We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expectations met!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Howtown Rd, | Lake Ullswater, Pooley Bridge, Penrith CA10 2LZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Pooley Bridge
Beckenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Expectations met!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Only called in for tea & coffee whilst walking back to Paterdale. We received a friendly welcome and sat on the terrace overlooking Ullswater. It was a sheer delight to discover, as I had hoped, that a simple request delivered an exceptional pot of leaf Earl Grey tea and a smooth tasteful cappuccino, the biscuit selection just melted away, literally as we tasted the mouthwatering flapjack and crispy yet light shortbreads. Our only regret is that we had eaten a large breakfast and couldn't eat any more. In the world of country house hotels I have always heard that Sharrow Bay led the way, it's good to know my education was sound and the seven mile walk was worth it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewking1976, General Manager at Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. I am delighted you enjoyed your tea and cappuccino with us. I hope you willl be able to come and see us again soon. Kind regards, Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    228
    94
    59
    27
    25
See reviews for
27
307
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
leeds,england
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

For one of our Silver Wedding Anniversary presents a group of our friends bought us an overnight stay in the hotel we had stayed in on our 2nd night of marriage... We enjoyed the experience as much on this occasion as we did our first...

Minus points:- The rooms are somewhat dated, the shower lacks power and the tea/coffee facilities should have been of a higher standard ( fresh milk should have been provided as opposed to the little uht cartons ) as you normally find in boutique hotels of a certain standard these days..

Plus points:- The service .... The food... The ambience....The views....excellent, first class, so memorable..... So special....just like the friends who thought to buy us this stay as a present. Thank you Sharrow Bay and thank you to our friends - you know who you are...

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewking1976, General Manager at Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay. A soft refurbishment has begun, and at the sametime the showers will be updated. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future occasion. Kind regards, Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Having booked a one night stay via Secret Escapes, we could not have been happier with our "bargain." The room upgrade we received was lovely, the bottle of champagne was ready and waiting on ice and the six course dinner was an absolute delight, with exquisite soufflé options for starter and dessert courses. For those unable to choose between desserts, the "assiette" option is brilliant, in that it gives you several small portions of the dessert range. In another nice touch, the wine list has some sensibly priced " recommended" options separated out from the main list, which is very comprehensive indeed. The service was well-oiled and unobtrusive but attentive- just what you want when having a lovely meal. Breakfast was also really tasty with a comprehensive range of menu options. The garden and grounds are very pleasant indeed and the only negative to report in the narrowness of the road between Pooley Bridge and Sharrow Bay. We met a tractor and had to reverse to allow him past because he wasn't giving any ground at all!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewking1976, General Manager at Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope to welcome you back on a future occasion. Kind regards, Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
March, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We honeymooned in the Sharrow Bay Hotel in 1968 as gauche 21 year olds. It could have been very intimidating but the owners and staff were so caring and it was an experience we never forgot. 45 years later thanks to a secret escapes special offer our return to the same room was just as memorable and the staff just as caring. The food was as excellent as we remembered it. We sincerely hope the new owners carry on this tradition.

Room Tip: There are lake view rooms both in the main hotel and the annex with stunning views of Ullswater if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewking1976, General Manager at Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your recent stay. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future occasion, please dont leave it so long next time! Kind regards, Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Have been fortunate to visit this hotel on a number of occasions. The hotel may have gone through a rocky patch, but is definitely back on top form!
Food, service and staff were all really excellent today. Three course menu great value.

,

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewking1976, General Manager at Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. I am delighted you enjoyed your lunch with us. Kind regards, Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We were returning to Sharrow Bay for two nights after a 4 year absence.
We were a little worried about some comments we had seen (just after we had booked) but needed have worried as the staff are still lovely, the food excellent and the room we had (Princess) offered us everything we needed with a very luxurious bathroom.
I can see why some of the decor wouldn't be everyone's cup of tea but it is a Country House Hotel and we certainly like the traditional old fashioned feel.
Food was execellent, we had the six course dinner each evening, stand out courses for me were Crab with Scallop and Smoked Salmon starter and then a beautiful Assiete of Sharrow Desserts (I often resort to this) while my partner had a stunning main of Venison and really enjoyed a middle dish of Plaice on Haddock kedgeree, we also had a variety of breakfasts all excellent.
While the cooking may not be as leading edge as for example L'enclume however there was great attention to detail, great finesse in presentation and we thoroughly enjoyed our food and our whole weekend and we will return.

Room Tip: While a couple of steps away from the main house, the Garden Rooms are quiet and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewking1976, General Manager at Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your wonderful comments. I hope you will come and visit us again very soon. Kind regards, Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Six of us spent a Saturday night at this wonderful hotel, celebrating the birthdays of 3 of us. We stayed in the lodge which was lovely-- I was expecting it to be rather tired looking after reading some of the reviews on tripadvisor, but it was excellent. I am disabled and sometimes find it difficult to sleep in hotel beds, but I had a fantastic sleep here. The staff were lovely-- we were served by Dave for our meals and he did a very good job. Dinner, as always, was amazing, and breakfast was great too. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewking1976, General Manager at Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. I look forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion. Kind regards, Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel

Address: Howtown Rd, | Lake Ullswater, Pooley Bridge, Penrith CA10 2LZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Penrith > Pooley Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Pooley Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sharrow Bay is unique; the epitome of English country living in an unrivalled location surrounded by snow-topped mountains and fells, right on the shores of Lake Ullswater, widely regarded as the most beautiful lake in the country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sharrow Bay Country Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country Penrith
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel Pooley Bridge, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.