We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star all the way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hitgeheim Country Lodge

Save Saved
You added Hitgeheim Country Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hitgeheim Country Lodge
5.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   off Route R336 | Outside the park, Addo, Sundays River Valley, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 20 Addo B&B and Inns
Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
1 review
“5 star all the way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Amazing family holiday. Archie and his staff are amazing and we will definitely be back. Beautiful view from lodge overlooking valley. Rooms are spacious, beautiful outdoor/indoor shower. Attention to detail noted.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    220
    26
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
57
140
4
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stunningly beautiful location. We travelled from Cape Town so was a bit of a trek to get there but really worth it. Amazing views of the coast, mountains and sunsets all the way. Staff were so pleasant and helpful. Kids were served drinks at the pool much to their delight. Accommodation was luxurious. Four poster bed and huge sunken bath. Food was on the whole great, 4 courses, but would have liked something less formal on the menu too. The view from the restaurant at sunset had me truly awe struck.
We are a family of 6 and were the only guests. I don't think I would have felt too at ease with our kids fooling around in the pool with other guests around. However, all staff were so kind and friendly to the kids. We went on safari as part of our package. Peter our guide was brilliant with the kids and very knowledgeable and interesting. We saw families of elephants, kudus, eland, a puff adder and warthogs. We also dined with monkeys and mice at our feet, a little scary but strangely fun! It was expensive, we had to share the one room, so it was a little crowded but manageable. Food was extra and not always what I wanted on the menu but compared to other safari packages it was very good value. So glad we did it, a trip of a lifetime.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Hitgeheim. We were disappointed to find that the sable and buffalo breeding area had been sold. The staff were attentive and friendly. Unfortunately it rained all day Sat and we may have wanted to use the communal tv room, but being allergic to dogs it was not possible. Having spent most of Sat in our suite, perhaps some fluffy american size pillows would have made me more comfortable. The food was good. All in all a relaxing weekend

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

If you like to be totally spoiled in a most scenic location this is the place to go to. In every possible way you get VIP treatment with personal attention from the owner. The staff is remarkable, all with a long service record.

From our bedroom we had an excellant view over the the lush orange orchards down below in the Sundays River Valley. The lodge is very close to the Addo National Park and a variety of sightseeing options are available.

Comfartable and safe walks on the farm leads to a variety of game and in the evening the wine from the cellar, which is never locked, in front of a fire in the lounge is a perfect way to end the day.

Room Tip: The "Fitness Centre" is the walk in the unspoiled nature and the "Spa" the fresh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We travel a lot and rarely mark anywhere 5/5 - Hitgeheim is the exception. Location, the greeting, the service, the rooms, the food, the log fire, all just perfect. Recommend the Addo and Scotia tours

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

From my first contact with Archie I realised that the Hitgeheim Country Lodge puts a great deal off effort into making sure that their guests are well looked after. The drive in Addo with Archie was fascinating and I was told that the other guide was also great. Archie and his team really went out of their way to ensure that our two daughters (aged six and one) were well catered for and we all had a fantastic time. Hitgeheim is set in its own eco reserve and sits on top of a hill and it and offers fantastic views, excellent food, friendly staff and a comfortable time in the bush. I thoroughly recommend staying at Hitgeheim.

Room Tip: Rooms are luxurious and they have large family rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

It was the first time in the Addo Park and Archie and his team made the whole stay unforgettable. They organized safaris, fixed our broken car and took care of us the best way possible.
The Hitgeheim Country Lodge is a wonderful place to explore the Elephant Park and some other Private Game Reserves as well.
We also had delicious breakfast and dinner. Thanks to the chef!!!
We will be back soon :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hitgeheim Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hitgeheim Country Lodge

Address: off Route R336 | Outside the park, Addo, Sundays River Valley, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Sundays River Valley > Addo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Addo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hitgeheim Country Lodge 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hitgeheim Country Lodge is an owner managed, fully serviced five star thatched lodge outside of Addo Park. We pride ourselves in allowing our guests to enjoy the best elephant viewing in the world, be spoiled with ultimate luxury, cuisine, wine and service. We are on a small eco-reserve and your drive to the lodge is like being on your own Safari. Spectacular views from the lodge and all the rooms with Addo Park in the distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hitgeheim Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hitgeheim Country Hotel Addo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hitgeheim Country Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.