We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprise!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rothesay Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Rothesay Motel to your Saves list
Rothesay Motel
80 Hampton Rd, Rothesay, New Brunswick E2E 2P5, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rothesay
Lowell, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Surprise!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

The new owner is great! We showed up, didn't call, he gave us one of the cute cottages. He's trying very hard and is doing awesome. All the rooms in the back are stocked up! We were in cottage one. Just what we needed nothing fancy, bed, bathroom, fridge. Cute as the dickens! But...the water pressure was bad. ( but he's working on it). We got what we paid for and we d stay there again.

Room Tip: You should give them a chance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kang9801, 오너 at Rothesay Motel, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thank you. As you may see, this motel have 13 units. Two of them are small and old cabins and another two of them are 2 story old cottages(but I have try to do my best make a clean inside all of them). I have leave them as it were because a lot of old people who was born in around here in Rothesay or Quispamsis town visit these old cabins or cottages regularly in summer season and stayed for 2 weeks, 3 weeks or a month. But another 9 units are really brand new nothing problem. Thank you..... ※ That water was fixed. ^^**
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    7
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
5
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I recently stayed at Rothesay Motel for two nights while I was visiting family and friends in the area. We weren't sure what to expect, but were very impressed! There were four of us (all adults), so we got one of the two bedroom rooms (room #8). It was spotless and felt like new inside. There was a small common area, two decent size bedrooms with double beds and a full bathroom with a tub/shower. There was also a small kitchenette with a microwave, full size fridge, toaster, coffee maker, cutlery and dishes. The owner was very friendly and accommodating. Towels, soap and shampoo/conditioner were also provided. There was air conditioning, but we didn't need it while we were there.

The room was very reasonably priced, much cheaper than other hotels in the area. If we had stayed at a hotel we would have had to book two rooms, but since this one had two separate bedrooms each couple had privacy.

The location is also great. Easy access from the highway and lots of restaurants/amenities nearby - many of them are within walking distance.

We will definitely stay here again and I would recommend it to anyone who wants to stay in the area or anyone who is visiting Saint John, but doesn't want to stay right in the city.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay, Ontario
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I found this motel a good location spot to stay while we visited Saint John! We had no problems with the room, there was a good restaurant down the road we ate at one night recommended by the owner of the motel, again it was a great spot. Our room was clean, everything we needed like a micro, frig, towels, clean shower! I would stay again. Thanks again for a great stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I stayed here for 1 week and talk about old and dirty.
The bed was hard, the couch wasn't a couch (it was 2 chairs put together), very small! It wouldn't be somewhere to take a family. The cabin I stayed in had a ''kitchenette'' with only a tiny bar fridge that barely worked, a microwave, a few dishes, and a small coffee machine that of which I had to go buy my own coffee and tea.
It was also summertime and there is no air conditioning in the rooms. The heat with a combination of only 1 window being able to open makes for a very uncomfortable sleep.
Overall, kind of cheap to go here but not really worth your money for the lack of comfort.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kang9801, 오너 at Rothesay Motel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Hi

I am new owner who have took and ran this nice motel since 2013. June. I have tried to make an one of best motel around Rothesay beautiful town therefore I changed everything that Bedding, Facilities etc,. Come over here and look at the Rothesay Motel please how wonderful.

Thank you.

Rothesay Motel
K.K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rothesay Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rothesay Motel

Address: 80 Hampton Rd, Rothesay, New Brunswick E2E 2P5, Canada
Location: Canada > New Brunswick > Rothesay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rothesay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Rothesay Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rothesay Motel New Brunswick, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rothesay Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.