We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Place for our Corporate Retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Orquidea del Sur

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Orquidea del Sur to your Saves list
Orquidea del Sur
km 12 Ostinol Road, Playa Yankee | San Juan Del Sur, Playa Yankee, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Playa Yankee B&B and Inns
California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The Perfect Place for our Corporate Retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

From the moment I switched my search from Costa Rica to Nicaragua I knew I was on the right path, the path that led me to Orquidea del Sur.

I was looking for a place where I could take my managers and thank them for there efforts, bond as a team, and gain some insight and direction of our growing company. We got all of that and more.

Robert worked with me in the months leading up to our time there to plan activities, make suggestions on training and team bonding activities. It was really perfect, and so easy as he acted as our personal concierge in arranging things on a local level.

Here are things that were planned for us by Robert

Day 1 - Relax and get settled (the massages he arranged in the afternoon were awesome and pricing is very attractive). That night a trip to town with the escort of Luis and Harald which made us feel secure. The politely waited with the trucks until we were done and brought us safely home.

Day 2 - Quading (which includes a side trip to race up and down the sand beach) together with a stop to zip line in the middle of the day, was the perfect way to start the trip.

Day 3 - In-service with training exercises that Robert facilitated helped lay the foundation and provided insight into how we operate as a company. That afternoon was the playoff game so Bob set us up in his personal space so we wouldn't miss the game. We had expressed interest in Nica style food and that night it was arranged for us to go to Rancho Tere for a Nica Style feast - It didn't disappoint. I highly recommend it over any place in town that we ate the entire trip. YUM, be sure to order the quesadillas (they are more like empanadas, but delicious non the less)

Day 4 - Ometepe trip. Robert arranged for everything from breakfast sandwiches and coffee for the road, transportation and guiding, lunch on the island with supper waiting when we got home. I would recommend this as an overnight trip in hindsight as it is a very big time commitment to travel there and back (the ferry ride alone is almost 2 hours each way). We saw a museum, stopped at a mineral spring, and went to a preserve.

Day 5 - Robert arranged for Luis and Harald to take us to the Rivas Market to gather ingredients, which included a special trip to a farm when we couldn't find what we wanted at market, then finishing at the fish market before we headed back to the house to start preparing our feast. When we arrived we were greeted by Sara and her team at the ready to assist, clean, and give pointers on local ingredients. They also did all the dishes....while we were driven to the preserve a few miles down south to watch the baby turtles come out of the sand and swim towards the ocean by moonlight. Truly a zen moment

Day 7 - Robert led us in an exercise that saw us write our company mission statement. His insight and direction where key in helping us obtain our goal.

Day 8 - Sailing!! Bob presented us with two options - the catamaran or a traditional sail boat. We made the right choice going for the all day trip with Kenny and the crew on the Catamaran. The day ended perfectly with the sun setting as we were about to enter the harbor. Luis and Harald to use to Pelican Eyes for a drink (that's all we had because prices were high and service was low), but they took us to a hole in the wall with killer food that was $5US for a delicious plate of food and 2 beers (I love Nica Style).

Day 9 - Chill day, with surfing lessons at Hermosa Beach and later massages again. For the evening we had a traditional feast and Bob and Joanne arranged for local musicians and dancers to come in and set us up outside on the deck for dinner and a show.

Day 10 - Luis personally drove one of our group that had to depart early to Managua while the rest of us went to Chilamate Ranch to ride horses. We were rewarded with a spectacular sunset ride on the beach. We had to rearrange our desired itinerary to get the sunset ride as it is tide dependent but well worth it to be able gallop through the surf at sunset.

With the exception of quading and the sailboat all other items were rolled into our final bill with prices not changing from original quotes, and no additional "fees".

And when we weren't on an activity we were chillin in the awesome infinity pool waiting for the sunset.

Rooms are very clean, spacious, very comfortable, and well appointed. Which is perfect for sleeping (since that's all I really used it for). Wifi is strong throughout the house and property.

I have not directly talked about the service or the food, because I wanted to save the best for last. We as a company operate restaurants and catering operations and essentially provide food and service for our livelihood. I believe this qualifies us on knowing what great is and the ability to pick up on the finer points of service.

Since Service is defined as "An act or a variety of work done for the benefit of others" - then every person that works for or is associated with Orquidea del Sur has its definition nailed. They really do get it.

Junior at the bar had a way of showing up just as you finished your drink, and patiently waited into the wee hours of the morning til the last person went to bed. Rooms were cleaned daily without you even noticing, coffee is waiting outside your door when you wake up, and everyone is always busy doing something to keep the place immaculate.

Changes to plans and special requests where met with "no problem", "let me take care of that for you".

And the food....So three of us are chefs and at every turn the food was top notch. They quickly learned specific likes and dislikes and made adjustments along the way. Sara does and excellent job in the kitchen. The ribs were awesome, so were the shrimp (more like lobsters), and fried rice. One morning some of us had a little travel bug and voila, chicken soup and lite salad was offered for lunch.

It really was the little things that showed through, the effort they put forth on the details and a genuine sense of caring about our enjoying our experience that set them apart from other places we have traveled.

The AQUA TERRA Culinary team sends a great heartfelt thank you to the entire Bob, Joanne, Sara, Luis (you are the Man!), Harald, Junior, Gabrielle, Julio, Cesar, Eddie and the entire Orquidea team for taking such good care of us. We look forward to coming back.

Oh, and hi to Alejandra (Go Niners!), and Chili, Chiquita, and the Gato

Dory Ford

-

Room Tip: They are all really good. #5 is the most spacious with a small kitchenette.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
54
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

My husband and I plus our two daughters and their fiances went to Orquidea for three nights 2014 New Years and couldn't have picked a more beautiful and relaxing place. Robert, Joanna and the whole staff make you feel very special and cannot do enough to make your stay absolutely perfect. Their attention to detail is truly amazing. We enjoyed the pool, the beach and the unbelievably lush gardens - everything about this place is perfect. Go there ....

Room Tip: Every room is perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parry Sound, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Immaculately kept, delicious food, friendly and accommodating staff, spectacular views, and we couldn't have asked for more. Robert was so welcoming and helpful. The surfing at Playa Yankee was some of the best we've found. A week to relive sometime soon. Thank you Robert for creating such a perfect paradise to unwind and surf.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Robert made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived. The location is magical overlooking the pacific ocean from the front deck and a stunning location to watch the sunset over the ocean with a drink in your hand. We had an amazing time. Would reccomend this incredible place to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Orquidea del Sur for 3 nights and couldn't have asked for a better place to relax and recharge our batteries. The place itself has very well maintained grounds with beautiful plants and has fantastic views over Playa Yankee (it's a 10min walk down the hill to the beach) and is located about 20min from San Juan.
The hosts Robert and Joanne went above and beyond to accommodate our every need and their staff were incredibly courteous and sweet. Thank you for a truly amazing stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We stayed for 7 days over the holiday season and we loved it. Robert and Joanne were great and extremely accommodating hosts. They even had a gift for our 3 year old daughter under the tree on Christmas morning. Their staff is phenomenal, so kind and welcoming. They took our daughter under their wing and she had a blast. We had such holiday brains when we left that we forgot to check all the drawers in our room and we left much of our daughter's clothing there! As soon as the cleaning staff saw this they let Robert know. He sent someone on a motorbike with her clothing and met us en route to the Costa Rican border. AMAZING! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Orquidea del Sur is located about a 20 minute car ride south of San Juan del Sur. The owners have a driver who can pick you up from town at no cost.

My girlfriend put me in charge of our accommodations for our trip to Nicaragua and I was incredibly proud (and kind of smug) when I sent her the link to their website and her jaw dropped. The pictures were so beautiful I just knew we had to stay there for a few days.

Little did we know that the pictures fall utterly short of conveying the beauty of this property. When you walk through the front gate and get to look out over the infinity pool into the Pacific ocean both of our jaws dropped and we just said "wwwwwoooooooowwwww" for a solid 5 seconds. The beauty of this property cannot be overstated.

Regarding our stay, the rooms are incredibly nice and better than anything else I've seen in Nicaragua. It's obvious a lot of money and care went into the planning and construction of this place. The bathrooms are out-of-control-gorgeous. Huge and spacious and incredibly romantic. We definitely spent a lot of time in there. The pool is stunning. It just is. There's no other way to really describe it.

The service is fantastic. I really like the fact that Robert and Joanna have hired a lot of local young men and women to come work on the property (it seems like a small army sometimes, they must have 20 staff for 5 rooms) It shows they really want to put something back into the community.

If you want a nice, relaxing and private day trip then go to Playa Yankee. Be aware that there is essentially nothing there except the beach.

For a more "fun" time you can go to Playa Hermosa which is a much bigger beach with more people and more amenities. There are surfing lessons and hammocks and huts for shade and a bar and restaurant.

Things to know about Orquidea that may not be immediately apparent when booking (and these are not criticisms):

1) Food is not included in the cost of your booking. Having said that, the food is excellent and breakfast is brought to your little balcony and is waiting for you when you wake up. Dinner essentially works as a flat price for a plate. It's $17USD per dinner plate and you just tell them when you want on that plate. We had steak & lobster the first night and fish & lobster the second night. Exceptionally well prepared.

2) WiFi doesn't reach inside the rooms as the walls are all concrete

3) You will have no other food options anywhere close by except for the aforementioned Playa Hermosa or going back into San Juan del Sur. This place is *very* remote - and frankly that's a large part of its undeniable charm.

4) Your jaw WILL hit the floor when you first walk on the property.

5) Brush up on your Spanish a little bit, the staff are locals and while they are genuinely helpful, attentive and very warm, the language barrier is obvious. In my opinion that's something you should expect for a truly exciting and authentic vacation but just keep it in mind.

Robert and Joanna were very gracious and hospitable Canadians (ok I'm Canadian so I'm probably biased) and my girlfriend and I plan on coming back to Nicaragua in a year or two and will definitely be making another stop at Orquidea.

Thank you Robert and Joanna! Sorry for accidentally bringing our room key all the way into San Juan del Sur when we checked out!

-Michael and Esi

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Orquidea del Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orquidea del Sur

Address: km 12 Ostinol Road, Playa Yankee | San Juan Del Sur, Playa Yankee, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur > Playa Yankee
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Yankee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Orquidea Del Sur, a casually elegant tropical boutique B&B for the discriminating traveler, has 5 well appointed suites (kitchenette, hot running water, air conditioners and fans), each with a porch and spectacular view of the Pacific shores of Playa Yankee, a premier surfing beach. Immaculate gardens flow around, two infinity pools, connecting waterfall, rancho, conversation fire pit, and the main house’s conversation lounge, dining, billiard, and library areas. An incredible collection of venues to relax and enjoy, in the ambiance of your own tranquil and secure resort, the perfect mix of sun, sea and sky that will encourage you to sit back, enjoy, and create the experience of a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Orquidea del Sur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orquidea Del Sur Hotel Playa Yankee
Orquidea Del Sur Nicaragua/Playa Yankee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orquidea del Sur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.