We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel to your Saves list
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Howtown Rd, | Lake Ullswater, Pooley Bridge, Penrith CA10 2LZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pooley Bridge
Cumbria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Special place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Just love Sharrow. It really is a one off - unique! Great service and beautiful food. We also loved our room, the delightful Pinkie. A special place to celebrate a special occasion or just as a treat .

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    16
    10
    4
    3
See reviews for
9
32
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

30 of us visited the hotel for a 3 course festive lunch for business purposes. Truly amazing setting by the lake. All the reception rooms were classic in style with a modern edge. Food was divine! Would not hesitate to recommend. I want to go back now and stay over.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Our most recent visit to Sharrow was a delight - the whole place has a renewed spark of excellence! The refurbishments and improvements have brought the place back to life.
We have been visiting maybe three or four times a year for over thirty years, and have seen many ups and downs in both the quality of the restaurant and the staff.
Sharrow Bay has always been a place to come and relax and forget the world over the hills, with excellent, friendly, quiet and efficient service.
It was a pleasant delight to discover that the superb service and efficiency in the restaurant has dramatically improved over the past year - our most recent experience was almost up with the standards of Brian Sack and Francis Coulson.
The food has always been excellent - fantastic in its quality and preparation - it has remained the constant draw to return to Sharrow even through the wayward years.
The Luncheon menu was superb - £65 whilst expensive - is on a par with other fine dining restaurants in the Lakes.
We, as a family, wholeheartedly congratulate the entire team, and are already looking forward to starting 2015 with yet another visit.

Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Amazing setting and beautiful, over the top, chintzy decor, but a little 'tired'.
Outrageously expensive - we were charged £30 for the honour of sharing our room with our dog (we brought our own dog bed). The room temperature was awful. Felt like a sauna when we arrived, so off with all the radiators and open the windows. Then frozen by 4am (we closed the windows before we went to bed!), so on again with rads only to be woken be sweltering heat at 7am.
The food was nice, but not as wonderful as we were led to believe. I had Scollops (beautifully cooked) with under cooked leeks with no hint of truffles and no pancetta. The Venison was perfect, but there was no Chilli in my Chocolate and Chilli Tart (but it was a perfectly nice Chocolate Tart.)
The staff were friendly enough but I just had the feeling that I wasn't quite good enough - everyone else seemed to be quaffing champagne whilst we were struggling with the £30 house wine! Best not be thirsty - we had to wait 15mins for a drink!...........and they don't serve pints!
Would I go back? Probably not - even if I won The Lottery!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Sharrow Bay is definitely worth a visit but I think it is past its prime. Service good if not a bit confused at times - we kept getting jugs instead of pots of hot water. Finally announced that they had run out of pots. It is dated but charming. There are lots of nice pieces and particularly like the photos of the former owners and John and Norma Major. The food was good I thought but not great and again I think it might have been overtaken by others.

All in all I thought it was very expensive but glad I went - not sure I will be back.

Room Tip: Aphrodite is a good room. Very cosy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This slightly shabby-chic hotel is located on the edge of Ullswater with stunning views across the water, lovely gardens etc. It has a somewhat rambling layout and decor is a little on the fussy side for my tastes, but the food is delicious as is the wine. Staff are friendly but not always efficient, particularly when there are lots of guests - for example, we had to ask several times for more water on the table, the menu and food arrival was slow. We did not stay so can't comment on the rooms but I would suggest this would be nice for a weekend break, or even just a special occasion meal - it wasn't cheap!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We went for lunch today and found the staff to be attentive and friendly whilst the food was most excellent. Yes it is a bit tired in places if you looked for it, but it has a certain charm, is exceptionally cosy and comfy and the location on the lake is stunning. After lunch we sat at the picture window enjoying a coffee looking over the lake which was so calm the sky was perfectly reflected in it. What better way to wile away a couple of hours on a winters day.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel

Address: Howtown Rd, | Lake Ullswater, Pooley Bridge, Penrith CA10 2LZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Penrith > Pooley Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pooley Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sharrow Bay is unique; the epitome of English country living in an unrivalled location surrounded by snow-topped mountains and fells, right on the shores of Lake Ullswater, widely regarded as the most beautiful lake in the country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sharrow Bay Country Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country Penrith
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel Pooley Bridge, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.