We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort, style and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pyrgos of Mytilene

Save Saved
You added Pyrgos of Mytilene to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pyrgos of Mytilene
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   49 El. Venizelou str, Mytilene 81100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 hotels in Mytilene
Dorking, United Kingdom
1 review
“Comfort, style and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

This is a beautiful hotel in one of the old "mansion houses" of Mytilene. It is comfortable and full of personality, welcoming and distinctive. The management go to great lengths to make sure you enjoy your stay, for example they offered to phone ahead to gain us access to a private museum. They also took time to consider what kind of restaurant we would most enjoy before making a recommendation and giving us directions. Even after we left, when I discovered I'd left my purse behind, they were prompt and efficient about getting it back to me. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    14
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
18
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

My husband and I spent our 10th anniversary traveling through Greece, and stayed at the Pyrgos in Mytilini. The rooms are a bit old and worn, but everything else about this hotel is incredible! The breakfast every morning is fabulous, complete with a large assortment of pastries and fresh eggs and toast if you like - including a cappucino or greek coffee to start your day. The location is very good - just a short walk to the port and shops. The service is excellent - if you want "room service" they will provide an assortment of menus from local restaurants, and order anything you like. Catherine and Peter are so warm and friendly - they gave us great recommendations for everything, and made our stay so enjoyable! Next time we are back in Mytilini, we will stay at the Pyrgos!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

We have stayed for several days at October 2011 at this really suberb hotel. It is a really cosy mansion of 1916, preserving its characteristics very well indeed. We had the most wonderfull time, the room was really great, very clean and the service was something else. Panagiotis and Katerina gave their best to feel like home and it worked. The breakfast was spectacular, with domestic products, from marmalades, local cheese, pies to loukoumades. It is located in the town of Mytilene, only 10 minutes walking from the center and only 3 minutes by car. Several restaurants, taverns, cafes and bars are very nearby. We recommend it for sure. A really romantic place to be!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2010

We booked a room here in September 2010. This place is totally misrepresented in their website. The rooms are old, tiny, dirty and overpriced. Not cute or charming. There is no elevator, no porter to help you and noisy all night long. The staff was nice but that in no way compensated for the terrible conditions. Traffic is terrible, parking is minimal and it is a long walk into town on a busy street. Do yourself a favor and stay somewhere else. Do not prepay for your room - you will want a refund. Sorry to be so harsh but it is the truth. You can get a much better place.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2010

Hotel has a very attractive interior and quiet rooms. Staff gave me excellent service. The breakfast buffet was superb. The only (very slight) drawback for me was that it is not in the harbor itself but about a 20 minute walk away. But if someone wants more peacefulness, that would be a plus.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples FL
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2010

This Boutique Bed and Breakfast type hotel is located near the airport on the edge of this busy city. The 10 bedroom historic home is extremely well kept to the tiniest of details. Our room (201) is located in the back of the house and very quiet. The staff is very pleasant and attentive to all needs, whether its a drink on the front or back terrace or something for your room. The full breakfast, which is included in the twin room rate of less than 100 Euros, is something to die for.

I cannot think of anything negative to say about the hotel. The Managers and staff speak good English, for those without Greek language skills.Location is less than 5 minutes from the center of the City and one block off the Harbor.

This is definately a place to consider for an intimate vacation or for rest and relaxation.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2008

We just returned from a few days in Lesvos. We stayed at the pyrgos. This is a wonderful hotel a short walk from downtown. Since we visited during the off-season, most of the beach hotels were closed.

I was traveling with my wife and two young kids, so this wasn't an ideal hotel for us; however, my wife and I often take getaway vacations together, and this would certainly be a good choice. As a family, we found it a little crowded, and had to keep the noise level of the kids carefully controlled to avoid disturbing other guests.

The food was good (we only had the complimentary breakfast; we ate our other meals in town, which is a short walk away). The rooms were very well done. The bathrooms were dated but clean and functional.

The quality of service was excellent, and the staff was friendly and helpful.

Overall, a wonderful experience - not ideally suited for a family trip, but would have been wonderful as a couple.

  • Liked — service and look-and-feel
  • Disliked — Too crowded and constrained for a family vacation.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pyrgos of Mytilene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pyrgos of Mytilene

Address: 49 El. Venizelou str, Mytilene 81100, Greece
Location: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Lesbos > Mytilene
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 hotels in Mytilene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pyrgos of Mytilene 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"PYRGOS OF MYTILENE" BOUTIQUE HOTEL/MANSION. "PYRGOS OF MYTILENE" is a real jewel, one of a kind, as nothing similar can be found in Lesvos. Our boutique hotel was built in 1916 by the Architect Ignatios Vafiadis in the style of Second Empire. In 1995 the building was renovated in respect of its history and from August 1999 operates as a luxurious hotel all year around. PYRGOS OF MYTILENE is situated in the town of Mytilene where most of the mansions exist in the area, 200 meters from the new Marina. The significant exterior staircase constructed from white marble leads us to the main entrance, flanked by two aristocratic columns and eventually culminates at the highest point in the small tower. The interior seduces with its luxury, including decorations and furnishing from the period of Louis XVI. Every room creates its own unique atmosphere with discreet and soft coloring. The overall, romantic atmosphere takes you back to the 19th century, creating a feeling of living in the area. The three floors, which are connected with an imposed wooden staircase (there is no lift), leads to the luxurious 12 rooms, with assorted views of the garden, city or sea. Home comforts are not lacking as every room has air-condition, satellite TV, telephone, mini-bar, bathroom with hair-dryer, bathroom amenities, wireless Internet, safe-box and 24-hour room-service. The hotel offers a parking area for your convenience and Business Facilities (Fax, Internet, E-mail). Reception and Bar are open 24 hours per day. As soon as you enter the hotel a warm reception area greets you. In the living room or at the bar you can enjoy refreshments, while your Breakfast, American type Buffet with local delicacies, is served in the Breakfast room or outside on the terrace, where you can enjoy an enchanting view of the houses and the sea. The friendly environment and wonderful service offered by extremely efficient personnel create a warm and friendly atmosphere and will in sure make an unforgettable stay. Feel home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Pyrgos of Mytilene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pyrgos Of Mytilene Greece - Lesbos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pyrgos of Mytilene, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.