We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super lunch at seaside terrace” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tryall Club

Save Saved
You added Tryall Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tryall Club
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Rte. A1, Sandy Bay, Montego Bay, Jamaica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Sandy Bay
Jamaica
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Super lunch at seaside terrace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Wonderful seaside terrace at the beach club at Tryall. The menu for lunch although small was really well chosen for an informal lunch. The Caesar salad was exceptional, this simple world renown salad is a great leveler of restaurant. They are often shameful. The beach club's was excellent, fresh croutons, freshly grated Parmesan and a fabulous dressing as it should be. Great service, great value, great location!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    154
    16
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
70
22
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Dora, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Bougainvillea House was amazing and the staff was great. What a beautiful view! We had some stormy days but those were just as pleasant as the sunny ones. This house is set up PERFECTLY and every detail is just so. We couldn't have asked for more. We didn't play golf this time, but the course looked beautiful. I can't say enough about how wonderful this house was, however, I do have a couple of suggestions for the Tryall Club property. The beach should be combed regularly for seaweed and trash ... this is standard on most Carribean properties. Also, the beach club dining area is kind of dingy. The food was actually fantastic, but everything looked sort of shabby. I know it's a beach club, but there's some room for improvement. Also, in terms of merchandising ... more kids clothes with the club name would be fun. Our children like to have them as souvenirs to remember their adventures!

Room Tip: I would recommend Bougainvillea House to anyone. We are already planning on returning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We just returned from a magical vacation with friends at Tryall Club. We rented No Le Hace villa which was outstanding. The house was beautifully decorated. Each bedroom was very comfortable and had a private bath, The staff was awesome. We ate most of our meals at the house. The chef checked in with us to make sure he was preparing just what we wanted - to include appetizers in the evening by the pool before dinner, and special meals for a couple of our guests who did not eat shellfish. We could not have asked for a better venue for a group of couples to have a reunion. We will be back for certain. I recommend buying the Club MoBay pass for expedited travel through customs at the airport. The concierge at Tryall can sign you up for it.

Room Tip: All rooms at the villa are equally nice which is what made it great for a couples trip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The views from this incredible villa come up in my dreams all the time. They are incredible! The staff was so so nice and accomodating. Best vacation I have ever been on. You do exactly what you want to do and nothing else. No laundry, no meal planning, no cooking. It's too wonderful. This villa in particular is so unique. It is classic, old school: you feel like you are at a sugar plantation back in the day. All dark mahogony and classic furnishings. Food was fantastic. Make sure you have at least one meal on the gazebo!

Room Tip: I toured some other villas. They are all very nice, but No Le Hace has the best view, hands down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, CT
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

There is no vacation on earth like a Sugar Hill vacation. We had the luxury of
staying at Sugar Hill (our 4th trip to Tryall) for the most perfect week last
April and will be returning again this April…and likely every year to follow as
we've decided this is a family tradition we want to keep going. There is no
place better! Our group consisted of 6 adults and 9 kids and it couldn't have
been more relaxing or easier. I don't know if another place exists where that
many people could so comfortably stay under one roof!? Arrival at Sugar HIll
literally took my breath away. The view is incredible, the grounds perfectly
manicured, and the house has a very comfortable and relaxing feel. The staff
was there for every thing we could possibly ask for, and more, but never in the
way. Somehow Kevin miraculously appeared whenever we needed him, and
disappeared when we didn't. Marika cooked every meal to perfection - delicious
fruits and vegetables from the garden, even my husband (a chef) and the kids
left every meal saying "WOW!" With a large party this worked so well - kids
could swim in the pool right until the lunch was on the table and head right
back to what they were doing while parents could leisurely dine. We
collectively decided that if we were on a "standard" vacation that mealtime with
15 people would be the biggest hassle imaginable - at Sugar Hill mealtime is one
of the most relaxing times. The linens and beds were as comfortable as our beds
at home, the bathrooms fancy hotel-like, and our clothes were laundered so
quickly that we barely had time to dirty them. On our last day, Beverly
insisted on cleaning my husbands new, white, Tryall golf hat before we went home
because he had sweat in it all week. It looked brand new when she returned it
to him before we left for the airport. Horace, the gardener, was so sweet to
take our crew around the property and let us sample the fruits right off the
trees. The kids loved this educational experience and took back many stories to
school upon our return. This being our 4th trip to Tryall we knew we loved it -
the resort has a great feel - but after experiencing Sugar Hill our love for
Tryall has reached a new level. This villa has something special, our memories
will last a lifetime!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Mirage
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Our family of 14 spent our second Thanksgiving Holiday at Sugar Hill and it was even better than before!! The accommodations continue to be pristine, the food imaginative and delicious, and the staff eager to insure our stay was above expectations! Of course,Tryall is a little slice of Heaven, and the Sugar Hill Villa holds a commanding view of the entire surroundings. It is such an easy trip to plan and pack for, and the airport transfers and escorts through immigration make it a breeze. Do yourself and family or friends a favor, and visit Jamaica and make Sugar Hill your escape from reality!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

My family and I have been going to Tryall since I was a little girl. In total we have probably been 10 times at least, both over Christmas Break and March Break. We have stayed at every villa from Calypso, Blue Bird, Sundance, The Great House, Phoenix, Point of View and Serenity, and not once have we had a bad experience. The villa staff and great house staff are all wonderful people. From the Crab Races, to the Manager's Cocktail Party, to the dinners on the pier - everything is so well organized and beautifully presented. I myself hope to get married there some day! The golf course is also by far the best and most beautiful on the island. If your looking for a romantic holiday or a wonderful family vacation, Tryall has it all!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandy Bay
Family-friendly...
Show More
17.1 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
Luxury, Free in...
Show More
64.6 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 39 in Ocho Rios
5.0 of 5 stars 646 reviews
Romantic, Luxur...
Show More
19.6 mi away
Iberostar Grand Rose Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Romantic...
Show More
3.2 mi away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
Beach, Pool, Ro...
Show More
14.8 mi away
Half Moon, A RockResort
Half Moon, A RockResort
#4 of 63 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 1,116 reviews
Resort hotel, B...
Show More
12.8 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tryall Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryall Club

Address: Rte. A1, Sandy Bay, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay > Sandy Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Sandy Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tryall Club 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exclusive Caribbean country club resort, spread out over a lush 2,200-acre property on the quiet, pristine north coast of Jamaica.Add an 18th-century Georgian Great House, a celebrated golf course, a state-of-the-art tennis center and a white-sand beach. Complete the picture with 69 villas, all privately owned, tastefully decorated, and fully equipped with a welcoming staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Tryall Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryall Club Hotel Sandy Bay
Tryall Hotel Montego Bay
Tryall Resort Montego Bay
Tryall Club Jamaica/Sandy Bay, Montego Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tryall Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.