We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aro'a Beachside Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Aro'a Beachside Inn to your Saves list
Aro'a Beachside Inn
3.5 of 5 Villa   |   Bx 2160, Arorangi, Cook Islands   |  
Hotel amenities
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We had a wonderful time at the Aro'a beachside inn - which has a perfect location for swimming and snorkeling in safe water. The villas are great for cooking your own meals or enjoying the beachside bar. The staff are fantastic and the BBQ nights are not to be missed! Good food and fun times!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    20
    8
    0
    3
See reviews for
19
102
24
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

The best thing about Aro'a is its location for swimming and snorkelling. You can swim at any tide and the snorkelling straight out from the resort is as good as it gets in Raro. It is also on the sheltered side of the island so gets less of the prevailing wind. The rooms are nice and spacious, quite dated but with everything you need. There are about 16 rooms with two sizes (Oceanview v Beachside) all well equipped for self-catering. Breakfasts include fresh fruit, juice, toast and a freshly baked cake. On Sundays they do omelettes. We didn't eat there (except breakfast) but had cocktails which were fantastic - not that keen on drinking out of jars though but I suppose it's different! It's a good location for sunsets and about half-way between Muri and town. We recommend getting a car for your visit or scooters as it's good to go exploring and there are so many good places to go for dinner. Book your car through the resort as they get a good rate - $40 per day v $59 advertised rate. If you go out for dinner, you should book as early as possible as some places get full. We also enjoyed a ride on the four bikes the resort has although the bikes were not in very good condition. The snorkelling gear was fine and there are even two paddle boards and kayaks although we didn't use these. The rooms are cleaned everyday with fresh sheets and towels. A tip for wifi is go onto wifi and select the Telecom hotspot which is $10 for 150Mg - can pay online with a credit card. We had a fantastic relaxing holiday and couldn't have wanted for more from a place to stay - leaves 4/5 star resorts for dead!

Room Tip: The best rooms are 207 and 208 which are upstairs on the beach - or 107 and 108 downstairs on the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

This is a simple package of down to earth accommodation, meals, bar and lagoon. On the surface it looks a bit out of date, but it has Something no resort accommodation can give, which is CHARACTER.
It is easy to imagine you have washed up on Gillian's island here..perfect for snorkelling (better than the snorkelling trip I did). The bar is to be seen to believe. But best of all were the staff. Jim, Jan and the girls (and Kaz) are there for you..they quickly learn your name and work hard to make your stay as good as possible.

Cheers

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

This is my first trip to Rarotonga. I wanted somewhere quiet where I could eat, sleep, swim, drink cocktails and after 9 days, numerous cocktails and 13 books I have to say "Mission accomplished" I was fortunate (and most grateful) to have been upgraded to a Beachside Deluxe. That seems to be something that happens to other people so I felt special right away. I was warned of a mid-stay move but hey - I got to check out more of this fabulous place so it was all good. The first 4 nights were on the ground floor unit then I got moved to the top floor. On the bottom...20 steps to the beach or bar. On the top, 30 steps to the beach or bar and wonderful views. The style and decor is in keeping with 'on the beach' to my mind. Hardwood floors (essential) and simple decor but with everything you need for a great stay.
The beach is beautiful, sheltered, uncrowded. I think one of the best locations on the island. And you can watch the sun go down. The staff will help you or advise about car / scooter hire, booking activities - anything you need you just need to ask someone.
The rooms are well set out with everything you need. I was able to put together some meals of my own or eat at the bar (prices were great and the food was divine - the chefs there make great food) I also went to 3 BBQ nights and all I can say is WOW - worth every penny.
The bar - love it and love those cocktails. I really like the fact that I could go over order my food and or drink and it gets written up and I settled the bill at the end of my stay. That takes away so much stress - it is like being on a cruise ship but even easier! It also means I did not have to drag a bag or purse with me all the time. Kudos to the way Jim, Jan, Stephanie and the rest of the gorgeous and welcoming staff there run this place. They make me want to come back. I felt so relaxed and at home - they made it so easy to be there.
This place was a recommendation by a travel agent and it was the perfect choice for me. All I wanted to do was hang around and enjoy every moment.
The rooms were to my liking and I am grateful to the ladies who dealt with the sand I dragged in every day on my clothing or feet. I did have a running battle with the teeny weeny ants that you can't avoid in locations like this and gratefully insect spray was provided - also it was only a problem in the kitchen area.
Loved the fruit basket and flowers in the room on arrival. The complimentary Opu Ra Magic cocktail on night 1 became my staple! Breakfast was fruit, a muffin or donut and toast, tea coffee or a cocktail if you really wanted one! All served at the Shipwreck Hut. Sunday is omelette breakfast - that was fun...want to know more? Then go stay there because I learned a new trick that morning! And you must try the BBQ night food.
There are two dogs in residence (Sammy and Kuri) and a lovely cat (Neow) - nice to hang out with them from time to time and sit on the beach and talk to the dogs. Beautifully laid out gardens in a great location. Friendly atmosphere
Reef shoes, snorkels, fins, kayaks all there to use if you are in residence or to hire if not.
Great shower with good water pressure but you do need to use the booster for hot water as it is solar so if cloudy and dull you need to boost.
I can only make one suggestion that would have improved things for me - and that is to up the menu to include a selection of fresh or toasted sandwiches and maybe one or two salad choices - at least one salad! And FYI - the smoked marlin on BBQ night - to die for!
I hope it is not too long before I visit again.

Room Tip: You have to be comfortable with constant ocean noise if you stay here as you are so close. The room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, N.Z.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Returned a couple of weeks back well rested after our stay at Aro'a. A fabulous resort on one of the best bits of beach on the island. We loved the swimming here and great snorkeling right off the beach. Jim and Jan and all the staff are welcoming, helpful and always have a smile. Nothing beats eating breakfast by the beach in the morning. Lovely tropical fruit, toast and baking - a great way to start the day. The bbq nights were also good value and the food delicious. We stayed in an Ocean View room which had everything we needed and a comfortable bed - always a bonus! Rooms were cleaned daily to a high standard. We found it to be a very relaxing, laid back place to stay. The cat and two dogs were well behaved and friendly adding to the relaxing feel of the place. We hope to be back some day.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

set with hibiscus flowers frangipanis and green lawns on a fantastic all tide beach fantastic because I live for and love snorkeling the white sand coconut and tree framed beach assorted fantastic range of fish I come with my own gear there is what you need there especially reef shoes no fish without coral. I travel by myself and will never get bored of staying there 4 years in a row. Warm friendly live entertainment 3 times a week barbecue twice a week in an iconic style small pub overlooking the lagoon love the way I am treated find my bedsit style room with a good shower hot water if you are like me and swim all the time available about 15min after pushing the button if I run out comfortable bed cooking facilities all I need Mary Daynes aged 63 2 times cancer survivor money coincided with the need to get out and live the dream grew up on stories of beautiful tropical fish.

Room Tip: If you have the cash right on the beach if you want economy my choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

From the time we walked into our unit we felt relaxed and as it was at night awakening in the morning was with happiness and amazement to see how close we were to the beach surrounded by beautiful gardens and trees. We went to have breakfast at the Shipwreck Bar and were greeted by Jim who made us welcome and at ease. Wow that breakfast was great and we met and talked to all there. Jim and jan took such care to make sure we all felt easy and relaxed. The meals and entertainment in the evenings were just what we needed after a day of exploring. We made such special friends over a cocktail or two. The staff are amazing too. Such warmth and care anywhere else is hard to find. I mentioned how lovely I found the flowers and foliage and was instantly was encouraged to create an arrangement for the bar. Thank you Jim Jan Stephanie and your fantastic staff. If all we have told about your Aro'a Beachside Inn comes to you you will be full to overflowing.. Xxxxx Robbie and Brian

Room Tip: All rooms have a lovely view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Aro'a Beachside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aro'a Beachside Inn

Address: Bx 2160, Arorangi, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Arorangi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Arorangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aro'a Beachside Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on western sunset side of Rarotonga, on a lovely white sandy beach with all tide swimming and snorkeling. Casual beach bar on property. Serves small meals. Popular BBQ evenings with local entertainers twice weekly. 11 fully self-contained units, tastefully decorated island style. Breakfast complimentary. Free use of equipment - kayaks, paddle boards, snorkeling gear, and bicycles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Aro'a Beachside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aro`a Beachside Hotel Arorangi
Aro'a Beachside Inn Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aro'a Beachside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.