We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gerald's Gift - Addo - South Africa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gerald's Gift Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Gerald's Gift Guest House to your Saves list
Gerald's Gift Guest House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   R336 to Kirkwood | Between Selbourne and Sunland, Addo, Sundays River Valley 6001, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 22 Addo B&B and Inns
Knysna
1 review
“Gerald's Gift - Addo - South Africa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

A beautiful guest house of high quality in a wonderful area and so close to Addo Elephant Park. Rooms were extremely comfortable and house is stunning as well as the lovely gardens to admire. Some pleasant walks in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    10
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
34
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Just spent a night at Gerald's gift mead Addo Elephant park, in Port Elizabeth. Really lovely rooms, personal friendly service by the owner herself, relaxed, allowed to Braai and use facilities.
Breakfast was fabulous, tailor made for each person, generally a wonderfully relaxed experience with great facilities including a swimming pool for the kids.

Thank you

Lee-Anne hodson

Room Tip: I looked at all the rooms, and I am very fussy, I would happily have had any one of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Perfect place!!! First of all, because of owners - nice, helpful people! Everything in the hotel is new, there is the big garden, good English breakfast. The owners advised us the good cafes for dinner, it was perfect too. Wanna back again to this place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London, South Africa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

In all honesty, I don't know if my husband and I would have stayed here if we didn't have a groupon (50% off). It was convenient because we spent the day at Addo Elephant Park so we didn't have to drive through to PE after our day of sightseeing. The prices are a little steep if you paying full price. And there isn't tv in the bedroom which would have been nice because there isn't much to do in Addo (not that I could see). I freaked out a little because I had to share my shower with a spider and web. But the breakfast was lovely. Lots of food and good. And the car was so dusty from the Elephant Park they even washed it which is included.

Room Tip: My husband and I stayed in the Avocet Room where the bathroom is part of the room (the toilet is sep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fribourg, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed at Gerald's Gift Guest House during our honeymoon. The first thing I said when we got there was: "Oh wow!!!" and it doesn't really do justice to the beauty of that place! I am uploading some pictures!

Susan is a wonderful hostess, she is incredibly nice and helpful and is also a wonderful cook!! She is a very warm person and we loved talking to her and her husband about our trip, we really felt at home at Gerald's Gift House. Susan arranged a few activities for us (like the elephant-back safari, unforgettable!!) and suggested a few more (btw you MUST visit the Daniell Cheetah Breeding project!).

Susan and her husband have 2 very sweet dogs, if you love dogs like me you'll have a great time playing with them, and if you don't like dogs don't worry, they won't bother you at all! They are very well behaved :-)

Breakfast is simply incredible! Everything is homemade (muffins, cookies, etc.) and absolutely delicious and the portions are very generous! The staff is very nice too.

Our room was beautiful and huge. It was actually a cottage surrounded by high trees and flowers. The first impression I had when we saw our room and the property was that I have just entered in a magical land. Everything was so perfect and romantic! Gerald's Gift has a huge garden, and we haven't seen anything like it during our whole trip!

We spent 4 weeks in SA and stayed in many hotels, guesthouses and b&b. Gerald's Gift is one of the guesthouses we loved the most, so we heartly recommend it! Thank you so much Susan, we really hope to come back some day!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We spent three nights at this special guesthouse.The gardens were fabulous as was the room.The breakfast was first class and staff very helpful we also had our car washed every morning.Thank you for a excellent few days.Mick and Christine

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Your room is in a big, quiet and lovely garden. Nature all around. Rooms with a lot of space. Good breakfast. Excellent service of the staff. Addo Elephant Park nearby, Some private game reserves as well.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gerald's Gift Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gerald's Gift Guest House

Address: R336 to Kirkwood | Between Selbourne and Sunland, Addo, Sundays River Valley 6001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Sundays River Valley > Addo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Addo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gerald's Gift Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the beauty and tranquility of this charming 4 star Guest House which offers luxury accommodation in the heart of the Sundays River Valley and is 15 kms away from, the malaria free and world renowned, Addo Elephant National Park. Gerald's Gift is situated in a beautiful and well-manicured park-like garden on the banks of the Coerney with an abundant variety of bird life in the adjacent reeds and riverine bush. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Gerald's Gift Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gerald's Gift Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.