We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great and laid-back B&B!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monte do Sapeiro

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carrapateira
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Monte do Sapeiro
Vilarinha, Carrapateira 8670-238, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Carrapateira B&B and Inns
Bern, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great and laid-back B&B!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Everything was perfect! We had a wonderful stay at Monte Sapeiro and spent over a week at this peaceful place. From the rooms you have a fantastic view over the valley. Natercia and Pedro are very kinds hosts :-)!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
24
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I stayed here with a friend of mine and can confirm that it was absolutely beautiful. The design of the rooms and the kitchen-social area are gorgeous. The area around the resort/bnb is natural and not very developed. There are not big hotels, but great place to eat wonderful seafood. I think it would be a great place to go to in winter as well.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

My girlfriend and I spent an extended weekend at Monte de Sapeiro in September 2012 and had an absolutely lovely stay. Monte de Sapeiro is the perfect tonic for city dwellers like us. It is, by far, one of most tranquil places we have ever stayed at, and is now our first choice for accommodation in the western Algarve.

We really appreciated the quietness of the valley and the omnipresent aroma of eucalyptus trees. Monte de Sapeiro combines a rustic farmstead setting with all the modern conveniences: contemporary room furnishings and bath fixtures, free WiFi and even a Nespresso machine. Each (spotless!) room has its own private veranda overlooking the valley, where one could easily spend the day napping or reading. This is a place where a person could really relax!

The B&B hosts, Natércia and Pedro, really went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. Natércia even baked a cake for my 40th birthday. It was delicious! The breakfasts offered a wide choice of healthy foods as well as Natércia’s homemade Portuguese pastries and specialties.

If you’re looking to get away from it all, enjoy some good food and still be a short drive to the beach, Monte de Sapeiro is the place. We’ll definitely go back at the first opportunity

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We had one of our best holidays ever at Monte do Sapeiro, in part because of the stunning surroundings and also because our hosts were absolutely lovely and exceptionally hospitable.

Monte do Sapeiro is a little ranch-style B&B on a hillside about 10 minutes' drive from Carrapateira. It's gorgeously decorated in an artisanal style, down to the very last detail.

The two guest rooms have an uninterrupted view over a lush, unspoilt valley. Each room has floor-to-ceiling glass doors onto this view, and a little patio / lawn area with a pair of deck chairs. What's particularly wonderful about this setup is that it's so open yet totally private: you won't get anybody walking past your window - not even the guests in the other room - and the valley is virtually empty. The place is pretty remote so it's incredibly quiet at night and you can see a skyful of stars!

The B&B is unusual in that its dining room (a beautifully converted outbuilding that was used for brewing schnapps in days gone by) also has a kitchen for communal use, so you can do a bit of self-catering if you wanted to. The kitchen is very well-equipped and the whole building is utterly charming, with homemade jams and local crafts displayed on shelves (available to buy), cookies in jars, books, an armchair, an iPod dock, a Nespresso machine and an honesty bar. There is also a lovely terrace where you can eat al fresco.

Our hosts were so helpful and friendly, and nothing seemed too much trouble for them. They made our stay, which was for my boyfriend's 40th birthday, very special and memorable indeed. Thank you so much, we can't wait to visit again one day!

Room Tip: The two rooms are virtually identical, so it won't matter which one you're allocated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisboa, Portugal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Great location near the beaches! Comfortable and clean and well decorated rooms!
Really enjoyed the breakfast and all the food you can have here! Just ask and Natercia and Pedro will get it for you!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Monte do Sapeiro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte do Sapeiro

Address: Vilarinha, Carrapateira 8670-238, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Carrapateira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Carrapateira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monte do Sapeiro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Monte do Sapeiro to your Saves list