We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cooks Oasis Holiday Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Cooks Oasis Holiday Villas to your Saves list
The Cooks Oasis Holiday Villas
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   PO Box 497, Arorangi, Cook Islands   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Stuttgart, Germany
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We stayed at The Cooks Oasis for the first 7 nights of our Cook Island visit. The comfortable and very clean rooms are nicely laid out on the property, ensuring your privacy. They are well equiped, there is all you need for your cooking in the kitchen, which we used almost every day for our lunch/dinner cooking. There is even a small save in the rooms.
In the family room you also find plenty of books, in case you run out of your reading material, as well as a good selection of DVDs.
Roselle and Eric are super friendly and make great hosts, helping with bookings and reservations as well as providing tips on what's on on the island.
The beach, which we almost always had to ourselfs, ist just a few steps away. Snorkling is good, just 5 minutes up the beach are the "black rocks" one of Rarotongas best snorkling spots.
We had a scooter, which comes in handy when it comes to shopping and getting around the Island, and plain and simple is just fun to buzz around the island with.
The Cooks Oasis is definetly a place we plan to come back to on our next visit to the Cook Islands.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
5-star-greenie, Part Owner / Manager at The Cooks Oasis Holiday Villas, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Kia Orana der Reisende 10,
Many thanks for your great feedback on Trip Advisor. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at The Cooks Oasis Holiday Villas and that you also enjoyed our location. The self catering facilities that all our villas contain are certainly very handy, and of course we have some great restaurants nearby too - the best of both worlds!
We hope the remainder of your time in the Cook Islands was wonderful and we look forward to seeing you next time you venture to the Cooks :)
Kia Manuia,
Christine Johnson, for the Cooks Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    45
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
45
104
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Benicia, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

My wife and I spent 12 days at Cooks Oasis and were very pleased. The location, on the sunset side of the island, is quiet and within walking distance to some good food. It's also a quick walk to Dive Rarotonga for scuba. The rooms were spacious and well appointed with a full kitchen and cooking gear. The owners, Roselle and Eric, are not only gracious but very helpful. Their knowledge of the island is extensive. We loved the Kikau Hut next door for dinner, the beach for sunsets and the casual ambiance. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the upstairs 2 bedroom unit and found the views and the breeze to be wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
5-star-greenie, Part Owner / Manager at The Cooks Oasis Holiday Villas, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Kia Orana Craig M,
Thanks so much for your great feedback on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased that you had a great time enjoying not only your stay at The Cooks Oasis Holiday Villas but also our fantastic location on the island :)
Kia Manuia!
Christine Johnson (on behalf of the Cooks Team).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I stayed 6 nights with my son, i would definitely recommend staying here from the welcoming and informative staff as well as a great location for a beautiful sunset. our stay was everything and more you could ask for, my 5yr old loved the short walk to the beach and the selection of beach toys and DVD's they had to offer. I couldn't fault the Cooks Oasis, i can't wait to return for an even longer stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
5-star-greenie, Part Owner / Manager at The Cooks Oasis Holiday Villas, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Kia Orana Lailaandisaiah,
Thank you very much for taking the time to place your great feed back on Trip Advisor. We appreciate it! We are rapt that you and your son had a wonderful holiday at The Cooks Oasis, enjoying the close proximity to the wonderful beach, the excellent service, and the great DVD selection :) . The beach is wonderful and the sunsets are magical... We look forward to seeing you again next time, don't forget our returning guest special!
Kia Manuia and kind regards from the Cooks Oasis Team.
Christine Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Our group spent 3 nights at Cooks Oasis Villas. The rooms were very comfortable and nicely appointed. Our hosts were very helpful with island information and in making tour bookings. Our flight from Auckland didn't arrive until late in the evening and our hosts arranged airport pick up and our driver escorted us directly to our rooms. Our hosts also provided a continental breakfast for the first morning of our stay. Beach equipment was provided without charge. The weather was rather warm during our stay and use of the A/C unit required an extra fee.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
5-star-greenie, Part Owner / Manager at The Cooks Oasis Holiday Villas, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Kia Orana IntrepidPhoenix_AZ,
Many thanks for choosing to stay at The Cooks Oasis Holiday Villas for your group booking and also for taking the time to feedback on Trip Advisor.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay, enjoying the front desk service, Villas, and facilities. The complimentary first morning breakfast is a nice touch that we enjoy providing for our guests, especially convenient for those guests that arrive on the night flights.
Thanks again and we hope to see you again :)
Kia Manuia and kind regards from the Cooks Oasis Team.
Christine Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I travelled to the cooks with my Mother and Sister for a Wedding. We stayed in a 1 bedroom studio villa and found it to be very spacious! Great hosts who told us all we needed to know about the island and organized anything we needed (including car and scooter hire) The shower pressure was amazing! The beach is close. And did I mention the hosts were just fantastic?!

Would recommend The Cooks Oasis as a one stop shop for accommodation in Raro.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
5-star-greenie, Part Owner / Manager at The Cooks Oasis Holiday Villas, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Kia Orana AnnaHeritage!
Thanks so much for taking the time to feedback on Trip Advisor - we really appreciate it and are rapt that you loved your stay.
The 1 Bedroom Tropical Villas are great for families, great to hear that this villa type suited you well and that you enjoyed the spaciousness, and the Cooks Oasis Hospitality!
Meitaki Maata, and we look forward to seeing you again!
Kind regards, Christine Johnson on behalf of the Cooks Team :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I spent 6 nights at The Cooks Oasis Holiday Villas and could not find fault in any thing.
The Hosts were extremely helpful in booking tours for me and were very helpful in giving advice re transport and places of interest. Eric went out of his way to drive me to the Crown Resort where they were having an Island Night with dinner and dancing. Had I caught the bus I would have missed part of the show. The beautifully served complimentary breakfast was also much appreciated.

Room Tip: I was very happy in Room 7 and hope to return one day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
5-star-greenie, Part Owner / Manager at The Cooks Oasis Holiday Villas, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Kia Orana Seaview2013!
Meitaki Maata (thank you very much!) for your Trip Advisor feedback. We are rapt that you enjoyed your stay at The Cooks Oasis, enjoying the service and hospitality and also your Studio Villa accommodation.
We look forward to welcoming you back again one day :)
Kind regards from the Cooks Oasis Team.
Kia Manuia!
Christine Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We would recommend 'The Cooks Oasis Holiday Villas' outstanding service/hospitality to anyone!
It was our first time at Raro and they helped booked tours, restaurants, airport transfers, scooter hire, etc. Provided extensive advice on local attractions and outer islands. Most important.. Lovely Hosts!.. Thanks to the Johnson family for making our stays a memorable one!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
5-star-greenie, Part Owner / Manager at The Cooks Oasis Holiday Villas, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Kia Orana Apungkumba,
Thanks so much for your great feed back on Trip Advisor. We do strive to give excellent customer service so your feed back is very much appreciated! We are more than happy to share our local knowledge and assist all our guests with bookings and recommendations - we feel that this enhances not only our guests experience at The Cooks Oasis, but also enhances the overall holiday experience in the wonderful Cook Islands :)
Kind regards from the Cooks Oasis Team.
Kia Manuia!
Christine Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cooks Oasis Holiday Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cooks Oasis Holiday Villas

Address: PO Box 497, Arorangi, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Arorangi
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Arorangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cooks Oasis Holiday Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cooks Oasis Holiday Villas are located in Arorangi, Rarotonga. We have 8 self catering villas nestled within tropical gardens. Enjoy our fresh water cool-off pool and other great complimentary facilities including snorkelling gear, sun lounges, kayaks and beach towels. We are on the western, sunny and sheltered side of the island where you can watch the fantastic sunsets. The Arorangi district is only 15 minutes to the main Township of Avarua and 10 minutes to the airport. Take less than a minute stroll down the path to the white sand beach and beautiful lagoon. Perfect for sunbathing, relaxing, and watching the whales cruise by (in winter). For some family fun try out our kayaks, or go snorkeling and view the tropical fish. Self-cater or enjoy eating out at one of 6 restaurants in easy walking distance. Our secluded property with its comfortable and stylish pacific rooms combined with our excellent location on the island and excellent service really are a winning combination. We pride ourselves on running a “boutique” look, feel, and service property without the high-end expense. We are family owner operators. Our main focus is to ensure our guests have a great stay at The Cooks Oasis Holiday Villas and enjoy their time in Rarotonga. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Despegar.com so you can book your The Cooks Oasis Holiday Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cooks Oasis Hotel Avarua
The Cooks Oasis Holiday Villas Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cooks Oasis Holiday Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.