We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxing paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aro'a Beachside Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Aro'a Beachside Inn to your Saves list
Aro'a Beachside Inn
3.5 of 5 Villa   |   Bx 2160, Arorangi, Cook Islands   |  
Hotel amenities
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“relaxing paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I. Love. This. Place. It's the sort of place that makes you want to drop your bag, settle into the hammock with a Pimms, and never leave.

I've just returned from my fifth trip to Rarotonga. I have spent many (many) hours at the Shipwreck Hut, and this time we decided to save on petrol and stay on site at the Beachside Inn instead of driving there daily. Our package included breakfasts and use of the snorkeling and paddling gear.

The location perfectly takes in the best of the island's natural delights - exceptional sunsets and very good snorkeling. There are a choice of rooms depending on how far you would like to be from the beach - 5 yards or 50 yards.

We were fortunate to be there for the Saturday night seafood BBQ which was a fun and very reasonably priced affair complete with music provided by Jake Numanga on ukelele (you'll meet him when you fly in to Raro airport).

The rooms were well-appointed with kitchens all the amenities we could have needed, and the complimentary fruit bowls were appreciated. Despite the onsite beach bar (the Shipwreck Hut), there were certainly no noise issues when it was time to sleep.

The ingredient that really makes this place so wonderful though, is the staff and owners. Stephanie and her friendly chattiness, Jan's thoughtfulness, even Jim's gruff and quirky sense of humour, and the warmth and helpfulness of the rest of the girls. It's the sort of place where you grab a cocktail, pull up a bench and end up chatting the hours away with the other guests and staff.

We will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    20
    8
    0
    3
See reviews for
19
102
24
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2014

We had a great time staying at Aro'a. The staff are so friendly - We especially loved Stephanie at the office. The place is really laid back, and the people that stay there are super friendly as well. I was worried at first about the noise from the bar but had no problem what so ever. The bar is right on the beach, and the views are amazing even from the room (the sunsets in particular). The snorkeling right off the beach was the best I saw in Rarotonga and you have free use of the snorkeling gear which was so good. The food both at the breakfasts and the bbq nights are well worth (so glad I got introduced to pawpaw salad).

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

My partner and I stayed here for 11 days.
The beach was stunning and by far the best beach on the island with amazing snorkeling and kayaking views. The girls In the bar and kitchen were amazing and friendly they could not do enough for you. They would always have a good chat with you at the bar. The bbq nights were tasty with brilliant entertainment even Jim one of the owners would get up and sing. The girls sang and danced also. Jan the other owner can only be described as the mother hen of this resort. She is also so lovely and extremely helpful. They have two friendly dogs who loved attention from the guests and even go swimming with you and walking along the beach. I couldn't ask for better service. We will definitely be staying there again when we come back. Thank you for the amazing time spent at your property.
Renata and Mitch.

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

This was our second time to Aro'a Beachside Inn and it was even better than the first. Amazing location, staff and atmosphere. So laid back and quiet and everyone (even people staying there) were lovely and friendly. Best snorkeling right off the doorstep and no bright city lights meant we were getting 10-12 hour sleeps easy! Each night it wasn't hard to find a good chat while drinking a cocktail, watching the sunset! We will be back again next year and already are counting down the days. Thanks Jim, Jan and staff! Can't wait to see you all again, Nico and Jason. xx

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles, ca
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

We only stayed at the Aro'a for one night, arriving from Los Angeles early in the morning. We paid a bit extra for early check-in, and it was more than worth it! We arrived and were shown right to our room, which was perfect. Comfy bed, clean bathroom, a kitchen, fridge that was stocked with water and milk, and even a welcome basket of fruit.

After a walk along the gorgeous beach, we had a lovely breakfast. The staff was super friendly and helpful, and we had a great stay. The sunrises and sunsets were stunning from the property.

The only drawback was that at low tide it gets too shallow to make use of the kayaks or paddle boards - it was a bummer for us since we were only there a short time! On our next trip we'll stay longer so we can make use of everything.

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms are absolutely worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We had a wonderful time at the Aro'a beachside inn - which has a perfect location for swimming and snorkeling in safe water. The villas are great for cooking your own meals or enjoying the beachside bar. The staff are fantastic and the BBQ nights are not to be missed! Good food and fun times!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

The best thing about Aro'a is its location for swimming and snorkelling. You can swim at any tide and the snorkelling straight out from the resort is as good as it gets in Raro. It is also on the sheltered side of the island so gets less of the prevailing wind. The rooms are nice and spacious, quite dated but with everything you need. There are about 16 rooms with two sizes (Oceanview v Beachside) all well equipped for self-catering. Breakfasts include fresh fruit, juice, toast and a freshly baked cake. On Sundays they do omelettes. We didn't eat there (except breakfast) but had cocktails which were fantastic - not that keen on drinking out of jars though but I suppose it's different! It's a good location for sunsets and about half-way between Muri and town. We recommend getting a car for your visit or scooters as it's good to go exploring and there are so many good places to go for dinner. Book your car through the resort as they get a good rate - $40 per day v $59 advertised rate. If you go out for dinner, you should book as early as possible as some places get full. We also enjoyed a ride on the four bikes the resort has although the bikes were not in very good condition. The snorkelling gear was fine and there are even two paddle boards and kayaks although we didn't use these. The rooms are cleaned everyday with fresh sheets and towels. A tip for wifi is go onto wifi and select the Telecom hotspot which is $10 for 150Mg - can pay online with a credit card. We had a fantastic relaxing holiday and couldn't have wanted for more from a place to stay - leaves 4/5 star resorts for dead!

Room Tip: The best rooms are 207 and 208 which are upstairs on the beach - or 107 and 108 downstairs on the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Aro'a Beachside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aro'a Beachside Inn

Address: Bx 2160, Arorangi, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Arorangi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Arorangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aro'a Beachside Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on western sunset side of Rarotonga, on a lovely white sandy beach with all tide swimming and snorkeling. Casual beach bar on property. Serves small meals. Popular BBQ evenings with local entertainers twice weekly. 11 fully self-contained units, tastefully decorated island style. Breakfast complimentary. Free use of equipment - kayaks, paddle boards, snorkeling gear, and bicycles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Aro'a Beachside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aro`a Beachside Hotel Arorangi
Aro'a Beachside Inn Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aro'a Beachside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.