We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anticipation Villa & Chef Kai's Gazebo Dinner Exceed Expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tryall Club

Save Saved
You added Tryall Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tryall Club
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Rte. A1, Sandy Bay, Montego Bay, Jamaica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Sandy Bay
Houston, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Anticipation Villa & Chef Kai's Gazebo Dinner Exceed Expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

It has only been a week since my husband and I returned from Jamaica, and we already are itching to go back. We stayed with three other couples at the Anticipation villa and were thrilled with our experience. First, the rooms and living spaces at Anticipation were clean, spacious, and well-kept throughout our stay. However, we spent most of our time outdoors enjoying the pool and absolutely breathtaking view. The staff at Anticipation was friendly, attentive, and went above and beyond to make sure our needs were met. Gregory, especially, surpassed our expectations.

The food and dining ambience at Anticipation were incredible. We chose to eat our meals out on the patio, and the staff ensured that we had different placemats and table decor for each meal to help make every dining experience feel special and unique. Each meal the chef prepared was fresh, flavorful, and memorable.

By far the biggest highlight of the trip was the night we arranged for a private dinner at the gazebo on the water, where Chef Kai Bechinger prepared a special meal for us that consisted of a four-course meal that was out of this world. Before each course, he would come out to the gazebo and tell us about the ingredients (a lot of which were locally sourced) and preparation of the meal. His lobster bisque was a hit at the table, as was his surf and turf main course. This private dinner opportunity is a MUST when staying at the Tryall Club. It was a definite highlight for all of the couples on the trip and something we plan to do again.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Anticipation villa and plan to return in the near future. It's a hot vacation spot that works wonderfully for couples and families alike. We look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    154
    16
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
70
22
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

It is almost difficult to put into words the incredible experience we had at the Sugar Hill Villa at the Tryall Club! It was the most relaxing vacation we have ever had... and we traveled with our 4 small children and 5 others! Our family consisted of 6 adults and 9 children under the age of 11. Sugar Hill is spacious enough to have quiet alone time whenever you desire and yet provides such a beautiful and cozy setting as well. Upon arrival we were greeted by a joyful and genuinely caring staff ready to meet our every expectation and more. That is exactly what they did! Somehow they managed to keep the villa spotless and pristine while we enjoyed ourselves to the fullest for 7 days. Our clothing was laundered, folded, pressed and returned to our suite seemingly within minutes of changing. The staff inquired and knew not only each child's name and their ages... but even their preferences for food and drinks. Smoothies by the pool... or snacks in the hammock. Each meal was prepared and the table set at the dining time we requested. I know exactly how many times our entire group of 15 has had the luxury to sit down at the same table and enjoy a relaxing meal together because they have all occurred at Sugar Hill. (typically the adults are running around getting everything together for the kiddos and eat the cold food when they can!) This year we will make it 40 when we return for another week to Sugar Hill. I have learned the staff is the same and the children cannot wait to see everyone again. As a parent, this memory is priceless! I feel that Sugar Hill is a private oasis amidst many possible activities if you wish! We did a scavenger hunt at the Great House, went to a traditional Jamaican barbecue with live reggae music down by beach, paddled around in the sea kayaks, went for long walks, snorkeled, jumped on the water trampoline, exercised, had massages, swam in the pool and the ocean, played golf, hunted for sea glass on sea glass beach, took family pictures and laughed until we thought we could not laugh anymore! My 10 year old recently declared, 'Mommy when we go back to Sugar Hill this year I think I will love it even more than last year because I know not to take even a second of our time there for granted... it is the most special family place!' It is our hope to return each year to make memories that will certainly last a lifetime!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Cielo Villa and Tryall are fantastic. Valerie's cooking is superb. Everald, the butler, was always bringing us great drinks and served so elegantly. Beverly as the head of the house made everything run smoothly. The gardens and laundry service are fantastic. All the staff are so kind and welcoming. Cielo's view is breathtaking and the villa is equipped with every amenity imaginable. Tryall is a wonderful place to which we hope to return soon.

Room Tip: The little house at Cielo is in its own private setting but only steps from the pool and main villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GREENVILLE,SC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stayed week of june 8-june 15. Beautiful house directly on the beach with your own pool. The staff was incredible. tanesiha the head of house, steve the chef, Carmen the laundress and renville the garden and pool man. No cooking ,no cleaning., just pure relaxation. The food was better than most restaurants. You make the decisions on what type of food, and steve does the rest. Jerry the general manager went above and beyond when it comes to customer satisfaction.
Most beautiful place ever. We will RETURN.THE STAFF MADE OUR VACATION THE BEST EVER!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We just returned from a week at Bumpers Nest. Being waited on, served superb food and relaxing at this beautiful property, we felt like Hollywood jet setters. Staff was great, cook was to die for and the whole club experience was phenomenal

Room Tip: Not a bad square inch of this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterford
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I just returned from a 4 days of bliss at Tryall. The family took a number of villas from Hanover Grange to Yellowbird - 6 villas in total and all were fantastic. Yes the villas were very nice but it is the staff at each villa and the hotel itself that make Tryall probably the best get away location in the world. They accommodated every request from the food type at the villa to a specific wedding request to the wedding planner Melissa.

Special mention has to made of Richard Ferdinand - the guest services director, Nicole Campbell the guest services manager and Michael who is the resident golf pro. Again, they were simply brilliant

I can only say that every person who came to Tryall for this wedding gave the whole experience a 10 out of 10. Food, villa quality, facilities such as swimming, beach, golf, tennis etc - one could not ask for more

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We just returned from Montego Bay, Jamaica, spending one week with my daughter, her husband, their daughter, his mother, me and my husband. There were five adults and one child. We stayed at the "Bumpers Nest" property at the Tryall Club. The villa had four bedrooms, two on the main level and two on the lower level. There was an open courtyard in the center of the villa, open verandah and pool overlooking the ocean. The ocean view is priceless and breathtaking! The staff was outstanding and friendly. The meals that were prepared by the cook was very good and I appreciated having the local foods like peas and rice, salt fish and cabbage and I can go on with the food, but its making me hungry. We were given several golf carts to get around the property. The property is gated. We spent most of our time relaxing at the villa, reading on the verandah, in the pool at sun up, and tasting all the local fruits. This was a breath-taking experience. A definite MUST!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tryall Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryall Club

Address: Rte. A1, Sandy Bay, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay > Sandy Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Sandy Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tryall Club 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exclusive Caribbean country club resort, spread out over a lush 2,200-acre property on the quiet, pristine north coast of Jamaica.Add an 18th-century Georgian Great House, a celebrated golf course, a state-of-the-art tennis center and a white-sand beach. Complete the picture with 69 villas, all privately owned, tastefully decorated, and fully equipped with a welcoming staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Tryall Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryall Club Hotel Sandy Bay
Tryall Hotel Montego Bay
Tryall Resort Montego Bay
Tryall Club Jamaica/Sandy Bay, Montego Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tryall Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.