We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Facility, Great Location, Great Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Orquidea del Sur

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Orquidea del Sur to your Saves list
Orquidea del Sur
km 12 Ostinol Road, Playa Yankee | San Juan Del Sur, Playa Yankee, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 1 Playa Yankee B&B and Inns
Whittier, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Facility, Great Location, Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We just returned from a week at Orquidea del Sur. Our group of 12 was able to reserve the entire B&B and it was an unbelievably memorable trip. We were traveling with my 94 and 88 year old in- laws, and Robert, Joanne and the staff took such good care of them and our whole party. The young people Robert employs were uniformly sweet and helpful, and made it so enjoyable for my elderly suegros (in-laws in spanish). The home and grounds are even prettier than in the pictures. The grounds are so well thought out, with many beautiful little shaded, private areas to lay on a hammock and read in the shade, and the pool area is the nicest I've ever experienced. The rooms are sparkling clean and comfortable, with gigantic bathrooms. The communal breakfasts every morning were great, with the best fresh fruit and juice, eggs, bacon and gallo pinto (rice and beans), all graciously served by the wonderful Martha. There is internet access so we could stay connected, but no TV (which we did not miss, at all). Nights are exceptionally dark, peaceful and beautiful. Yankee beach was very pretty, the water almost 80 degrees, and good for surfing/boogie boarding. Mostly we had the huge beach all to ourselves. What a week we had!

Robert and Joanne are very knowledgeable and helpful, and arranged a boat trip, horseback riding, and gave good directions (we found driving and directions the most challenging part of Nicaragua, but we did it (hundreds of miles), even at night, and survived:). Getting up to the home in our rented 4x4 was fun in itself; a rugged trip up the last 1/8 of a mile or so, but worth the effort!

We loved Nicaragua, and Robert and his staff, his home and his/their help made the trip a mix of luxury, beauty, cultural learning, excitement and rich experiences. It was the trip of a lifetime for me and my family.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
62
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
PennValley, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

My wife and I traveled to Orquidea del Sur in August of this year. Let me start by saying that if you are looking for a resort location that is off the beaten path, then Orquidea del Sur is the place for you! Tucked away on a hillside location overlooking "Yankee Beach" in San Juan del Sur, Orquidea del Sur met or exceeded all of our expections. The owners, Robert and Joann, made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived. The room and bathroom were modern, spacious, well-appointed and contained a small kitchenette and refrigerator. We awoke each morning to an amazing pot of Nicaraguan coffee carefully placed on the table of our terrace. We were surrounded by bougainvilleas, hibiscus and plam trees and a variety of other tropical plants which were made us feel as we had arrived in paradise. Breakfast, lunch and dinner were included as part of the package and were most enjoyable. Great care was taken to assess what we would like for Access to the beach does require a bit of a hike (downhill) but well worth the walk! each meal. My wife and I wanted to explore the area and Robert worked closely with us to coordinate day and evening trips for us throughout the entire stay. Boat tours, horseback riding, local fare, surfing/boogie boarding, yoga, massge/spa treatments, shopping, exploring, whatever your interest, Robert could - and did - arrange for us. It truly was one of the most memorable vacations we have ever had - for more reasons than I can say here. Robert, Joann and the entire staff were warm, friendly and attentive. Be sure to check out Robert's library - I assure you that there will be at least one book on his shelves that you have been dying to read for years!! The only issue that we encountered was the wi-fi access in the rooms, which Robert pointed out upon our arrival. It was actually a good thing as it gave us a chance to get some "down time" away from our daily work routines! There is good internet access in the main building of the resort if for any reason you need to connect to work, family or friends.


Whether you are a couple looking to get away to a tourist free locale, a family looking for a unique vacation spot, a group of friends looking for to get away from it all or flying solo, Orquidea del Sur is the place for you!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calabasas, California
Level Contributor
101 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I traveled to this resort solo prior to a week in Managua. the property is nice, clean and well kept. The owner Robert is great. he is willing to help in anyway he can to accomodate your needs. The rooms are nice, spacious and clean. if your looking for a vacation to get away from the world, no phones or television, this is a place you can do that. keep in mind the beach has no services, bar food etc....the resort does not have a restaurant and the closest restaurant is about 25 minutes away. the resort will make all meals if you want but you are in a very remote part of the country with very little surrounding you except beach. The only suggestion i have for the resort is upgrade your wifi so guests can aceess it in their rooms, connectivity was tough in the rooms but OK in the main house.

feel free to reach out with questions.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas
Level Contributor
118 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This is a lovely place. Perched on a hillside over Yankee Beach (12 km s. of S. Juan del Sur), the 5-room hotel has 3 layers of terraces, 5 very nice rooms with sunset views, lovely gardens and plants with bougainvillea and palms and hibiscus everywhere. The infinity pool looks over a great view of the Pacific, the coast, and the beach below. Howler monkeys call from the adjacent forest at night. Owners Robert and Joann are very attentive and accommodating. Access to the nearly deserted half-mile of flat beach is by a steep hike or drive (4-wheel required), but well worth the trouble; the Orquidea will take you if you wish. Meals are very good -- breakfasts to order, dinners are family style (unless guests prefer otherwise). Great for a honeymoon, a family or a small retreat! For peace and quiet it is perfect, distant from the action and nightlife of S. Juan.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managua
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

My family (wife and two kids) and I just recently spent a weekend at Orquidea del Sur. We loved the place...no TV and no cell phone helps you relax like nothing else. The staff is very helpful and knowledgable about the surrounding area and help you find the tour that most suits you. We picked an ocean tour along the coast and saw hundreds of turtles and a couple of whales!! In the evening we relaxed by the pool and had a great dinner prepared for us by a superb cook!
Overall a great experience!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We had a lovely vacation in Orquidea del Sur last August!
We stayed 4 nights and wished we could stay longer. The setting is incredible, with the infinity pool, the amazing view and the sound of the waves crashing down on the beach. And we were the only guests so it almost felt like a private villa for the price of a b&b!

Robert and Joanne are really welcoming and make you feel comfortable. All the staff is nice and do their best to help you. We had a great massage by the pool at sunset.

We had our own 4WD so we could explore easily many beaches in the area and San Juan del Sur, but honestly we would have been perfectly happy just staying at Orquidea del Sur and Playa Yankee! It was great to be outside San Juan del Sur.

Food is great but not gastronomic. You can always ask for something specific and they'll try to make it for you. They have some nice wine at a fair price for Nicaragua.

Overall, a charming small boutique B&B we hope to visit again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

What a gorgeous place! Robert and Joanne did an amazing job on this property. The service was great and we couldn't have asked for more accommodating hosts. We roughed it most of the time we were in Nica, but being able to stay in luxury for this part of our trip was a much needed reprieve. We stayed five nights and, since it was slow season, we were the only guests there for a few nights. It is about 15-20 minutes outside of SJDS and we didn't have a car, but Robert was more than willing to arrange a driver or drive us himself. They really go the extra mile for their guests. The view, service, staff and rooms were all outstanding. If you have the chance, stay here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Yankee
0.0 mi away
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
#1 of 4 in Playa Marsella
4.5 of 5 stars 345 reviews
0.0 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
0.0 mi away
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
#9 of 22 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 stars 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
#16 of 22 in San Juan del Sur
4.0 of 5 stars 190 reviews
0.0 mi away
El Jardin
El Jardin
#5 of 22 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 stars 156 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Alcazar
Hotel Alcazar
#8 of 22 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 stars 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orquidea del Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orquidea del Sur

Address: km 12 Ostinol Road, Playa Yankee | San Juan Del Sur, Playa Yankee, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur > Playa Yankee
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Yankee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Orquidea Del Sur, a casually elegant tropical boutique B&B for the discriminating traveler, has 5 well appointed suites (kitchenette, hot running water, air conditioners and fans), each with a porch and spectacular view of the Pacific shores of Playa Yankee, a premier surfing beach. Immaculate gardens flow around, two infinity pools, connecting waterfall, rancho, conversation fire pit, and the main house’s conversation lounge, dining, billiard, and library areas. An incredible collection of venues to relax and enjoy, in the ambiance of your own tranquil and secure resort, the perfect mix of sun, sea and sky that will encourage you to sit back, enjoy, and create the experience of a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Orquidea del Sur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orquidea Del Sur Hotel Playa Yankee
Orquidea Del Sur Nicaragua/Playa Yankee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orquidea del Sur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.