We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beaches Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beaches Restaurant & Bar

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Beaches Restaurant & Bar
PO Box 700 | Manuia Beach Resort, Arorangi 397, Cook Islands (Formerly Beaches Restaurant and Bar)
682 22461
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 15 restaurants in Arorangi
Restaurant details
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beaches Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Stumbled on to this restaurant. Right on the beach and not o far from our accommodation. Lovely setting adjacent to a beauty pool and with clear view of the sea. Tables set on sand which adds to the feel of a beach holiday. Great food and great staff

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    4
    3
    0
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Food was amazing!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We had a nice dinner in this restaurant. The bar doesn't quite look like a bar and the service can lack at times although the staff do mean well and food defiantly made up for any doubts we did have throughout the night. We would go back again =)

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“poor service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

This resorts has a nice location and does look good. We did not stay here but used the restaurant while staying on the island. The staff were very unfriendly and not attentive at all even though it was just the 2 of us in the restaurant for lunch. Food was basic small servings and just generally not to an acceptable standard.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Not sure if the staff have changed since the earlier review , but we had one of our best dinners in Rarotonga here. We didn't have a drink at the bar before dinner, but our waitress for the evening was very friendly and efficient. After having a couple of very average meals elsewhere, the food was excellent and well presented.
The setting was beautiful, right on the beach and in fact, the restaurant had a sand floor so it did feel like you were eating on the beach.
The only hickup would be the rather long wait for our bill and payment.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Shocking and unprofessional bar staff”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Beautiful property and would otherwise rate this property highly,as has a magnificent view etc...but on our visit to manuia beach resort bar and restaurant,bar staff muttered jokes about us under her breath(we could hear what one staff member was saying& we could understand what the staff member was saying,even in rarotongan!!).the staff member was rude and unwelcoming and also served us two orange juices instead of the two " Mickey Mouse" kids drinks we'd ordered!my husband heard this staff member say to her collegue(under her breath),as she was serving the drinks to us that"we wouldn't know any better...." & laughed in front of us to her collegue which was apalling service.Unfortunately our kids had taken a sip from the drinks when I was first advised by my hubby what the bar lady had said,otherwise I would've just walked out....
We were hoping to dine there for dinner,but quickly drank our cocktails& our kids drank their " Mickey Mouse" orange juices....and got out of there!!because of the bar lady's awful customer service we left& had dinner elsewhere,which was a real shame as I'm sure the actual beach resort is a fabulous place to stay&looks amazing:)just the bar staff that let a beautiful resort down.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beaches Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Arorangi, Rarotonga
 

Been to Beaches Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beaches Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.