We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hospitality, a Romantic Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hitgeheim Country Lodge

Save Saved
You added Hitgeheim Country Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hitgeheim Country Lodge
5.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   off Route R336 | Outside the park, Addo, Sundays River Valley, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 20 Addo B&B and Inns
USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hospitality, a Romantic Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2008

One of the most hospitable places you will find in a country of much hospitality. A visit to Addo Park is essential and though we have stayed at several places in the area on previous trips this is our favorite. Set high up in the hills where our private thatched accomodations looked out over the valley. This is a very romantic place to stay, with its netted King Size bed, a bathroom with slipper bath and a separate shower all of which had huge glass windows & doors and you could throw them open to go onto balcony to enjoy the view or else admire the view from inside. Archie is the host and a great one, friendly and helpful.
We had previously made some tour arrangements with Archie, but shortly before our arrival we were in a terrible car accident up in the north of South Africa and did not really want to go on the arranged tours and Archie made us feell that it was perfectly all right to change our minds. However we did ask for and received a tour of his vast farm with its exotic breeds, and mainstay Ostriches and Cape Buffalo. A real treat.
We ate both nights at the hotel and that was also very nice and when Archie had arranged a wine tasting evening for the local hoteliers he was kind enough to ask us to jon in.
I should note that you need a car to drive yourself up the mountain on sometimes rough roads, but other guests had flown in to what looks like Archie's private airstrip.
This is a good place to center yourself for safari outings to Addo, & Pumba, Amakala private reserves (to mention just a few, but ones we reccommend )and they have day programs that can be arranged on your own or by this hotel many other activities. This was our 3rd visit to South Africa in the space of 2 years and this 3 month trip was the most expansive. So we have some advice fr first time visitors. We found it riskier than we thought to drive down from Kruger to Capetown, but on 2 previous trips found it quite safe.
On those trips we had covered the area from Cape Town, the Garden Route and up to East Cape, beyond this things get ...more interesting??
There is so much to see and do without going north we think you could easily spend a week in the East Cape Addo area. Then if you want to do Kruger National park (which is sensational) then fly in and fly out.
Don't miss a chance to see this country NOW !!

  • Liked — The Accommodations themselves, the view, opportunity to see a real farm
  • Disliked — Nothing really though the roads up are rough but that was not a problem for us.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    220
    26
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
57
140
4
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2008

We stayed here on the last night of our South African trip and it was a wonderful way to end the holiday. We had stayed inside the Addo National Park rest camp the previous two nights so, as we had explored that fully, we simply checked in, chilled out and admired our beautiful surroundings. If this was to be your main base for the area, I would suggest staying at least two nights to allow a couple of trips into Addo which can be arranged via the lodge or done independently - I would recommend at least one guided tour but also recommend taking your own vehicle to allow you to explore at your own pace.

The bedrooms are beautiful, each located in individual cottages and each with fabulous views across the valley. We had a room with floor to ceiling glass windows right across the front of the building. The bathroom doors could be pulled right back on the bathroom opening it up to the veranda which also ran the length of the property. The freestanding bath was located to make the most of the view and it is all very private.

We ate here; there is no wine list - you are shown to the cellar to choose your own. The food was superb, but I do feel the white glove service is more formal than is necessary - most people I know today prefer privacy to being hovered over.

Do remember to take directions with you - without them this is not the easiest place to locate and even once you reach Hitgeheim it is quite a drive through their land before you find the lodge - but once found it is well worth it.

I would stay here again if returning to this area.

  • Liked — Rooms and setting
  • Disliked — Service more formal than is necessary
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2007

On arriving here we didn't think much as the "dirt track" reminded us of being on safari again!! However, once Archie opened the front doors, there was definitely a WOW factor to this place. We were shown to the bar area where we were given a glass of homemade lemonade while we checked in and our bags brought to our room. Once we were shown to our spectacular room (which had an outdoor shower, a wet room style bathroom and a 4 poster bed), we had some time to laze in the hammock on our balcony and drink in the views of the valley before our arranged drive to Addo Elephant Park (which was fantastic). We decided to have dinner at the lodge, cooked by Archie's wife, at a cost of R220 pp. Food and service was fantastic but expensive compared to what we had paid in other restaurants in SA. Sitting on the huge veranda after dinner sipping wine was very relaxing and romantic.

Although this place had everything we wanted and hoped for, the extras such as minibar, wine from the wine cellar and the honesty bar, were expensive in comparison to all of the other places we stayed.

Overall, a great experience, highly recommended but pricey in comparison!!

  • Liked — Spectacular views
  • Disliked — price
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2007

We booked Hitgeheim after discovering Addo Park's lodges were all full, and we're very glad we did! The lodge is situated on top of the hills a 10 minute drive up a well signed track from the main road from Addo to Kirkwood. Accommodation is in the form of individual detached, thatched lodges. They're superbly appointed, with aircon, stunning bathrooms and some (as seclusion permits) have an additional outdoor shower overlooking the surrounding valleys.

Archie, the owner, knows anything and everything about the local area, game experiences, and South Africa in general and is happy to share tips and advice. The food is excellent, as is the selection of wine in the walk-in cellar. No 'fillers' in here, just great wine sourced by Archie himself from the SA winelands. We were here for Christmas and returned from our elephant tour in the lodge's open-top vehicle to be greeting with champagne and a superb Christmas buffet lunch of calamari risotto, steak, gammon, the list goes on...

All the buildings are non-smoking as is expected these days, but SA has a refreshingly hysteria-free take on smoking and you are well catered for at Hitgeheim if you do smoke. Our lodge had a fully covered veranda, and there is a large covered outdoor lounge in which to enjoy a tasty cigar with your fine wine after dinner. There is free wireless internet available in the restuarant/lounge areas. Great for catching up on those TripAdvisor reviews on a lazy afternoon in the sun.

It's slightly more expensive than the other places we have stayed, but you get what you pay for and in such light Hitgeheim is excellent value.

All in all a truly fantastic place to stay and an amazing end to our holiday.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Having to leave
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2007

Stayed here for 3 nights in late November. Booked directly with Archie and found it easier to arrange half day Addo safari with local guide, Schotia Tooth & Claw and Elephant Back Safari directly with him.
Ronel's cooking was very good - up to London fine dining standard. Set menu and freedom of the cellar suited us nicely , although we did find the single sitting a bit different, but with only 14 covers we understood.
The pool is v small, but the facilities very good. Room was great, clean, spacious and with brilliant views. High thread count on the linen and heavy weight drapes to keep out the sunrise.
One some point would be that we were really pleased with the staff but a couple of times we heard Archie's wife shouting to the staff for minor errors and generally talking to them like they were idiots - really unnecessary and left a slight taint for us.
No problems with same sex couple.

  • Liked — Spot of luxury!
  • Disliked — Long drive from main road
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uelzen
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2007

From the Hitgeheim Country Lodge you have fantastic views over the valley with a little river and citrus farms. The chalet was spacious and lovely furnished with a great bathroom, but unfortunately we didn´t have the one with the freestanding bathtub.

Breakfast was nice, but not as good as at other places, we expected more. Also the set dinner was a great experience with a very nice atmosphere, but not the highlight of our trip as we would have expected it because of the price (R220 pp).

Hitgeheim was by far the most expensive place we stayed in on our trip and as somebody else said before, it was not necessarily the best place, but we would certainly recommend staying there.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Send, Surrey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2007

This was our last stay on our holiday. The lodge was wonderful with spacious thatched chalets. Ours had wonderful valley views, an outdoor deck and sliding doors so that the whole side could be opened onto the deck. The huge bathroom was wet room style in black slate and included a slipper bath overlooking the view. The public areas were all comfortable and included an honesty bar with snacks before dinner. The dinner itself was wonderful with 5 well cooked courses. Archie is friendly and helpful - as are all the staff. Another great trip advisor find!

  • Liked — Wonderful rooms with great beds and bathrooms (and the food!)
  • Disliked — Nothing major
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hitgeheim Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hitgeheim Country Lodge

Address: off Route R336 | Outside the park, Addo, Sundays River Valley, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Sundays River Valley > Addo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Addo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hitgeheim Country Lodge 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hitgeheim Country Lodge is an owner managed, fully serviced five star thatched lodge outside of Addo Park. We pride ourselves in allowing our guests to enjoy the best elephant viewing in the world, be spoiled with ultimate luxury, cuisine, wine and service. We are on a small eco-reserve and your drive to the lodge is like being on your own Safari. Spectacular views from the lodge and all the rooms with Addo Park in the distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hitgeheim Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hitgeheim Country Hotel Addo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hitgeheim Country Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.