We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scrumptious Homecooked Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hazel's Organic Restaurant

Hazel's Organic Restaurant
R 335 Addo | Caesar Avenue, Addo, Sundays River Valley 6105, South Africa (Formerly Hazel's Organic Country Kitchen)
+27 82 573 1994
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 restaurants in Addo
Price range: $7 - $16
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Hazel's Kitchen takes pride in serving the freshest food possible. We grow most of our own produce, and strive to give our customers the best possible dining experience, for the most reasonable price. Now that our restaurant is fully licensed, we are serving ice cold draft beer from the tap. "" NEW TO HAZELS "" We have launched a tour company called Hazels Organic Food Safari. Tour the Addo Elephant National Park with us and experience the park and Hazels Organic Food at the same time. Various tours are available to suit almost any visitors requirements.
Grabouw, Western Cape, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Scrumptious Homecooked Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Honest food, very tasty. Exactly how it should be. The menu is not written down but told to you, which adds a nice touch but we got seduced by the spoken menu and neglected to ask prices! We were travelling on a budget so were a little surprised by the prices when the bill arrived but I think they do reflect the quality of the food and are not unreasonable - just a tad expensive if you are not from overseas. Also, some of the profits help to support a local creche so all-in-all a great business model that has a good heart.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    71
    18
    7
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Addo, South Africa
1 review
“A must have been restaurant.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Do you like honest, fresh and heart warming food? This is the place to go no fiddling or adding of unwanting chemicals! Vegetables fresh from the garden straight on your plate. And that is what you taste. So give you body a pleasure and go eat at Hazels.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, Western Cape, South Africa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The only good quality place to eat in Addo if you accomodation has no restaurant!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

After reading good reviews on TripAdvisor we really wanted to eat here. The were unfortunately closed on a Monday night and we actually extended our stay to specially eat here. The owners Hazel and Randy is extremely passionate and friendly. This is not a fine dining experience but almost a local is lekker experience. What you see is what you get!! Hazels art is on the walls, bright colors, solid people, good food. I had blesbuck fillet - excellent. My boyfriend had the kudu which was a bit to well done to his preference. I would prefer to say how I would like my meat done. The veggies was home cooked food. The starters was the best of everything for us. I had tomato soup and my boyfriend had sprigbok carpacio salad. You can take your own wine in as well. Not far to drive, its own your way to Aardvark Guest House.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy M, Owner at Hazel's Organic Restaurant, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Hazel and I would like to thank you for your generous review. If we had any impact on your enjoyment of the Sundays River Valley, and the Addo area, then we are truly pleased. Having guests visit us and enjoy our venue, gives us much pleasure, and we will certainly continue to try to improve. Our intention is to begin opening again on Monday after the April - June period is over. Honestly, we use this slow period in Addo, to recharge and rest up for the 7 day a week schedule we keep for the balance of the year.
PS: We are currently developing an interesting wine list which should allow our customers to make selections without finding it necessary to bring their own.

Thanks again
Randy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food and friendly service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

We went to Hazels for dinner while on honeymoon in Addo. The service was really good and the food was excellent! Unfortunately when we were there, Hazels didn't have a liquor license but we were able to take in a bottle of Champers without corkage which wa great. The food was super fresh and tasty with great organic veg and local venison. All round really good food. Only snag was finding the place. Signage needs to be sorted from the main road otherwise guests get lost.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy M, Owner at Hazel's Organic Restaurant, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you very much for the kind remarks. We really do enjoy serving our customers, and try to respond to any reasonable criticism. That being said, I would like to say we have received our liquor license since your stay in Addo. We also just took delivery of our new signage, to be installed on the main road in hopes that our visitors will find us without difficulty. Thanks again for the comments, and Hazel and I look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“WOW!!!! Wanna back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Like, like, like and more times like!!!
All food was fresh and tasty!
We tried kudu and impala, perfect!
Good owners, it was interested to communicate with them.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hazel's Organic Restaurant also viewed

Addo, Sundays River Valley
Addo, Sundays River Valley
 
Addo Elephant National Park, Greater Addo
Kirkwood, Sundays River Valley
 

Been to Hazel's Organic Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hazel's Organic Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.