hope for: warm, welcoming, friendly and helpful, yet always professional. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Venere, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Horn of Plenty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horn Of Plenty Hotel Gulworthy
Horn Of Plenty Tavistock
Horn Of Plenty Hotel Tavistock
Horn Of Plenty Gulworthy, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Horn of Plenty, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.