We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“" The Sunhaven Family"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunhaven Beach Bungalows

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Sunhaven Beach Bungalows to your Saves list
Sunhaven Beach Bungalows
3.0 of 5 Villa   |   Main Rd, Arorangi., Arorangi, Cook Islands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free scooter or car hire
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“" The Sunhaven Family"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We have just returned from 12 days holiday at Sunhaven in Rarotonga. WOW!!!! What can we say!! We even saw whales going by!! We have had many island holidays but have never felt like one of the family like we did at Sunhaven. From Patti, Dennis ( The owners), Shari in the office to the cleaners you are all amazing!!
The cleanliness was second to none and nothing was too much trouble. The pool, gardens and beach were all beautifully maintained by the staff with a friendly hello and smile on their faces which was contagious!!
Talking to all the returning guests was awesome we learnt so much and soon all became friends and had lots of laughs, although we still had our privacy because of the layout of the resort.
Thank you Patti for the best ever banana cake and the hot scones were great too. All the extras like washing, fresh fruit and flowers were awesome!! Thank you also to Dennis for organising dinner for us on our arrival and taking us to Kikau Hut.
So Patti, Dennis, Shari, Ali, Sandra, Sheekal and Shynal many many thanks for making our stay so memorable. Hope to see you all again soon. Wouldn't stay anywhere else.
Lynn and Alyson

Room Tip: We stayed in Bungalow 2 but all rooms look great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uncledennis, Owner at Sunhaven Beach Bungalows, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Kia Orana Lynn and Alyson,

Well we ticked all your boxes didn't we? It's always nice to read reviews from our many happy guests who have thoroughly enjoyed their short time at Sunhaven. Thanks very much for doing that.

Twelve days gave you enough time to mix and mingle with our friendly return guests while still having your privacy and relaxation to enjoy our facilities when you wanted to.

Hey - don't go telling everyone about Patti's best ever banana cake and hot scones will you? Let's keep it our secret! Between you and me her chocolate cake is to die for.

Take care and see you again .... soon.

From all "The Sunhaven Family",
Kia manuia,

Dennis, Patti, Shari, Ali, Sandra, Sheekal and Shynal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    11
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
104
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Levin
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

A Perfect Holiday
We have travelled to Rarotonga 3 times for holidays, staying in large resorts. But this small Boutique resort has to be the best option for a great holiday. The units were a pleasure to stay in. Absolutely spotless and clean. The staff were wonderful to deal with and their work around the resort was meticulous and done with friendliness and a smile.

The facilities were marvellous (Pool, beach area and gardens). The owners were very obliging and were only too happy to help you in any way to make your stay more pleasurable and very memorable. Will definitely be back to stay on our next trip.

Rod (the rock man) & Judy

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uncledennis, Owner at Sunhaven Beach Bungalows, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Kia Orana Rod & Judy,

We're rapt to hear that you found our small Boutique resort more preferable to the large resorts you stayed in on earlier holidays in Rarotonga and that we will be seeing you again for your next great holiday. I have passed on your encouraging comments to the staff who, by the way, are looking forward to the "rock man" returning to give them a helping hand.

Thanks very much for your great review.

Until next time,

Kia manuia.
Dennis, Patti, Shari, Ali, Sandra, Sheekal and Shynal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed here about a year ago and although this is late thought I'd write a review. The bungalows are not 'flash' and are self catering units well placed next to a picturesque, reasonably private beach. We opted for Sunhaven because we thought the sunsets would be nice on the beach (they were) and it seemed like a small quiet private place (it was). There are only a handful of units spread out along the beach therefore you are away from the crowds. I was pretty terrified of Patti and her staff when we got there because they were so militant with their cleaning I was scared of messing my own room. You come to realise they are actually pretty nice though. The culmination of our holiday was me stacking a scooter into Patti's flower garden....needless to say given the spotless nature of the place I was more worried about the flowers than the gash on my leg. Patti looked after me though as if I was her own son, patched me up and even gave the scooter hire people grief when they tried to charge me for the scraped scooter. All of the other staff were also very good to me and occasionally gave us presents of fruit or flowers from the garden. Normally you have to pay a lot of money for treatment like that! I whole-heartedly recommend Sunhaven.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uncledennis, Owner at Sunhaven Beach Bungalows, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Kia Orana Butch1664,

Thanks for your belated but positive review and recommendation. As they say 'better late than never'.

You have pretty much summed up Sunhaven - small - picturesque - sunsets - private - quiet - spotless - which is why so many of our guests return year after year to enjoy their holidays in Rarotonga.

I hope by now your leg is well healed and you are over your brush with Patti's garden - both still showing some scars perhaps. You were not the first nor the last guest to have needed Patti's First Aid. She has patched up more than a few bodies who have had various mishaps, mostly guests not remained upright on their scooters.

Hope to see you again sometime.

Kia manuia,

Dennis, Patti, Shari, Ali, Sandra, Sheekal and Shynal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

My wife and I decided several years ago that we would celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary in one of the islands. After much researching, we decided on Rarotonga. With a short list of "must haves" we embarked on finding the right place for us to stay. We did not want a big, lively resort that caters for families with kids clubs etc., for obvious reasons - we had spent twenty years doing that with our kids.
We spotted The Sunhaven on Trip Advisor and the quality of the reviews, along with what it had to offer, made the decision easy.
During our week there we were blown away by the quality of the customer service and the room/grounds cleanliness. Nothing was ever too much for the owners, Patti and Dennis nor for Shari or Ali. The cleaners did a fantastic job every day and we loved the hibiscus flowers and leaves left in the room each day ...only a small thing, but it made a difference.
The position of our bungalow was fantastic (rm 9) - tucked back out of the way and a fantastic view through beautiful palm trees, out to the lagoon - great for watching the sun setting.
It was obvious that Patti and Dennis take their business seriously but keep things very informal and friendly. I wish them, and their wonderful staff, a fabulous future, and we hope to return there soon. Anybody looking for a well run, peaceful, spotlessly clean, romantic, child-free haven to spend a week or two, you should book The Sunhaven..no question about it.
Thank you to everyone at The Sunhaven for making our Silver Wedding Anniversary one to really remember!
Chris & Carol
Auckland, NZ

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uncledennis, Owner at Sunhaven Beach Bungalows, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Kia Orana Chris and Carol,

That's fantastic to hear. All of us are wrapped that we blew you away on your special Silver Wedding Anniversary. On every occasion from now on you'll remember this time at Sunhaven and hopefully return for another wonderful celebration.

Your room (Beachfront Standard Studio) is very popular and all who stay in it comment on how the set back position gives them extra privacy while still providing a fantastic vista of the lagoon and sunsets. And all for a very reasonable price.

Thank you for your fantastic review and for choosing Rarotonga as your destination and Sunhaven for your stay and anniversary celebrations.

Kia manuia and best wishes for another happy 25 years together,

Dennis, Patti, Ali, Shari, Sandra, Sheekal and Shynal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Loved our stay at Sunhaven! The location is faultless and so was the servicing of our bungalow. It was spotless after the staff had been in to clean with lovely touches of fresh flowers around the place. the staff were friendly, obliging and nothing to much for them to make our stay enjoyable. We were picked up in the early hours of the morning by Ali who was so cheerful and friendly even at that time of the day. Patti was so kind and went the extra mile for us.
It was the holiday of a life time!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uncledennis, Owner at Sunhaven Beach Bungalows, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Kia Orana Bree H,

Our happy to please staff do their very best to make all our guests as comfortable as possible during their stay. Ali gets all the good jobs like early hour transfers :-) I have passed on your positive comments to all of them.

We're pleased to hear that you had your "holiday of a lifetime" and hope to see you again in your next "lifetime".

Thank you for the encouraging review. It's very much appreciated.

Take care and kia manuia,

Dennis, Patti, Shari, Ali, Sandra, Shynal and Sheekal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Canterbury NZ
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We have recently enjoyed a wonderful holiday at the perfect location. Sunhaven was everything we hoped it would be with lots more thrown in! Not only was the view from our flower filled beach bungalows an island dream, we only had metres to walk from our decks across a pristine white beach to the lagoon. Being child free ensured peace and tranquility at all times and the beach, gorgeous pool, perfectly appointed sun loungers and hammocks and spotless BBQ were so perfect there was little desire to leave except to gather provisions. Patti, Dennis and their wonderful team ensured our bungalows were beautifully kept and nothing was ever too much trouble. The service was exemplary and not at all obtrusive. For the ideal, peaceful holiday where you can self cater and just relax and enjoy the best of Rarotonga - Sunhaven is the spot! We would love to come back again. Ros & String

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uncledennis, Owner at Sunhaven Beach Bungalows, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Kia Orana Ros & String,

So you've lived your "island dream"!! It is our goal to make as many guests as possible experience their very own "island dream" and it's made easier by our magic location. You've said it all........
We're happy that you fulfilled your dream and we hope you will return again for another island experience.

All the best.

Kia manuia,
Dennis, Patti, Shari, Ali, Sandra, Sheekal and Shynal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

It's a rare place in the world where you can find the most perfect paradise but if I had to nominate somewhere, these quite beautiful beach bungalows that graze the lagoon waters of Rarotonga, would come close to fitting the bill. My wife and I had a fabulous time here and loved the location. You never get tired of looking out to sea and we saw the odd whale during the week. Our hosts-Dennis and Patti-go the extra mile and fresh flowers are delivered to your room each day. A small touch but a nice one. The rooms are spotless and they are cleaned to a very high standard. Situated on the western side of the island, the location has a beautiful manicured beach and of course, enjoys some splendid evening sunsets. We had fun barbecuing fish and snorkeling off the nearby Shipwreck beach. After staying here, you'll never set foot in a hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uncledennis, Owner at Sunhaven Beach Bungalows, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Kia Orana Martin JB,

Thanks a bunch for this most eloquent review and your nomination for "the most perfect paradise". We're truly flattered. The whales are early this year with many sightings over recent days. I'd say you were one of the first to see them from here. They are surely magnificent creatures. It is a bonus to see them from the comfort of your bungalow verandah.

Take care and hope to see you again.

Kia manuia,
Dennis, Patti, Ali, Shari, Sandra, Sheekal and Shynal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunhaven Beach Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunhaven Beach Bungalows

Address: Main Rd, Arorangi., Arorangi, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Arorangi
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Arorangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunhaven Beach Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Absolute beachfront. A private secluded boutique property hidden amongst mature tropical palms on a pure white sand beach on the west side of Rarotonga. Superbly equipped modern self contained bungalows, suites & studios. See breathtaking views from your verandah of the lagoon and the Pacific Ocean beyond with tropical sunset backdrops. Huge freshwater pool with BBQ area. Catering mostly for couples looking for total relaxation. Our NO CHILDREN policy ensures peace & quiet. Good old fashioned friendly personal service by owner hosts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Sunhaven Beach Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunhaven Beach Bungalows Hotel Arorangi
Sunhaven Beach Bungalows Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunhaven Beach Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.