We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful get away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Orquidea del Sur

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Orquidea del Sur to your Saves list
Orquidea del Sur
km 12 Ostinol Road, Playa Yankee | San Juan Del Sur, Playa Yankee, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Playa Yankee B&B and Inns
Larkspur, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A wonderful get away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

We found this gem of a boutique hotel/resort by accident. What a lucky surprise. Lots of personal attention in a magnificent setting. The friendly hosts Johanna and Robert make sure your stay have a restful stay in a tropical setting with many lovely spots to read, rest and enjoy nature. The staff is friendly and attentive without getting in the way.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
60
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Granada, Nicaragua
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

This hotel is wonderful, it is beautiful. As a hotel owners, my sister and I are very attuned to good service, and all the detail that goes into a hotel. The staff is attentive and unobtrusive and do a wonderful job. I like that there are so many different places to relax on the property. The food was excellent, I would highly recommend this place. Bob and Joanne are friendly hosts, a great getaway.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

I decided to take a solo trip and decided to go to Nicaragua for an entire week, I planned to stay one night in Orquideas del Sur but decided to stay two nights. This place is absolutely amazing, breathtaking views decorated with unbelievable sunsets. Mr Robert and his amazing staff made me feel welcomed, they were truly helpful and all my wishes were granted. It was truly an unforgettable experience and definitely will be visiting this amazing place again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

This House/B&B/Hotel is the best place where I stayed in Nicaragua. After 2 weeks of travels in all the country, I found a piece of paradise between the sky and the ocean. The service was so personalized and the welcome so warm than I feel like at home and better... I was like a princess, a queen in a beautiful castle where the canadian flag is proudly up in the air, the pool is the mirror of the sea, the view is breathless. You don't have to miss the sunset... with your cocktail, chilling, enjoying life, simply ! Concerning the food... que rico ! no words excepted, choose what you want and you'll get it ! :) and to get there... the road is easy and without any difficult. so don't listen the jealous in the village who will tell you the contrary ! ;)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

The sunsets overlooking the lush tropical landscape and infinity pool at Orquidea was breathtaking. Joanne and Robert made us feel that no request was too great. We felt part of their family as we joined them for some fabulous meals cooked by Sara. They were completely flexible and helpful with our scheduled events no matter what time day or where we wished to go. A virtual shangrala! There is meticulous detail to the surroundings and everything you could ever imagine your dream resort could be.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Me and my two daughters were in Nicaragua for a week coming from San José, Costa Rica. THis beautiful bed and breakfast is so secluded and gorgeous overlooking a white sand beach and is the definition of paradise. Robert and his driver Luis were so accommodating and absolutely amazing. His staff were friendly and welcoming to us after a long ferry ride. We really felt at home. It was the highlight of our trip and we will defiantly be coming back! The pool was beautiful and relaxing. The air conditioning in the rooms was great after a day at the beach or pool. Everything was outstanding!
-Carol, Sophia, and Olivia

Room Tip: We slept in Apt. 1 which was very roomy for the three of us and had a big patio outside. It was nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I spent two weeks travelling through Nicaragua in January and still reminisce about Orquidea. This was the place my boyfriend and I were really able to relax. The grounds were spectacular and the rooms were very comfortable. The AC is great after spending all day lounging by the pool. The family is very warm and hospitable making it feel like home. Every morning we had coffee on the patio before waking up and walking the few steps to the pool. If you want to live the dream at your very own hillside mansion this is the place!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Orquidea del Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orquidea del Sur

Address: km 12 Ostinol Road, Playa Yankee | San Juan Del Sur, Playa Yankee, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur > Playa Yankee
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Yankee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Orquidea Del Sur, a casually elegant tropical boutique B&B for the discriminating traveler, has 5 well appointed suites (kitchenette, hot running water, air conditioners and fans), each with a porch and spectacular view of the Pacific shores of Playa Yankee, a premier surfing beach. Immaculate gardens flow around, two infinity pools, connecting waterfall, rancho, conversation fire pit, and the main house’s conversation lounge, dining, billiard, and library areas. An incredible collection of venues to relax and enjoy, in the ambiance of your own tranquil and secure resort, the perfect mix of sun, sea and sky that will encourage you to sit back, enjoy, and create the experience of a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Orquidea del Sur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orquidea Del Sur Hotel Playa Yankee
Orquidea Del Sur Nicaragua/Playa Yankee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orquidea del Sur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.