We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to get away from it all” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Oriental Village Chiang Mai

Save Saved
You added The Oriental Village Chiang Mai to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Oriental Village Chiang Mai
2.0 of 5 Specialty Resort   |   122 Moo 1 Thumbol On Klang | Chiangmai, Mae On 50130, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to get away from it all”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We spent a few nights at the Oriental Village. It is in a peaceful and idyllic location about 30 minutes from Chiang Mai. The restaurant on site makes a range of Thai and Western dishes for breakfast, lunch and dinner. There is a small store within walking or cycling distance (bikes available) if you require supplies. We spent most of the time relaxing by the pool or in the airconditioned bungalow.
We opted to rent a motorbike (scooter) to head into Chiang Mai and to Mae Rim for a day. They can also provide a shuttle into town if required.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    13
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
24
10
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Laid back, refreshing & away from noisy vehicles.
This is my type of a peaceful holiday.
Pickup / transfer at the airport was efficient although my flight was delayed by 30 minutes. That is AirAsia's consistent problem and that will be in another story.

Room-
Counted 14 bungalows in this resort .But, i think only 9 units are for the guest . This is good news for me as this means not many people.
Room is clean, good bed, strong box or safe in room,strong water pressure for the shower, DVD player, TV, satellite channel ( Thai style), wifi,hair dryer and mini bar.

Pool-
Pool is clean 3 times a day during my 8 nights stay in this resort.
Uses saline system as the water is salty and i do think this is good.

Backyard-
There is an open air training ground complete with floor cushion for those who are into karate , muay thai or any martial arts.

View-
Fantastic view. The hills, nearby orchard and front piece of paddy land.( i am told that during season it can be dry or wet paddy field)
Well maintained grass , garden and many banana trees.

Their " Mountain View Restaurant "
The food here is more of the home cooking type instead of restaurant style.
Not oily , not salty the fruits are super fresh . i wonder if Paulo serves durian too. And thank you for all the coffee & tea supplies.

Overall, i enjoyed my 9 days/8 nights in this resort.
Able to walk around the place and pool without clothing or minimal clothing just like my girl friend did.

Service-
All are very polite, non intrusive and will even ride a motorbike out of the resort just to get me some cigarette twice.
All my tours, excursion , Thai tradition culture show , in-house massage and transfer are done by Paulo.

Advice to visitors-
Do bring over some insect repellant for outdoor use and torch light.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

The only problem with our stay at the Oriental Village was that we only had one other guest to share it with! Some might say this was a bonus but it threw up a couple of problems which I think would not have occurred had there been more guests. First the food. There was too much on the menu for it to be really fresh - some i suspect was straight from the freezer. Not that anything was really bad but it was a bit tasteless and nothing to write home about. With so few people (it was out of season) it would have been better to have a very restricted menu (even just a choice of one or two chosen in the morning or night before) but with good, fresh and well cooked Thai food but i think maybe the usual chef was also not there. Second was the pool, which was too warm and cloudy. It needed attention but it costs money and there were no guests the following week.. Please don't be put off going though as i am sure it was just bad timing. The cabins are lovely, with both in and outdoor showers, comfy beds and a terrace overlooking the pool and the view of the hills. Paulo was very hospitable and made sure we had what we needed, including free use of bicycles to explore locally. He took us to the hot springs and the local caves (climb the hill to the top, the view is worth it!) and the Tiger Park which was an amazing experience (see my review). Oriental Village is a bit out of the way. Unless you have a car, getting to and from Chiang Mai will be difficult. It was 35 minutes drive from the night market to Oriental Village and getting a taxi proved difficult during the day -and expensive.

Room Tip: They're all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Previous review all all true, what a little paradise this is! Very nice bungalows just 20 yards from the pool. Opening your curtains when you awake.....nice view on the pool and all the nature. Very friendly owner Paolo, giving tips and driving you to the hotsprings or airport. Good choice of breakfast and dinner, served by friendly local staff. Also visit the tempels nearby!
Going to Chiang Mai = visiting Oriental Village!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

The environment is one of bliss and comfort for a city dweller!

You may be short of some of the creature comforts or necessities of a five star hotel or the convenience of everything at your doorstep, but then again this is not what this place is about, what you do get is comfort with all the basic necessities.

You will live in a serene environment surrounded by mountains and farms, listening to crickets at night and birds by day, you enjoy waking up each morning as day breaks, yearning to enjoy a new day relaxing by the pool, enjoying the sunshine, having a stroll in the relaxed environment or even exporting outside the resort, some of the surrounding attractions or local village life.

The clothes optional aspect just tops everything off as I'm sure that its is every naturists dream to be able to arrive with nothing more than the clothes on their backs and live in what I can only describe as Eden, to be able to roam round without being fenced in within high walls.

I most definitely recommend this place to anyone looking for a relaxing break away from the city, which is only 30 minutes away, but you probably won't want to go. Naturists looking to fulfill their dreams of living as nature intended, would have found their perfect locale.

The owner Paulo is most friendly, helpful and gratuitous. He adds a personal touch to everything and just make the say at much more perfect!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We chose this small resort to relax in the countryside outside of Chiang Mai. We were not disappointed. There are about a dozen bungalows, a small pool and a small restaurant. The view over the rice fields to the surrounding mountains is beautiful. The owner, Paulo, and his staff could not be more accommodating. The bungalows are clean and beautiful and the meals are good. If you have any needs at all, Paulo and staff are warm and generous and will be there to make sure your stay is everything you had hoped for.
The resort is clothing optional but that should not deter either naturists or textiles from staying there. Paulo is very good about making sure that everyone is comfortable. If you prefer to be mainly surrounded by one group or the other, Paulo will inform you about the clients expected during your stay.
Our stay at the Oriental Village was a highlight of our travels through southeast Asia. Whether you are a naturist or not, if you are looking for a relaxing stay in a small resort, we heartily recommend Oriental Village. If we are ever back near Chiang Mai, we will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We are climbers from Switzerland and spent our days on the beautiful cracks of Mae On. The Oriental Village Resort was the perfect place to stay. It's a 10 minutes ride from the cracks and offers what climbers like: relaxing atmosphere in beautiful nature, nice & clean bungalow, good & healthy food, motorbike/bicycle to rent, swimming pool to refresh and trees for slackline. Polo provides a very good service with little specials and French charm. His crew is friendly. We recommend the place for climbers who want to stay at a a easy going place in nature with some luxury. Informations about the climbing you find at Chiang Mai Rock Climbing Adventures. The climbing is also for beginners. Thank you Polo and see you again. Simone & Michael

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Oriental Village Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oriental Village Chiang Mai

Address: 122 Moo 1 Thumbol On Klang | Chiangmai, Mae On 50130, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Mae On
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty lodging in Mae On
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Oriental Village Chiang Mai 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunningly beautiful resort in the heart of nature embraced by rice fields and views of gorgeous mounts. Touch the untouchable fresh air, live the way the true villagers do. We serves you with smiles and friendliness.Our rooms are carefully created with our unique style, simple yet charming, suitable for your holiday..Orientalvillage is the first naturist resort in the north of thailand ,and is open for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your The Oriental Village Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oriental Village Chiang Mai Chiang Mai Province/Mae On, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oriental Village Chiang Mai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.