We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT CHOICE” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Heliotrope Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Heliotrope Hotel to your Saves list
Heliotrope Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vigla, Mytilene 81100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Mytilene
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Thessaloniki, Greece
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT CHOICE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I spent two nights on May 2014, because I could not find a hotel in the city of Mytilene and I enjoyed it a lot. Spacious, renovated and clean rooms, all with sea view and balcony. Extremelly comfortable bed. The breakfast was more than adequate with six different hot dishes, although they could choose a better orange juice. Very friendly staff. A decent swimming pool. There is also an all day restaurant where you have a 20% discount if you are a hotel guest. The hotel is very near the airport of the island (3 minutes by car) and not very far away of the city of Mytilene (8 minutes by car). There is a bus stop right outside the hotel, but there is only the bus going to the airport every hour. The taxis are not very expensive (5 euros to the city). The hotel is an excellent choice during the summer, if you want to stay in this part of the island.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    35
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
27
24
6
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

My wife and I went to the Lesvos island via FEST Tour company which is well renowened with its ''culture'' tours. Heliotrope was the choice of the Fest Travel agency ,we liked it because it has a good view of the sea , it is a quite hotel not in the middle of Mitilini but still just about a four minute ( and 4 Euro taxi drive ) away from the center of Mitilini . We had a very efficient check in and check out , although our group consisted of 30 persons. Open buffet breakfast was nice and plentiful . We would stay there again if we go on our own.

Room Tip: We stayed at side annexes and we liked it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

I stay in Heliotrope almost every month during the last 5 years. Since my first stay I feel like being not only a good customer, but a friend as well. The receptionists are always wiling to help with everything, the breakfast buffet is full & delicious, I also prefer to take my lunch & my dinner inside. The rooms are tidy & clean, I propose u to ask for a room on the new side of the hotel - above the restaurant. Last but not least, the view of sea is fantastic, almost from every room!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daventry, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

The hotel was three minutes from the airport and though only there a short while I found the hotel and area very quiet but lovely to walk around. I was there in before high season started but despite this it was lovely and warm.
very good complimentary wifi which was a nice surprise, the staff were fantastic, very helpful and friendly, took my bags to the room for me and showed my how everything worked. The view over to Turkey was incredible
The food in the restaurants was very nice and there was definitely no shortage of food.
A very modern hotel but if you wanted to get into the hills you very quickly came across the old style charm.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Maria at the front desk was absolutely amazing, trying so hard to help in so many ways. I had alot of problems with the modern gadgets and fixtures in my room. European modern is a challenge for an old Canadian, especially when there are no explanations in English in how to use the heat, or the hair dryer.

I was there for Greek night, Saturday. I had a 55 euro one night deal with breakfast (a very mediocre buffet with cold fried eggs and cold bacon, 1/2 hour after the buffet opened) and dry croissants and a dinner. The dinner was ok, but not Greek. Little oil and little oregano on the 'Greek salad' (First Greek salad that had lettuce), dry multigrain rolls and break sticks, and a few slices of bland potatoes and a tiny pork chop. I am not a fusion cuisine person. I've been coming to Greece for 20 years, and I like Greek food in Greece.

If you have good hearing you'll be with the Greek night until the music stops in the early morning. I'm sure the same in the summer with the pool and it's outside bar.

The people who own the place seem to want to make it very modern. It was very clean. the front desk area smelled of smoke.

Heliotrope is close to the airport but not close to anything else if you don't have a car.

Buses probably run frequently during tourist season, but not in February. If you are coming off the ferry stay in town.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izmir, Turkey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

The view was wonderful, you can see TURKEY from the room, the furniture, the beds were comfortable, everything was clean and working, Their staff are really friendly and very helpful The reastaurant is also nice. Breakfast was excellent.The beach is about a hundred meters away, the pool is nice. Heliotrope Hotel is a 3 minute drive to Mytilene, the capital city of Lesbos. The hotel is less than 3 miles from Mytilene Airport and just 0.3 miles from Theofilos Museum. Free parking is available at a nearby location..We would really recommend Heliotrope Hotel without hesitation

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
istanbul
Top Contributor
2,035 reviews 2,035 reviews
144 hotel reviews
Reviews in 137 cities Reviews in 137 cities
5,101 helpful votes 5,101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Was there during off season,so it was quite.Ideal to stay at this hotel with family and children.Staff is very kind and helpfull.Breakfast is very good with many choices.However,if you would like to spend sometime on the beach,you must arrange all yr necessary sun bed and umbrella yrself as they are not available on the beach by hotel.Beach shower is not available,either.View fm room on seafront is magnificient.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Heliotrope Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heliotrope Hotel

Address: Vigla, Mytilene 81100, Greece
Location: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Lesbos > Mytilene
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Mytilene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Heliotrope Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Heliotrope Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heliotrope Hotel Mytilene, Greece - Lesbos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heliotrope Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.