We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic, friendly and fun!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shawgate Farm Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Shawgate Farm Guest House to your Saves list
Shawgate Farm Guest House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Shay Lane, Foxt ST10 2HN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Foxt B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic, friendly and fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

A lovely, small and quiet B&B - exactly what is needed after a very hectic, long day at Alton Towers (not to mention the drive from Scotland!)

Nina was a fantastic host, checked us in to our room straight away and advised us of nearby places to eat and things to do!

The room was bright, warm and comfortable and really clean and tidy!

Alton Towers was a very short 5-10 minute drive away and there was absolutely no traffic.

The local pub in Foxt was lovely, everyone was chatty and friendly and the food was very good value for money and HUGE portions!

Would recommend to anyone and will definitely be returning in the future!

Room Tip: We paid an extra £10 for a four-poster room! Totally worth it! What a luxury!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here in July and it was fab great welcome and overall five star off Jill and ken. Returned on 20/10/12 and again a great welcome off the new owners James and nina. We just love the whole feel of the area and shawgate we will defo be back. Nina was great when I needed some advice and sourced the info I needed all round five stars from us family of five who love bedroom 2 thanks u 2 xx

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Stayed last night at Shawgate farm with my partner after a day at Alton Towers. The drive from the park was easy and we found it easily too, it only took about 10 mins. Our greeting from Nina was warm and friendly and our room was very comfortable, especially the bed. Very quiet at night which made for a very good nights sleep.

The breakfast was also very good, a well stocked dining room left us wanting for nothing and the Full English was well cooked and very tasty. The next time we visit the area we will definitely be staying here again. Great value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Stayed here for one night in a party of eight, found Shawcross Farm to be very welcoming, comfortable & relaxed. New owners are now in charge, nothing is too much trouble/effort, Breakfast was first class. All our party would recommend this Guest House.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Finding rooms big enough to take our large family can be a challenge and at Shawgate all 6 of us were able to have a proper bed in the 1 room! RESULT! Very happy and friendly hosts and an excellent stay all round. Very happy :) Would definitely stay again (and this time would not be so worried we had taken a wrong turn down a narrow lane). Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I and my son and daughter-in-law stayed overnight during a 2 day trip to Alton Towers. Ken and Gill were friendly and informative. The rooms were spotless and the four poster bed was very comfy. My Sirloin Steak was cooked to perfection as was the Cottage Pie. Highly recommended. We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alsager, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Stayed for one night recently, a fantastic experience. The guesthouse itself is in a rural, idyllic and peaceful location, perfect for nearby tourist attractions such as Alton Towers. Everything was excellent, from the friendly and welcoming staff, the impeccibly clean, spacious and comfortable rooms, to the quality of the food. Nothing whatsoever to fault. We will certainly be returning, and I would have no hesitation whatsoever recommending Shawgate Farm Guest House to anyone else. Thank you Ken and Gill for a lovely stay :-)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shawgate Farm Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shawgate Farm Guest House

Address: Shay Lane, Foxt ST10 2HN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Foxt
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Foxt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Shawgate Farm Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shawgate Farm is a rural B&B located in North Staffordshire with fantastic views overlooking the picturesque Churnet Valley. Located on the edge of the Peak District and close to Alton Towers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Shawgate Farm Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shawgate Farm Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.