We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value. It would be an error to miss this place.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harry's Bar and Restaurant

Harry's Bar and Restaurant
Bridgend | Inishowen, Bridgend, Ireland
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 9 Restaurants in Bridgend
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dun-le-Palestel, France
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great Value. It would be an error to miss this place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We dropped in for a light lunch here last week. My sister had recommended it. There were four of us and we were not disappointed with her recommendation. The smoked mackerel salad was delicious and I supplemented it with freshly cut French fries. The owner/manager was very attentive but not invasive. It's the sort of place that you might drive past without paying much attention but if you have time, do visit The quality and value is excellent.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    33
    12
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Don't believe the hype”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

Had being looking forward to eating here as heard so much about the place what a dissapointment first wine ordered out off stock wife had tempura off squid to salty I had rump with herb hollindase sce steak tasted old over ripe , sauce was the worst I've ever tasted . Never checked on by staff in formed manager when taking plates away paid bill in full will not be back

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donal D, Manager at Harry's Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear MylesobrIen,
Firstly, thanks for visiting us. Obviously I am disappointed that you have not enjoyed your meal and equally disappointed that our normally good service hasn't picked up on this experience. We would love a chance to make ammends. These dishes are amongst our most popular and most loved due to the extraordinary value we offer them at and because they are usually so tasty, but we want them to be 100% right for everyone.
We would love if you would consider coming again.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dundalk co louth
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

called in on way home from Derry and found this lovely charming place in Bridgend. We were seated and our order taken, Then we were given complimentary Brown bread which was really just so lovely. Our meal arrived and just tasted so good. Overall the food & price was excellent & some were I will call back to when I am in the area.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donal D, Manager at Harry's Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Brendan J M,
We are simply delighted you came to visit and enjoyed your meal. The brown bread is slowly becoming famous around here, there are a few secret ingredients! In fact loads now come in to buy loaves and it's our most popular item during our Saturday morning food market!
Glad to see you obviously enjoyed the rest of your meal and thought the value was great. We run the Early Bird menu all night Sunday-Thursday, but there is value to be found all day!
Look forward to welcoming you back and thanks for taking the time to post this great review, it is appreciated by us all here at Harry's - winner of best restaurant in Donegal at the recent restaurant awards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londonderry
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Food in the Country”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Fresh home grown local food.
Harry's is not part of the food or restaurant industry. And you can immediately tell. This is so refreshing and overdue for Ireland. Really enjoyable, really cheap real food. The beer is amazing and the wine list perfect.

All of the above with the most unintimidating, unpretentious fuss free service.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarrysDonal, Manager at Harry's Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear derry123Londonderry,

Its great to have had you in and read your words. Its great that people appreciate that we are trying our hardest to be different and at great value. We put a huge effort into growing all the vegetables and to being at every fish auction in Greencastle and hanging/butchering all our own local meats. No other restaurant goes to this trouble and not everyone ever appreciates that. We really hope to see you again soon and thanks for taking the time to write this lovely review. It is appreciated by everyone here at Harrys. Hope you have tried our Friday Night NoMenu, its a great way to treat yourself and friends & also our lunch menus have all changed. The walled garden is starting to produce more summer produce and menus are bouncing with flavour from this. Thank you.

All At Harrys.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north west
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Lovely food, friendly staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stopped here on our way to the jazz festival in Derry for an early bird. There was a good selection of dishes on the menu, I had a liver parfait with rhubard compote followed by fish and chips. Both were delicious. My friend had an excellent tomato soup and a fresh fish dish with roasted vegetables, also very good. The service was friendly and efficient and the price reasonable. We left the car here and took a cab into town which saved the hassle of trying to park during a busy weekend in town. Definitely worth stopping here.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarrysDonal, Manager at Harry's Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear North West Lulu,

Many thanks for visiting us over the bank holiday weekend. The Jazz festival is one of the best times to visit Derry. handy too that its only a 10 min drive and as little as £5 in a taxi into Derry City Centre.
We are delighted you enjoyed our early bird menu and nice to see our fresh fish featuring on your choices. The early bird is a perfect value menu, only €12 main courses & €5 starters/desserts and still include all our famous fresh fish & home grown vegetables. Thanks too for the mention of our service and we hope to see you again soon. We currently run the early bird menu all night from Sunday-Thursdays and until 7pm on Fridays and until 6pm on Saturdays. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harry's Bar and Restaurant also viewed

 
Buncrana, County Donegal
Greencastle, County Donegal
 

Been to Harry's Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harry's Bar and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.