We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is so good I hardly want to tell you about it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monte da Vilarinha

Monte da Vilarinha
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carrapateira
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Monte da Vilarinha
Save
You added Monte da Vilarinha to your Saves list
N120, Carrapateira, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Carrapateira B&B and Inns
Madrid, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“This place is so good I hardly want to tell you about it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Depending on what you want from a holiday this place may or may not suit you. We wanted sun, 'boutique hotel' size with a garden for our little boy to run in, pool (given Atlantic Ocean is so cold), restaurante (so we could eat in peace with baby phone on) and it had to be 'nice'! This place was exactly all of those things, calm, beautiful, personable and intuitive service, delicious food and very stylish surrounds! We hope to return...Good luck getting a booking!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    4
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

My husband and I along with my 3 year old son stayed here on a weekend several months ago. We loved everything about this place. From the apartment decor, to the heated floors (which made our stay soooo cosy), to the beautifull surroundings and ofcourse, last but not least, the delicious breakfasts eggs, pancakes, crispy bacon, mozarella and tomato salad...).
If you're looking for a place that combines comfort with nature, then this is definately the place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The outstanding service would already be a reason to be there. Add to that the amazing confortable and huge rooms, floor heating, nice breakfast and very beautiful view. I have left the place wondering when we could come back. Great place to spend romantic time for couples or to relax with the family.

Room Tip: we have stayed in one of the houses up in the mountain, away from the pool and the breakfast area. N...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cascais
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Whenever I feel like getting disconnected from the world I'll come back to Vilarinha.
This B&B at the Southwestern coast of Algarve in what apparently is no man's land. The access is made through a rough road.
Yet this better not be desincouraging as, once you get there, you don't want to leave, not because of the road but because the place is absolutely amazing. It is very quiet - You can't hear a sound - beautiful - incredible countryside view and, most amazing, cellphones have no signal, and the rooms have no TV! It's perfect!
For me the Vilarinha is the perfect place to get offline from the world and from day-by-day stress and relax.
The service is very friendly. Good breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012 via mobile

For once in my life my expectations were exceeded. From the location to the rooms to the breakfast - simply beautiful. If you are traveling w/ kids all the better. This place has thought out in detail all the little things to please & make their stay that much more comfy from providing step stools in the bathroom to DVDs they can watch in the evenings after a day out in nature. Close by to all the beautiful beaches & little villages for local restaurants & shops. Wi-fi is available in communal area only but once your there trust me - you won't mind. Service is good just don't expect hotel type. They are more laid back but sincere & refreshing. Thank you!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

There are simply not enough superlatives to describe this place! We were reluctant to leave and therefore nearly missed our plane!

- Great lay-back atmosphere (this applies to both the mini-resort as the surrounding surf city's)
- Stunning beaches (miraculously suitable for experienced surfers as well as toddlers)
- Lovely surroundings (nature reserve)
- Almost impossible to choose between staining in and going out (sport, diner, culture, funpark's etc.: you will find it all nearby)
- Lovely accommodation
- The best chocolate cake ever
- Wonderfull staff

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

We have now stayed at Vilharina twice, it is our treat when we are travelling up that western coast of the Algarve. We first found it two years ago, when it had only just opened weeks prior. Money has been no object when developing this wonderfull self catering accomodation (B&B). It is I believe owned by the Chairman of one of Portugal top football clubs and one can see the quality in the fixtures and fittings. The rooms are all different sizes, either just rooms or a few apartments. You take breakfast either in the air conditioned breakfast room or on the terrace. The grounds are a feature of this property, it is sat in a dell only a 10 minute car journey from the incredible Atlantic Beaches near Carrapateira. A wonderfull pool area does mean you can simply relax and do nothing. Obviously the fittings are all new and therefore everything is in very good condition. All the rooms and appartments have large doors opening up onto their own private balconys. The rooms are very spacious with a seperate toilet and a seperate bathroom which if you are a little shy are not for you! The bathroom and open shower has a ceiling to floor glass panel, which means that you can either shower or bath whilst enjoying the view over the valley. Or in my wifes case relaxing in the bath, enjoying the view....with a glass of wine! On both our stays in May/June and again in mid September there were no more than 8 - 10 people staying which may be due to the price 130 euros per night is not cheap, but it is something special. There are no TV's in the rooms but there is a TV lounge with large flatscreen TV, surround sound DVD and a very comprehensive library in many languages. We will continue to use this establishment as our stopover and just enjoy its peace and tranquility even if it is just for a couple of nights.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monte da Vilarinha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte da Vilarinha

Address: N120, Carrapateira, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Carrapateira
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Carrapateira
Number of rooms: 29

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monte da Vilarinha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.