We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want peace and quiet” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Catlins Mohua Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Owaka
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Catlins Mohua Park
4.5 of 5 Ranch   |   744 Catlins Valley Road, Owaka 9586, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Viborg
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“If you want peace and quiet”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

These chalets are located on a hillside, 7km up an unsealed road and with a view overlooking a sheep paddock to tree-clad hills.

Those of you coming from outside New Zealand need to remember that the Eco status is measured against the abysmal NZ building standards; many of the features would be standard, at least in N Europe. The accommodation was clean, well-kept and comfortable. The kitchen was small but adequate. There are no connections with the outside world (i.e. TV, radio, internet or mobile phone coverage).

If you are looking for a place that is remote, peaceful and comfortable, enjoy this type of scenery and have the means to keep yourself amused, this will be the perfect place for you. On the other hand, if you are interested in exploring the countryside, wish to plan some tramping or want to know the weatherforecast, you would be better off finding somewhere with connections to the modern world. Since I am only rating this accommodation as average, you will not be surprised to learn that whilst I love walking in remote countryside, I have no desire to live in it.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FergusSutherland, Owner at Catlins Mohua Park, responded to this review, March 16, 2012
Thank you for the useful comment. We are usually available to help with trip planning and to inform guests about the wifi and phone that we have available at reception. We have an excellent guide book in each cottage to assist guests with planning for activities while in the area. The cottages also have DVD players and radio. Cell phone coverage is limited in much of The Catlins.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
16
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

I stayed 3 wonderful nights in a cosy eco-cottage, set on the edge of native forest and overlooking rolling hills. No other buildings were in sight and the only sounds were bird songs and distant baa-ing sheep. While I enjoyed experiencing the 'green' technology of the cottage (which includes an adequate kitchen for self-catering), the real stand-outs for me were the natural beauty of the Catlins and the hospitality and enthusiasm of the hosts, Fergus and Mary Sutherland. I went on a one-day ecotour with Fergus and I heartily recommend that to everyone. His knowledge of the regional flora and fauna is extraordinary and I learned a lot while having a great time. Plus I got to see penguins, seals and sea lions up close because he knew exactly when and where to look. I dined each night with the Sutherlands and the food was delicious. Almost everything we ate was from their garden or locally sourced. And Mary is a superb cook - as well as a talented raconteur. Table talk was never dull! All in all, my stay at Mohua Park was perfect and great value for money.

Room Tip: Not applicable
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiderdorp, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

No words in any language would suffice to try and imagine this heavenly place called Mohua Park! Once there one is instantly overwhelmed and left speechless by its awesome natural beauty, lovingly cared for by the energetic and friendly owners. And yes, utter natural darkness and complete silence still exist!
Jan van Houten

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moulton Suffolk, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

It is almost impossible to describe the sheer beauty of MOHUA PARK in the Catlins River Valley. My partner, Sue, and I have stayed there 6 times (usually for 10 nights) during our annual trips to New Zealand and are due there shortly for our 7th visit. The park itself is being returned to native bush under the expert & loving care of the well-known environmentalists Fergus and Mary Sutherland. One can spend many happy, interesting hours exploring the wonderful variety of of native plants/trees walking through well laid out tracks. There are 4 superbly equipped eco cottages (all hidden from each other) overlooking the stunning landscape of the area - meadows, river, hills, forest - and the tranquility is only disturbed by grazing sheep and cattle and the song of native birds- which make one's stay so completely peaceful and relaxing. New Zealand (& in particular the South Island) is a fabulous country and we have many favourite haunts, but none can
compare to Mohua Park, which the Sutherlands have made into a paradise. Sue and George - Moulton, Suffolk. UK

Room Tip: All 4 cottages are ideally situated and thoughtfully equipped
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Catlins Mohua Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catlins Mohua Park

Address: 744 Catlins Valley Road, Owaka 9586, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Owaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Specialty lodging in Owaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Catlins Mohua Park 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the Catlins River Track for walks, cycling, bird watching, or trout fishing and a 30 minute drive to the attractions of Nugget Point (rugged coast and yellow eyed penguins); Surat Bay (Hooker's sealions), Purakaunui Falls, Papatowai beach and forest, Tautuku Bay, 45 minutes to Cathedral Caves and Curio Bay petrified forest. The cottages are private, luxurious, eco-friendly studio units with wide views over forest and farm land of the upper Catlins River Valley. Mohua Park is a 14 hectare forest reserve and garden with many winding tracks, lookouts and picnic seats and tables for guests to explore and enjoy the varied native and planted forest, valley views and abundant birds. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Catlins Mohua Park Southland Region/Owaka, New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catlins Mohua Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Catlins Mohua Park to your Saves list