We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pounawea Motor Camp

Pounawea Motor Camp
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Owaka
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pounawea Motor Camp
Save
You added Pounawea Motor Camp to your Saves list
Park Lane, Owaka, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Everything was truly average here including the surroundings and up to surat bay. I had expected more from catlins area having travelled from te anau all the way for that special bit in the south. Was greeted well at first but didn't know why the owner didn't seem very keen to attend to my queries thereafter. More like eager to get his job done and good riddance. Seemed very busy preparing the place for future customers but he forgot that I was also a customer at that time. Cheap canoe though despite strong winds and waves. Was not warned about this and was not told that I'd get stuck in low tide. Being a tourist, it's hard to tell these things so u'd expect the owner to warn ya of the low tide n stuff. asked about the weather forecast, he didn't know and didn't bother to check, by contrast, another operator would say, hang on, i'll let you know later or sth like that. DVD hire very expensive compared to all the other places i've been. Toilet not too bad though. campervan sites on uneven ground or might be soggy on some and layout pretty messy. Water points not on all units and look hard to find em. Beware the many trees and branches if your vehicle is large. laundry room old and like a shed. playground - boring. Price I paid is dearer than those in Wanaka, Te anau or Nelson city to start with. I believe service starts with a smile and follows through. I have been travelling quite a lot and naturally make comparisons. sorry if this didn't sound good and probably there are underlying reasons but still there has to be improvements in the service, the park and the surrounding area. I have been to similar not so beautiful sites as well but for cheaper and genuine service. Why rate average? Cos he was really busy and i am sure future customers will have a more pleasant experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenn M, Manager at Pounawea Motor Camp, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Hello i dont know what to say to call the catlins area adverage i am stunned .The veiw from the motor camp is beautiful the bush around the camp one of the best reserves DOC has got especialy the native bird life.The motor camp has been voted the best in the catlins many years in a row the sea view is stunning even in the rain.
I am sorry if you found me busy we dont hire staff on till labour weekend as camp is very quite over winter and you stayed the week before labour weekend .We charge $35 a night for 2 adults on a powered site $28 unpowered and give a discount for gold card holders and our price is below the four parks around us as we are a family camp.the play ground is 100m down the road and we as a community have just put in a skate ramp for the kids.We are casual and you can choose your own site except kiwi holiday weekends when they are booked in advance but even then you get a choice.It is one of the most beautifull areas in NZ the catlins is a great forgotten area that is why we moved here from nelson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    15
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Visited here in Sept so avoided the overcrowding that others have commented on and to be honest most campgrounds have at that time of the year. Facilities here have been modernised and were nice, bright & clean - we were very impressed with them. Stayed in a cabin & had been forewarned when booked that was small for 5 as we intended - this wasn't really a problem altho the sofa bed was half broken which we didn't find out til late at night. Tried to let them know before we left but no-one around. Delighted to find both Kereru & Tuis in the trees at the campsite - will definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenn M, Manager at Pounawea Motor Camp, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Hello guys glad you enjoyed your stay wow sorry about the broken slat in sofa i did not know,cabin has plenty of room for a family we only mentioned it to you guys as you were all singles hope the rest of your trip went well
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havelock North, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

We stayed here Dec/Jan and it felt like cattleyards, less than a meter between us and our neighbours..you can imagine the pressure on facilities. such a lovely place such a shame to be squashed in. No local info available and abrupt answers to questions.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Pounawea Motor Camp, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Hello guys sorry that you found your site small all our sites are 53 square metres as set by the local council .We are opening a new area in the bush this year so there is more room for every body ,we have a set occupancy and will not be increasing it at this stage so more room for the cricket games for the kids We have gas hot water so everybody gets a hot shower .At off peak times you can choose your own site in the bush or beside the sea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

I quote from an article here on Trip Advisor "Pounawea Camping Ground owner Glenn Maxwell said the facility was fully booked over New Year, but there was always room for another tent"

Indeed there is always room for another tent at this camping ground so be warned, these guys like to cram people in, we stayed New Year 2011/2012 and they had put so many people in the camping ground we had 1m on 3 sides between other caravans. It was a disaster, cramped and the facilities were simply insufficient for the number of people.

The camping ground is actually very nice and in one of the most idyllic spots in New Zealand so you will enjoy your stay I am sure if you avoid peak times and the obvious "cram them in policy" the owner has gone public with.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Pounawea Motor Camp, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Hey guys glad that you liked our idyllic spot all our sites are min 53m2 some even bigger and with 3 toilet blocks we have enough toilets showers etc for 200 people and that new year period we were under that .The comment i made to the news paper was always room for a tent at low tide was a joke with reporter that has been taken the wrong way.This year we open the new area in the native bush so people can have more space ,Normally you can turn up and choose your own site either by the water or beside the native bush .thank you for your comment i will be more carefull when joking with reporters.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pounawea Motor Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pounawea Motor Camp

Address: Park Lane, Owaka, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Owaka
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Owaka
Also Known As:
Pounawea Motor Camp Southland Region/Owaka, New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pounawea Motor Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.