We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pub grub” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fox & Goose

Fox & Goose
Foxt | Foxt, Foxt ST10 2HN, England
+44 1538 266415
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Foxt
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Oundle
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good pub grub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Good menu choice and friendly staff. We were a party of 11 and most of us had a delicious meal - excellent fish n chips, gammon, pork in stilton sauce to name a few. Only disappointing meal was the roast of the day. Four of us had it and agreed that you couldn't really call it a roast - it was chicken the day that we were there and we got a chicken breast plus hard roast potatoes and parsnips that you could not cut! However, accompanying veg was fresh and cooked perfectly. Would recomment a visit to this pub but just don't order the roast (although it was only £6.95).

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    23
    4
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good walkers lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Dont take any notice of the mixed reviews. We walked to the pub, they cheerfully welcomed us, our muddy boots and equally muddy dogs.. We all ordered different meals, drank good beer and were more than pleased with the food and service. New owners.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
“one of the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We went the fox and goose on the way back from Alton towers,,The guy behind the bar very friendly,food is nice I mean its very nice,,Local people said Landlady start cooking since 1st of October,,,anyway We sat in dining area and watched the sunset while we were having our meal,,,,what a beautiful view,,,One of the best in uk,,,but not in spain,,

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The worst dinner ever.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We booked a table for two on my 40th birthday and it was our first visit.

A family member recommended as she had a good food at the Fox and Goose years ago.

But it turned out to be the worst dinner out of both of us and we spent £47 for two course, which I regret to waste.
The starter was tasteless.
Main looked like as it was cooked in microwave, we were so hungry so we ate most of it but felt sick afterward.

It wasn't busy on Friday night at all but the service was so slow, and dinner area was freezing cold in mid September.

Never again, never.
I can't still forgive my partner for not booked another nice restaurant in advance.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great food, great view, very dog friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We were very impressed by the atmosphere of this charming pub with a beautiful view. The staff were very friendly and welcoming and won favour with the dogs by providing biscuits. The menu comprised basic pub fare but was excellent quality, well-presented and reasonably priced.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fox & Goose also viewed

Ipstones, Staffordshire
Oakamoor, Staffordshire
 
Shipley, Shropshire
Alton, Staffordshire
 

Been to Fox & Goose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fox & Goose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.