We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WHAT A FABULOUS HOLIDAY” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunhaven Beach Bungalows

Save Saved
You added Sunhaven Beach Bungalows to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sunhaven Beach Bungalows
Main Rd, Arorangi., Arorangi, Cook Islands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free scooter or car hire
New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“WHAT A FABULOUS HOLIDAY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2009

Thanks to Patti and Dennis for a wonderfully relaxed holiday. Our Bungalow was fantastic and the cleanest place I have ever stayed in. The daily cleaning and the little flowers left each day was a real treat. Dennis was fantastic in giving us advice on restaurants and activities to do. He did not hesitate to contact the tours and book us in. I came home so relaxed that we have decided that we will be returning again next year and have already told all our friends and family that Sun Haven is the place to stay.
I am looking forward to 2010 when we will be celebrating our 35th wedding anniversary and having a fantastic holiday at Sun Haven again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    107
    8
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
2
91
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2009

What a great find. Thanks to TripAdviser we found Sunhaven and booked in for 5 nights. We were not disappointed. The location is stunning, you could not get any closer to the beach unless you camped on it. The bungalows were immaculate and maintained that way each day. Fresh flowers were left after every clean, the place, including the grounds, is spotless. Staff and owners were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Appreciated the recommendations for dinner and the restaurants recommended were great. Used the kayaks as well as the snorkelling equipment, all this provided for free. The cafe that is attached to the property serves the best coffee on the island, the food was also excellent and so handy if you dont feel like making breakfast or lunch.

The bungalows are close to all main attractions on the island and being on the west side the sunsets are breath taking. We loved our time here and would certainly return again. Have experienced staying at a large resort on the island and after Sunhaven would not go anywhere else. The no children policy was a bonus for us. Thanks Dennis and Patti, we will return.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2009

Just spent days and Nights at SunHaven. Could not have asked for a nicer place.Our room (Beachfront) was great lots of room and very clean. The staff cleaned our room everyday to a very high standard with fresh flowers everyday.
It was great to wake up and sit on our deck and look at the beach wander down and paddle in the water. We will return

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaka
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2009

We stayed here for one week and I wish it had been longer. We didn't think that there was too many notices or rules at all. It was a real pleasure staying somewhere that was serviced every day and was spotlessly clean. Sunhaven Beach Bungalows are in a great location and have everything you could need. Fantastic if you are like us and want to stay somewhere quieter and not in a big flashy resort with lots of people around.
Would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baden, Switzerland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2008

Sunhaven is a small resort right on the beach. Everything is spotlessly clean and in good working order. Our room was very nice and well laid out with nice furniture, decor and plenty of space. Staff are friendly and helpful.

The problem of Sunhaven comes in the rules which are everywhere and we struggled to relax in case we were doing something wrong. For example: three different kinds of towels for certain applications only, constant threats of damage to canoes, waterbeds, fins etc being chargable to guests. We also had to leave the room for daily cleaning whether we wanted it or not.

Dont get me wrong the owners are nice, but they need to lighten up and let people enjoy their stay. Little signs with red writing all over the place really didnt help us enjoy our stay. If the owners allowed commonsense to prevail instead of stringent rules for everything then I would rate this hotel as Excellent

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Too many strict rules
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2008

We have just returned from a 3 week trip which included New Zealand, Australia and Raratonga in the Cook Islands
Our 4 day stay at the Sunhaven Beach Bungalows was glorious from start to finish. We were met at the airport with beautiful flower garlands and a smiling, very friendly Arvi. We arrived at Sunhaven around 11pm, Arvi settled us in and bid us good night.
We unpacked but were way to excited to sleep. We could hear the crashing of the waves out on the reef!!!
Eventually we slept and at 6am we were up and ready for an adventure. A few steps from our bungalow and we were on the most beautiful beach WOW this was paradise.

We had our breakfast on the beach every morning, we sat mesmerized while taking in everything around us 'food for the soul' Many hours walking along the quiet secluded beach no crowds just the occasional stroller, exactly what we had hoped for.
Our bungalow was spotless and cleaned daily we were very impressed, the daily flowers and the fruit basket were lovely touches that made everything very special. The staff were very courteous and friendly.

Patti and Dennis were very helpful, making bookings for us and making sure we were comfortable
Would we stay there again....most definitley, we spent many hours researching the perfect place and it was worth it

  • Liked — Cleanliness and location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2007

Stayed at the end of August 2007 and the weather was 24-26 which was very comfortable. The accom was more than we expected, the views from the units were absolutely fantastic and the sunsets were magnificent. The cleanliness was top class and the owners, Dennis and Patti were extremely pleasant. They also run a cafe at the roadside in front of the property and though we did not utilize it we heard from others that they were very impressed with the facility.
The rooms are all beachfront with the exception of the garden bungalow.
We did use the pool as did the other guests and with a small resort it was quiet, laidback and all one could ask for for a holiday in paradise.

  • Liked — the view from the units and the cleanliness
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sunhaven Beach Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunhaven Beach Bungalows

Address: Main Rd, Arorangi., Arorangi, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Arorangi
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty lodging in Arorangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Absolute beachfront. A private secluded boutique property hidden amongst mature tropical palms on a pure white sand beach on the west side of Rarotonga. Superbly equipped modern self contained bungalows, suites & studios. See breathtaking views from your verandah of the lagoon and the Pacific Ocean beyond with tropical sunset backdrops. Huge freshwater pool with BBQ area. Catering mostly for couples looking for total relaxation. Our NO CHILDREN policy ensures peace & quiet. Good old fashioned friendly personal service by owner hosts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Sunhaven Beach Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunhaven Beach Bungalows Hotel Arorangi
Sunhaven Beach Bungalows Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunhaven Beach Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.