We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Highlight - Room 2 with a View! And what a view...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hitgeheim Country Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hitgeheim Country Lodge to your Saves list
Hitgeheim Country Lodge
5.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   off Route R336 | Outside the park, Addo, Sundays River Valley, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 20 Addo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Key West, Florida
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“A Highlight - Room 2 with a View! And what a view...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2010

From the moment we arrived the attention to detail was extraordinary. A welcoming drink, a cheery chat and all the help we needed with bags etc. The hilltop Lodge is beautiful with very private thatched cabins equipped with everything you could need, except -thank Heavens - phones and TVs. Our Room (2) had balconies on both sides, with a truly magnificent view over the orange groves and mountains that stretched as far as the eye could see. There is even an outside shower you can enjoy under the hot, African sun (it is all very private). The room had a large bed, beautifully netted (although we found no sign of mosquitos here), and the bathroom had a cast-iron-style bath in the middle of the room where you could lie and look out over the scenery. Owner Archie and his staff could not have done more. They were courteous, helpful and yet great fun. No stuffy nonsense here, just quality. And the restaurant was superb - they certainly know what they are doing. Our advice, go for 2 days and make some time just to chill out at the Lodge. It is wonderful.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    35
    6
    5
    1
See reviews for
69
177
5
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline, Scotland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2010

Driving to Hitgeheim from Plett Bay using SatNav took us the quickest route whcih wasnt the best - 20km on dirt track!! Could have gone via Port Elizabeth but would have added extra hour to the journey.
The lodge was very luxurous and Julia's greeting was very welcoming. A little rigid on dining times (7pm 6pm for drinks and nibbles) was a bit tight as we only arrived at 5.30pm! But our 6 course dinner was supberb - thanks Ronal.
Archie also organised our trip to Addo and Scotia with transfers which I would thoroughly recommend. Accompany us was our very knowledgeable guide Peter who made sure we seem everything there was to be seen including a 'chase' on scotia!
The weather was not great during our stay which mean we couldnt indulge in sitting on the sunbeds with the breathtaking views but the public space was enough to find a corner and read a book.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2010

Hitgeheim (Hitchie-hyme) is one the best places to see Addo and Big-5 (Scotia). The lodge rooms are definitely 5star and the service is personal and impeccable. Archie takes ultimate care of his guests. The chef at the restaurant is really good. The views are amazing. All in all, even if you just stay at the cottage you'll have a great time.

What is rare in SA is that one can go to a great place to stay with young children (esp. safaris). Our daughter 17month had a fab time here and we recommed it to everyone with young children. That said, it can be a very romantic escape for couple since cottages are nicely spaced and there is a lot of privacy.

We loved the sunken bath!!

Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caldwell, Idaho
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2010

My 26-year-old daughter and I visited Hitgeheim Lodge at the end of June, which is winter in South Africa. When we arrived, the staff was waiting to greet us, as they always were when we returned from an excursion. There was a crackling fire awaiting us in the beautiful lodge, outstanding coffee and lavender shortbread cookies to warm us. Being from the United States, we were immediately charmed by the authentic African atmosphere surrounding us, and the beautiful views in every direction.

We each had our own thatched-roof chalet. Mine overlooked the Sundays River, and faced to the west for views of the sunset. Every evening flocks of Fish Eagles would sweep down to roost along the river for the night. Both suites had huge four-poster beds with canopies and mosquito netting. My bathroom had a deep slipper tub that faced out across the valley. My daughter’s chalet faced east, overlooking the valley and orchards, and had an outdoor shower and large platform tub. Her suite was particularly ideal for honeymooners. We were entranced by our rooms, and in fact traded one night so we could enjoy each other’s room, which seemed to amuse the staff. There was such attention to detail, with sprigs of herbs on the linens, lavender salts for the baths, candles, complimentary sherry, and chocolates on our pillows at night. Each chalet had its own personality and décor, but they each had natural stone, the thatched roofing, their own veranda, and every comfort. Please remember, your experience here should be an escape from the modern world. Don’t expect a TV in your room or a phone. If you need to communicate to the outside world, you can access the internet at the main lodge. Because of the thatched roofing, you may also find an occasional tiny insect in the sink or tub. This is not the city!

I am surprised to read some of the less than enthusiastic reviews about the cuisine. We are relatively well-traveled, and we found the meals to be outstanding in both flavor and presentation, and worth every penny. We enjoyed being able to try new things that we would not be able to have in the United States. The excellent sorbet mentioned in another review was a palate-cleanser, not a dessert. The wine was outstanding as well. Please expect to linger over your meals, as there are several courses.

We would also recommend taking Archie’s advice on the activities to pursue while there. We had thought we would plan our own activities, but decided to go with Archie’s suggestions, and are so glad we did. He is the expert and he has a talent for searching out what is going to be special for each guest. In our case, at the end of the visit he arranged for us to visit the townships with a local lady who has a heart for reaching out to the children living there. This added a layer of meaning to our entire trip and was so very special to us.

The hospitality and service at Higteheim Lodge are above reproach. They make you feel as if you are the most important people there, even though you know there are other guests, as well! I can’t say enough good things about Ronel who could conduct hospitality seminars. I don’t know how they accomplish it, but they truly magically appeared whenever needed, without being the slightest bit intrusive. Even Archie’s son was there for us: I bought a spear to take home to my son, and found it to be too long for my suitcase. He took it, cut it down a little so it would fit and packed it in bubble wrap for us.

Please know that any tips you wish to leave may be added on to the entire bill at the end of your visit. These will be divided amongst the staff, and are greatly appreciated.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2010

We loved it! We arrived very tired and was told to relax which we did! Archie is a true gentleman, very kind, knoweldgable and great fun.

There is nothing bad we can say about Hitgeheim it is truly a little bit of heaven on earth. Getting to Hitegheim was easy with clear directions from PE. What a view when you finally get to the top!

We loved the relaxed atmosphere and didn't find the 7pm dining time restricting in fact far from that, the whole point of 7pm is to enjoy sundowners before eating. Food was presented beautifully and very tasty, you have to remember this is Africa not London so sometimes you get something a little different.

Our room really did have a view and the outdoor shower was invigorating! Rooms were clean and fresh.

Archie was so very helpful and kind when our plans changed - we decided to stay longer with him. The Braai food prepared for us before we left for Addo Elephant Park was delightful; we enjoyed cooking that braai so much.

We thank Archie and his team for making our first week of holiday a wonderful experience. We WILL be back and only wish we could get married again because we would hold it there!

Chris and Charlotte

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2009

We stayed 3 nights at this stunning lodge. Congrats to the staff, Ronel, Donald & Pieter for the exceptional service. There was always someone on hand and very attentive. Archie is a really terrific character, helpful, friendly and constantly checking that everything is running smoothly and the guests are happy & well taken care of, one really felt more like a friend rather than just another guest. Archie went to great lengths to learn small details about each of the guests in order to converse / advise on a more personal level, something we felt was very special!
The food in the restaurant during our stay was great. We did feel it was a little on the expensive side. Given one does not have much choice in terms of alternatives near enough to the lodge, we felt that the menu could be more along an A la Carte offering with a wider choice of meals. Breakfasts were excellent.
We did all our own exploration of the area, but having spoken to other guests we beleive the excursions on offer were terrific, varied and not too badly priced.
Overall a truly wonderful stay, we would highly recommend Hitgeheim to anyone visiting the Addo area.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2009

We stayed 2 nights. The first night, to their surprise, we opted to go out to eat - we didn't want to be restricted by their fairly rigid 7pm dining time as we hadn't long arrived and wanted to shower etc first. The Africanos Inn (20 mins away - 10 mins for Hitgeheim's driveway and 10 mins road) was great, despite their warning us that it wasn't a 'fine dining experience'. So we expected great things from our incredibly overpriced meal at HH the following evening, but were disappointed. When was the last time you had sorbet as an intermediate course?! They tried but the food really wasn't great and it all felt like something out of the eighties.

However, the setting was fabulous with wonderful views, our terrace wrapped right around the chalet which was spacious and pleasant. The outdoor shower was nowhere to be seen, although we did find a sliding glass door next to the indoor shower - not quite what I expected! Also the bathroom smelled revolting when we first arrived, but we lit the scented candles which they kindly provided and that helped a bit.

For the record we didn't find Archie to be overbearing at all and their trips were in no way 'pressed' upon us, for which we were grateful.

In summary: the service was excellent, the setting just beautiful and peaceful, the place was conveniently located for Addo Elephant Park (and Daniells Cheetah Breeding Farm which is well worth a visit), the chalets very nice and spacious with massive bathrooms but poor showers and we felt there was just something lacking from what they profess to be.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hitgeheim Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hitgeheim Country Lodge

Address: off Route R336 | Outside the park, Addo, Sundays River Valley, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Sundays River Valley > Addo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Addo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hitgeheim Country Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hitgeheim Country Lodge is an owner managed, fully serviced five star thatched lodge outside of Addo Park. We pride ourselves in allowing our guests to enjoy the best elephant viewing in the world, be spoiled with ultimate luxury, cuisine, wine and service. We are on a small eco-reserve and your drive to the lodge is like being on your own Safari. Spectacular views from the lodge and all the rooms with Addo Park in the distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Hitgeheim Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hitgeheim Country Hotel Addo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hitgeheim Country Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.