We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FABULOUS RELAXATION AT KARMA BAY” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tryall Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Tryall Club to your Saves list
Tryall Club
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Rte. A1, Sandy Bay, Montego Bay, Jamaica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sandy Bay
Middleton, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“FABULOUS RELAXATION AT KARMA BAY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011

I took my whole family to Tryall based on a friends recommendation. It was better than advertised. Karma Bay is right on the edge of the sea. The setting was fantastic. The cool breeze off of the water kept the 85 degree days very comfortable. As a grandparent, the trip included my children and grandchildren. Every one of us had the best vacation. The grandkids loved the pool. My son and I golfed almost every day on the great Tryall course, The location was great but the stars of the week were the service and meals that the staff at this Villa provided for all of us. Every night at dinner we all just marveled at how great everything was. We told the cook what we wanted (chicken, beef, pork) and she decided how to prepare it. Every meal was 5 star. As you can tell from my enthusiasm while writing this, I wish that I was still there. I got back on May 11th and it's the 13th when I'm writing this. I can't wait to go back. The location is about 30 minutes from Montego Bay so it's close enough to venture there if you want. Suffice to say that our vacation was the best of the best because of the combination of the villa and it's location, and the staff and the golf. On a scale of 1-10 it's a 15. No, I'm not being paid to say this. It's truly how I, and my entire family, feel. I hope this helps you make your decision. Enjoy.

Mike from Boston

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    17
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
74
26
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Avon by the Sea, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

We stayed at the Tryall for 5 nights, and found it to be the most amazing place we have ever stayed. We stayed in the Reef House, which is right on the water. We could walk right out of our house and snorkel. I know why they call it the Reef House. The best reefs in all of Jamaica are right off the property here. We saw so many tropical fish, sting rays, octopus, squid, lion fish, etc.. The staff was amazing, and really made the vacation special. The kids stayed occupied, and had a great time. But I do have to say, if you have very active teens, who are not in to golf or tennis, there's not a lot for teenagers to do. My kids enjoyed the beach and the pool, we kayaked and sailed, right off the property, and they golfed a few times. But other than that, it was just relaxing in pure bliss.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2011

I spent my family vacation at Sea Salt Villa in Tryall Club with my kids and grand kids, ages 2-11. Each year we vacation at a different place, the kids up until this vacation enjoyed the Disney cruises. But the week at Sea Salt far exceeded any other- hands down! First, the Sea Salt staff are amazing which in addition to the beautiful premises made the stay so spectacular. There was plenty for the kids to do, everything from scavenger hunts to snorkeling to kayaking and bird watching. Everyday they they chose a different activity with TJ who is on staff at Tryall Club and he really knows his stuff! Although Chef Norman at Sea Salt is an amazing chef, we dined in the gazebo one night at the end of the pier and the experience was magical. I met with the Chef at Tryall Club the day before to plan the menu. The food was unbelievable, the wine was excellent and the sunset on the water- to die for! We will return to Tryall and we will stay only at Sea Salt. My husband and I have traveled to over 80 countries so have many experiences with which to compare. Tryall is worth every penny
plus some!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

Tryall Club is one of the best vacation spots I've had the privilage to visit. The club is beautiful, the staff is friendly, the golf course and caddies are first class, and there is a ton to do down at the ocean. I reccomend it to anyone who hasn't had the chance to visit.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

A couple of weeks ago I was lucky enough to attend a gathering of old college friends at the Seafore Villa at the Tryall Club. What a great experience. I didn't realize when we booked that even when not golfing, everyone travels around the club on golf carts. Nothing like grabbing a cold red stripe and jumping in your golf cart to head down to the beach and play some pick-up volleyball. It is its own little self-contained paradise, so leave your stress in the U.S.

The staff at Seafore were great. Alvin was always helpful and offered wonderful service. Naomi was a master chef, preparing multiple delicious courses for every meal. We got fresh fruit, and sampled local ingredients and dishes that you typically do not find in the States. Our rooms were kept immaculately clean, which is a huge compliment if you saw all the messes we made.

A few guys golfed; i did not. There is plenty to do and see, even if golf isn't your thing: beautiful surroundings and everything you could want in a relaxing vacation in the carribean. Thanks Seafore staff and Tropical Islands Retreats for the best vacation. ever.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

From the moment we left the airport until we returned, the Tryall Club (and Seafore villa staff) provided our group with every component of a perfect luxury vacation. The accommodations were clean, comfortable, and included all of the "little things" that make for a pleasant trip. The staff was friendly and went above and beyond in every aspect of the job. The grounds of the club are immaculate and stunningly beautiful. It was a pleasure to just drive around in our golf cart to explore. The beach (and activities that are available: volleyball, lacrosse, snorkeling, sailing, basketball, soccer, etc.) was the perfect way to spend the days and the nights at great house and poolside at the villa could not have been more enjoyable. The golf course is a full treat. If you are a golfer, definitely set aside time to play it. I could not recommend the Tryall club (and the Seafore villa where we stayed) more highly. I look forward to many visits in the future.

Room Tip: Seafore Villa = Perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2011

I came home from my stay at the Seafore in the Tryall Club and a friend asked me, "So, how was your trip"; I replied "I think it may have been the best time of my LIFE"; He then concluded, "WOW, that's saying ALOT given that you've traveled over 40 countries".

That dialogue best sums up my time at Tryall. I've seen a lot of places, experienced a lot of amazing service, seen a lot of beauty, eaten a lot of gourmet food and I can say with bold confidence that this is the most spectacular place with the most gracious service I have ever experienced.

We used Tropical Island Retreats, which is a family owned vacation service and it is so nice to have someone who cares SO MUCH about the quality of your vacation. Their assistance played a HUGE role in my trip being so phenomenal.
http://tropicalislandretreats.com/

Room Tip: Go through Tropical Island Retreats.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tryall Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryall Club

Address: Rte. A1, Sandy Bay, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay > Sandy Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sandy Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tryall Club 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exclusive Caribbean country club resort, spread out over a lush 2,200-acre property on the quiet, pristine north coast of Jamaica.Add an 18th-century Georgian Great House, a celebrated golf course, a state-of-the-art tennis center and a white-sand beach. Complete the picture with 69 villas, all privately owned, tastefully decorated, and fully equipped with a welcoming staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tryall Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryall Club Hotel Sandy Bay
Tryall Hotel Montego Bay
Tryall Resort Montego Bay
Tryall Club Jamaica/Sandy Bay, Montego Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tryall Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.